We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The price may be right (for Nairobi), but lacking in all other ways” 2 of 5 stars
Review of PrideInn Hotel Lantana Suites

Save Saved
You added PrideInn Hotel Lantana Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
PrideInn Hotel Lantana Suites
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   East Church Road, Westland's, Nairobi 00200, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #30 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Arusha, Tanzania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The price may be right (for Nairobi), but lacking in all other ways”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I was booked by organizers of a workshop I was to attend to stay at Prideinn Lantana...and if I'd known what I would get, I would have begged to stay elsewhere. NO hot water (and at the height of winter in Nairobi...), freezing cold room, set up like a flat but no cooking facilities or fridge. Food at the restaurant was terrible, and the taxi drivers called to take me places over-charged (I have spent a lot of time visiting Nairobi over the past 12 years). Day time staff had a "laissez faire" attitude, though some of the night staff were super, going out of their way to help with internet access, trying to solve the (non-functioning) hot water heater. Oh, and zero in the way of exercise facilities. If you can stay elsewhere...do!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRIDEINN_12, Manager at PrideInn Hotel Lantana Suites, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
We fully understand your experience and Management do apologize for the inconvenience that might have been caused. All the water heating system has been improved and fresh intallations fitted including solar power.

As you mentioned, most of our staff are super and we are stopping at nothing to ensure all the staff match our expectations as per the set standards. A new chef has now taken over the kitchen and currently doing wonders.

Am sure you would like to give us another chance. Lawrence Kinyua, Group Training & Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    6
    2
    1
    5
See reviews for
5
1
Solo
0
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This list itself as a 3 star hotel. I stayed at Lantana Location--was not close to 3 star. Room was small and very average. Bed very hard--though big. Water bottles were smalllest I have ever seen. Did have cable and flat screen TV--probably only thing close to 3 star.
Bfast was okay--but other meals tried there was below par. More like Motel 6 in USA. Third location (Raptha Rd) my friend stayed out was much worst. His TV was old box type and whole room needed updating.
I think main hotel on Westlands Rd may have been better. Price was high for value. Charging 9K ksh per night for this. Did move me to like suite after I complained, but first 4 nights was this tiny room. Will not stay there again for that price or anything close to that. Worth 3K.

Room Tip: Make sure if you go here that you get suite--but try to avoid. Much better hotels for that price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRIDEINN_12, Manager at PrideInn Hotel Lantana Suites, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Simba22, Management appreciate your time and review. We regret to learn that you were unhappy with a few amenities especially the size of the room and 3 star requirement as you found them. You will be glad to note that we have carried out major engineering in the rooms and currently, we are about to complete a heated swimming pool, conference facilities among other amenities.

Kindly note that we do have a number of room types and they all vary in sizes as well. A superior room that you were booked in, could be smaller than the one and two bedrooms of which they are more. Lantana basically is a suites hotel and therefore, the size of the rooms was highly considered.

We promise to upgrade your reservation next time you stay with us. Lawrence Kinyua, Group Training & Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

First off, you must know that there are THREE hotels in Westlands alone by the name of PrideInn - I can only speak for one of them 'Pride Inn Lantana Suites'. The Suites are actually full apartments, you get a kitchen, a full bedroom a bathroom and a lounge. However, the kitchen is not equipped and does not even have a kettle therefore negating the value of the facilities. (sad - but the addition of a kettle would have been sensible, bed and breakfasts can manage a kettle - am sure an apartment should be fitted with one). The Suite is very pleasant, and relativly clean - there is some additional work that needs to happen on the cleaning front - as ones feet are left very very dirty if you walk around your apartment without shoes. Also - there was pubic hair around the bath when I arrived, in addition to this NONE of the drains drained, which meant showering in ankle deep dirty water. Although the infrastructure is good, and these have the possibility of being actually very nice - more needs to be done on the service side. This is worth a stay - and it was comfortable - but some things to be aware of. The restaurant is VERY slow - order ahead.

Room Tip: Try to get one on the top floor - if you are below any one - it is very noisy - as you can hear the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugen T, Manager at PrideInn Hotel Lantana Suites, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Prideinn Hotel Lantana would like to take a chance to invite guests who were particularly unhappy with our services during their first time to revisit our hotel. We assure our guest that Prideinn Management was particularly concerned about the complaints and we have taken a string of new measures to ensure improved quality of service. Our staff have been trained on better customer handling techniques, we now have a fully functioning 24 hours front office desk to handle all guest queries within the shortest time possible, we also have a young, intelligent and enthusiastic hotel manager whom will not go to sleep until all the guests in the hotel are fully settled.
We would also like to ensure our guest that in case of any complaints and investigations confirm the complaints then the guests would be refunded 50% of the amount paid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Raphta Road Location: I booked a group of visiting colleagues here since it is close to our offices. The customer service was terrible and the rooms were very dilapidated (water leaking all over floor), especially considering the cost. They underbooked rooms for the group, and put four women into one room even though we had booked two per room.
When they sent the invoice to our office, it was a mess of paper and full of mistakes.
Additionally, my colleagues and I had lunch here one day. When they brought us the bill, they had added on several additional things that we did not order. The food isn't terrible, but I am fairly certain as it contains MSG.
The second time I ate here, both my friend and I were sick the next day.
I would not recommend staying here or eating here to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugen T, Manager at PrideInn Hotel Lantana Suites, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
We do appreciate your comments and we sincerely apologize for the unacceptable encounter you had close to a year ago.

However, Your remarks met our plans to improve the standards of some of the rooms that had leakages as you mentioned.

Since then, we have not only improved the room status, but also added more rooms. We now have new menus in place and qualified
Chef and policy to guide the kitchen on organic products consciousness.

Mostly, MSG is used in Chinese cooking and I Am sure the meal you had, was from Chinese cuisine. Today this has been substituted with
normal salt, Not unless the guest specify MSG, we do not encourage the use though it is key in Chinese cuisine recipe.

The restaurant management has so far been reviewed and heavy investment in staff training. The Hotel was initially registered under a different
company and today it runs under the brand of PRIDEINN HOTELS & CONFERENCING. We believe in 5 star service though we are 3 star establishment.

With consideration to your views, I would like to encourage you to pay us a visit and find out how useful your review has been to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to PrideInn Hotel Lantana Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PrideInn Hotel Lantana Suites

Address: East Church Road, Westland's, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — PrideInn Hotel Lantana Suites 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Prideinn Hotels & Conferencing Lantana is an all suite Hotel which includes a separate living room, dining room, Kitchen and bedroom, and are equipped with wireless high speed internet and Direct Dial Telephone Line. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jovago.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, T4B, Tingo, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your PrideInn Hotel Lantana Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PrideInn Hotel Lantana Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.