We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel with cosmopolitan sensibilities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eka Hotel Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Eka Hotel Nairobi to your Saves list
Eka Hotel Nairobi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mombasa Road, Nairobi 27695 - 00506, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 129 Hotels in Nairobi
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good hotel with cosmopolitan sensibilities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Stayed at the hotel thanks to.missing our connecting flight. Excellant service wherein the staff whipped us a hot indian meal at 1am in the morning. Great breakfast spread with many options. Large spacious rooms with all modern amenities. An excellent option if wanting to live near the airport.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Nupur,

Thank you for choosing Eka Hotel and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your outline of Eka and look forward to hosting you next time you are in Nairobi.

With warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    170
    44
    17
    9
See reviews for
42
70
26
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
180 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 382 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We stayed June 28 on a "day rate" prior to a late night departure from JKIA. Staff and service are excellent. The housekeeper couldn't do enough to make the room perfect, even though we were there for only 6 hours. This level of attentiveness is particularly commendable, considering the nature of Eka Hotel as, for many guests, a convenient stop near the airport, either the night of arrival, or the day before leaving Nairobi.

This is also what gives this hotel an energetic and fun atmosphere. There are many tourists, heading off for Kenya trips, or having just arrived from "safari" providing a sort of happy conversational buzz in the lobby, with good natured staff adding to this atmosphere.
The Golden Spur is a good place to get food like burgers, fries, cappuccino. The gift shop is beautifully laid out, and well priced. i recommend either saving your shopping for there, just prior to departing Nairobi, or at least, if it is your first stop, checking out the prices and goods so you'll have an idea of what is reasonable as you travel 'round.

The room was clean and modern, with the "luxury" of well-working wifi after days without it in tented camps. There is in-room tea and coffee, and bottled water. Beds are comfortable. My only recommendation would be to place a curtain in front of the glass wall between the bathroom and bedroom for more privacy.

Note: there is quite a bit of road construction near the hotel, so in daytime, you might arrive after encountering lots of traffic and construction dust and debris.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Calinurse,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and your outline of Eka Hotel as it helps us to improve our services.

We are happy that your stay was very comfortable as we met your expectations.

We look forward to being of service to you and your family again in the near future.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I booked the hotel to surprise my husband on his birthday and I wasn't disappointed at all and was worth every coin! The lunch was awesome. The Chef gave is a star and very passionate about his work. He gave us personalized services and the food was fantastic!!!! Waiters were hand-on and actually sung when bringing the bday cake!! The room was spotlessly clean and very neat....Kudos to the Housekeeping team!

I did not know what to expect but I can say I was blown away being their hospitality and passion for their work! Well done Eka!!

Room Tip: Suites are very spacious and cosy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Shiro M,

We appreciate your feedback as it helps us monitor and improve our services. It is nice to know that you had a great time and we appreciate your outline of Eka Hotel.

We look forward to being of service to you in your next visit.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Paula, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

This is a very modern hotel with easy access to the airport. Perfect for a short stay in Nairobi. The food was great. But the swimming pool is freezing and the beds are very very hard, so I did not get very good sleep after the long flight.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Joseph,

We appreciate your feedback as it helps us monitor and improve our services.

Thank you once again for staying with us and we look forward to your return visit.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Close to airport and to business parks arround Monbasa road make the hotel convenient for few days trip in Nairobi.
Fore more details come there to drink a coffee!
(Software is asking me for 200 characters and this is what I am doing here.)
See you there!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Laura,

We highly appreciate your choice to stay at Eka Hotel and wish for another opportunity to be of service to you and family/friends.

With best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
112 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

The hotel is closer to the airport and that's probably one of the best thing about this hotel. Rooms are average and service could be better. And reaching city or visiting other places like Masai Mara, Mount Kenya etc. is painful as you need to cross the busy traffic area all the time. Food is O.K. But staff is confused and needs grooming specially if you compare with Serena group of hotels, which we used during our trip.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Eka hotel.

We appreciate your feedback and we will always endeavor to improve in order to satisfy your needs and expectations.
Thanking you for your support and we look forward to hosting you again.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DFW
Level Contributor
153 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We stayed here before and after our safari and would definitely stay here again. The hotel room and entire hotel were very clean. It was quiet as well. One of my favorite features was the shower which was large and had the rainfall type of fixture. This hotel is very modern and comfortable, service is friendly and efficient. It is on the outskirts from the central district, but very convenient to the airport. The beds were good, there was television and free Internet in the room as well.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Susan,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Eka. We are glad to know you had a good experience at our property.

Thank you for sharing your experience with the online world and we look forward to hosting you in your next visit.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
The Panari Hotel
#38 of 129 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 223 reviews
The Boma Nairobi
#3 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
67 Airport Hotel
#22 of 129 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 54 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
#24 of 129 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 365 reviews
House of Waine
#1 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eka Hotel Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eka Hotel Nairobi

Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 27695 - 00506, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 129 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eka Hotel Nairobi 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eka Hotel a Nairobi hotel is ideally located along Mombasa Road in Nairobi the capital city of Kenya. It is situated minutes away from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, 5km from Wilson Airport and 5km from the bustling central business district. If you are looking for safari hotels, Eka Hotel is within easy access to the city’s many attractions and entertainment venues which make Eka Hotel an ideal safari accommodation hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Eka Hotel Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eka Hotel Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.