We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good infrastructure but needs some attention” 3 of 5 stars
Review of PrideInn Hotel Lantana Suites

Save Saved
You added PrideInn Hotel Lantana Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
PrideInn Hotel Lantana Suites
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   East Church Road, Westland's, Nairobi 00200, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Best Rate Availabe
Ranked #30 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good infrastructure but needs some attention”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

First off, you must know that there are THREE hotels in Westlands alone by the name of PrideInn - I can only speak for one of them 'Pride Inn Lantana Suites'. The Suites are actually full apartments, you get a kitchen, a full bedroom a bathroom and a lounge. However, the kitchen is not equipped and does not even have a kettle therefore negating the value of the facilities. (sad - but the addition of a kettle would have been sensible, bed and breakfasts can manage a kettle - am sure an apartment should be fitted with one). The Suite is very pleasant, and relativly clean - there is some additional work that needs to happen on the cleaning front - as ones feet are left very very dirty if you walk around your apartment without shoes. Also - there was pubic hair around the bath when I arrived, in addition to this NONE of the drains drained, which meant showering in ankle deep dirty water. Although the infrastructure is good, and these have the possibility of being actually very nice - more needs to be done on the service side. This is worth a stay - and it was comfortable - but some things to be aware of. The restaurant is VERY slow - order ahead.

Room Tip: Try to get one on the top floor - if you are below any one - it is very noisy - as you can hear the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugen T, Manager at PrideInn Hotel Lantana Suites, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Prideinn Hotel Lantana would like to take a chance to invite guests who were particularly unhappy with our services during their first time to revisit our hotel. We assure our guest that Prideinn Management was particularly concerned about the complaints and we have taken a string of new measures to ensure improved quality of service. Our staff have been trained on better customer handling techniques, we now have a fully functioning 24 hours front office desk to handle all guest queries within the shortest time possible, we also have a young, intelligent and enthusiastic hotel manager whom will not go to sleep until all the guests in the hotel are fully settled.
We would also like to ensure our guest that in case of any complaints and investigations confirm the complaints then the guests would be refunded 50% of the amount paid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    6
    2
    1
    5
See reviews for
5
1
Solo
0
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Raphta Road Location: I booked a group of visiting colleagues here since it is close to our offices. The customer service was terrible and the rooms were very dilapidated (water leaking all over floor), especially considering the cost. They underbooked rooms for the group, and put four women into one room even though we had booked two per room.
When they sent the invoice to our office, it was a mess of paper and full of mistakes.
Additionally, my colleagues and I had lunch here one day. When they brought us the bill, they had added on several additional things that we did not order. The food isn't terrible, but I am fairly certain as it contains MSG.
The second time I ate here, both my friend and I were sick the next day.
I would not recommend staying here or eating here to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugen T, Manager at PrideInn Hotel Lantana Suites, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
We do appreciate your comments and we sincerely apologize for the unacceptable encounter you had close to a year ago.

However, Your remarks met our plans to improve the standards of some of the rooms that had leakages as you mentioned.

Since then, we have not only improved the room status, but also added more rooms. We now have new menus in place and qualified
Chef and policy to guide the kitchen on organic products consciousness.

Mostly, MSG is used in Chinese cooking and I Am sure the meal you had, was from Chinese cuisine. Today this has been substituted with
normal salt, Not unless the guest specify MSG, we do not encourage the use though it is key in Chinese cuisine recipe.

The restaurant management has so far been reviewed and heavy investment in staff training. The Hotel was initially registered under a different
company and today it runs under the brand of PRIDEINN HOTELS & CONFERENCING. We believe in 5 star service though we are 3 star establishment.

With consideration to your views, I would like to encourage you to pay us a visit and find out how useful your review has been to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to PrideInn Hotel Lantana Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PrideInn Hotel Lantana Suites

Address: East Church Road, Westland's, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — PrideInn Hotel Lantana Suites 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Prideinn Hotels & Conferencing Lantana is an all suite Hotel which includes a separate living room, dining room, Kitchen and bedroom, and are equipped with wireless high speed internet and Direct Dial Telephone Line. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Jovago.com, Travelocity, T4B, Tingo, HotelsClick and Agoda so you can book your PrideInn Hotel Lantana Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PrideInn Hotel Lantana Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.