We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terrible internet” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Eka Hotel Nairobi

Save Saved
You added Eka Hotel Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Eka Hotel Nairobi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mombasa Road, Nairobi 27695 - 00506, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 103 Hotels in Nairobi
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“terrible internet”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

i found the hotel staff pretty helpful and nice. However it s quite weird for a hotel to force the guest to log on into internet every 10 min. If you are on a business trip like me, just avoid that hotel. One of my colleague who spent few nights a month ago in that hotel did mentioned this issue but it seems that the hotel management is not reactive or doesn t care.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Doudoubisous,

Thank you for your outline of Eka Hotel. We have noted your comment about the internet. There was a technical issue and is being resolved by our IT team to ensure a great ad memorable stay in your next business trip.

Thank you and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    101
    33
    11
    6
See reviews for
27
46
20
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harare, Mashonaland East, Zimbabwe
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is well situated near the airport which is very convenient to travelers . situated at quiet place with the state of the art facilities to meet international standards making it outstanding in terms of quality and is good .services are so efficient and staff are so friendly and have good public relations. Its nearness to the International airport makes it very accessable to the whole world since Jomo kenyatha Airport connects Africa and the whole world.Beside being closer to the international airport it EKA is close to Nairobi national park

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Tryphine,

We are delighted you have posted online your review about your excellent experience at Eka Hotel.

You are more than welcome to stay with us again.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hotel Staff are excellent but that is all, beds in the rooms you might as well sleep on the floor, it will be just as comfortable, internet slow and you have to keep logging in ever 5 minutes, Food very very overprice in the Hotel not value at all. A very big splash pool at the hotel. Not a very good hotel

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Andrew,

Thank you for taking time to give feedback about your recent stay at Eka Hotel. We appreciate the feedback as it helps us improve service offering to all our guests.

We have noted and your comments about the internet and food. Our team is looking into the issues with the aim of addressing them so as to ensure your next stay is memorable.

Thank you and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundaberg, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A lovely new hotel, excellent and I don't say things lightly. Service from our arrival, the security was thorough, the front desk reception check-in was smooth and painless, having arrived in after 18hours of flying! Lovely rooms well decorated. Pillow menus. Power points were well appointed, with free WIFI! Very organised. Gorgeous Overhead shower which took out all the kinks from travelling! Polite and friendly staff. Sumptuous Kenyan Breakfasts. Well done EKA hotel. I look forward to returning again with my groups.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Bhavs62,

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

We appreciate the compliments to the Eka Hotel team. We shall pass this on to them to confirm that their tireless efforts are not in vain.

Please stay again with us when you return to Nairobi.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our stay was courtesy of British Airways, whose outward flight from Nairobi had been delayed, so I cannot comment on the costs. We were, however, impressed with how well the staff responded to the sudden influx of tired travellers from the airport some 15-20 minutes away. They were efficient and very pleasant. The hotel is fairly new and situated on the main road to the airport, though sound screening is pretty good. Rooms are small, but well equipped with a notably good shower (though, curiously, no conditioner) and air conditioning. The whole hotel is very clean, There is complimentary wifi throughout the hotel. The central reception/lounge/dining/bar area is compact, but attractively furnished. There is also a very nice swimming pool and terrace/garden area at the back of the hotel, just the place to relax. The breakfast buffet was good. For dinner, we chose the Spur outlet on site rather than the main dining area. Spur serves good fast food (steaks, burgers, fish and chips etc), again with excellent staff.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Jasperco,

We want to thank you for your nice and positive review.

Thank you for your feedback as it keeps us more focused to consistently improve our services.

We appreciate taking your time and look forward to welcome you soon.

Very best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Chose this hotel on a business trip to Nairobi. A very nice and quite hotel.Its pretty new. The staff are very helpful .
its about 10-15 minutes from the airport ..well situated ...its just outside the city and close to business district
its also very close to the Nairobi National Park , which can be reached in about 30 minutes from he hotel
another good deal with the hotel is The Spur Restaurant at EKA Hotel. This is a very good restaurant for meat lovers with a good mix of stakes and burgers . All enjoyed with a good bottle of Tusker
Breakfast buffet is a decent spread ...nothing to rave about ...but you can always survive on good toast and made to order omlett

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Amit S,

We are delighted you have posted online your review about your great experience at our property.

You are more than welcome to stay with us again in your next business or leisure trip. We assure you of the same quality service at all times.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

In June 2014 I travelled for the first time to Nairobi and stayed at the Ole Sereni. On my 2nd trip to Nairobi in August 2014 I opted to stay at the EKA Hotel in Nairobi. The EKA Hotel and the Ole Sereni are situated close to one another. The hotel is situated halfway between the airport and Nairobi City Centre. Traffic is crazy in Nairobi so the EKA Hotel is well located. There is a spur restaurant on site at the hotel. The EKA Hotel is a fairly new hotel so the furnishing and rooms are modern which I like. Had a good shower and toilet and shower are separate from each other. The staff in general are very friendly. There is complimentary wifi throughout the hotel which is a great plus. When I checked I got a small room that window faced the conference room so absolutely no privacy. I complained was told that there were no other rooms but after about an hour the Manager assisted me and I got a lovely spacious pool facing room. The negatives are: no conditioner on offer, only shampoo and body wash. No disposable razors. My last night at the hotel I had no sleep due to mosquitoes even though I had mosquito spray on and throughout my duration of my stay never opened my bedroom window. I think when they clean your room they leave door open and mosquitoes entered. The EKA Hotel is more pricey than the Ole Sereni. The EKA Hotel's breakfast was basic and not worth the price I paid as my room rate did not include breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Fuzlin,

Thank you for taking time to give feedback about your recent stay at Eka Hotel. We appreciate the feedback as it helps us improve service offering to all our guests.

We have noted and your comments and shared with our Executive Housekeeper for action to ensure your next stay, and that of all other guests is memorable.

Thank you and we hope to see you soon.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eka Hotel Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eka Hotel Nairobi

Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 27695 - 00506, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 103 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eka Hotel Nairobi 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eka Hotel a Nairobi hotel is ideally located along Mombasa Road in Nairobi the capital city of Kenya. It is situated minutes away from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, 5km from Wilson Airport and 5km from the bustling central business district. If you are looking for safari hotels, Eka Hotel is within easy access to the city’s many attractions and entertainment venues which make Eka Hotel an ideal safari accommodation hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Eka Hotel Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eka Hotel Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.