We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Secure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eka Hotel Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Eka Hotel Nairobi to your Saves list
Eka Hotel Nairobi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mombasa Road, Nairobi 27695 - 00506, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 129 Hotels in Nairobi
DFW
Level Contributor
153 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Clean and Secure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We stayed here before and after our safari and would definitely stay here again. The hotel room and entire hotel were very clean. It was quiet as well. One of my favorite features was the shower which was large and had the rainfall type of fixture. This hotel is very modern and comfortable, service is friendly and efficient. It is on the outskirts from the central district, but very convenient to the airport. The beds were good, there was television and free Internet in the room as well.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Susan,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Eka. We are glad to know you had a good experience at our property.

Thank you for sharing your experience with the online world and we look forward to hosting you in your next visit.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    170
    45
    17
    9
See reviews for
42
70
26
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Close to the airport and quite new, this modern hotel is great if you're getting into Nairobi late or leaving early in the morning. Only downside is that the bathroom doesn't have a separate door. The shower and toilet each have smoked glass doors so you have limited privacy.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Reisenfreudige,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and your outline of Eka Hotel as it helps us to improve our services.
We look forward to being of service to you again in the near future.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

First time to Africa, had no expectation. It turned out to be pretty decent , like a typical 4 star hotel in a developed country. What was great is that the hotel is New , and usually new rooms work wonders for me as I have a thing against old rooms, even if 5 stars. It will be a comfortable stay. Food is so - so ( buts its Africa right) and a nice looking pool. However Nothing nearby , then again were you thinking of walking around the streets? Its also near the National Park and that is where most people are headed.

Room Tip: Don't face the road, it is apparently quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and your outline of Eka Hotel as it helps us to improve our services.

We look forward to being of service to you again in the near future.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Just arrived from this hotel from attending the GRI. Africa summit . I didn't explore the whole hotel but my views are on the areas I utilised .

Room

Rooms are cosy and very well laid out , the bed is however the hardest I have slept on in my travels , didn't enjoy the sleep quality.

Conference areas

I believe the hotel have some of the best conferencing facilities in town . Location was good , and food and staff were excellent .

Restaurant

Breakfast is very good with a lot of variety . Staff are excellent and always ready to help

Overall a good hotel , good value and will stay again if on transit

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear London 61,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience at Eka Hotel as this helps us improve our services.

I will share your kind comments with our team. We look forward to having you back with us on your next visit!

Warmest Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
187 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Perfect as a transit hotel. Close to the airport, no traffic issues. It's on the industrial stretch of the airport road so don't expect any East African charm here. The rooms are small but well laid out and clean. The pool and outside areas work, the breakfast is good and the buffets are decent. Make sure you book your taxi with the concierge 15-20 minutes before you want to leave - they tend to not have any on site. Service in general is ok - friendly but not that efficient. The Wifi is dreadful unfortunately - very slow. (Really good water pressure in the shower which is unusual in Africa.)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear T-Africa2000,

Thank you very much for your review of your stay at Eka Hotel. We are happy you had a good stay despite the internet mishaps.

We have shared your comments with our team and measures have been taken to correct it.

Thank you and we look forward to your next stay.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I spent a total of three weeks at the hotel and feel I got to know the real pros and cons of this hotel

Basically I was very impressed – the staff are all very friendly, accommodating and gave me not reason to be concerned about the troubles at the time of my stay (May 2014)

The food is excellent with a good range of different meals, accommodation great, but the real stars are the staff who took personal care of every detail !!
The only slightly bug bear was the

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear TimR_10,

Thank you very much for your review of your stay at Eka Hotel. We are happy you had a good stay and have shared your compliments with our team.

Thank you and we look forward to being of service to you in your next business trip.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Tennessee
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Stayed at the EKA twice heading to/from safari. It was an easy trip to both Jomo Kenyatta and Wilson Airports and avoids the congestion of downtown. Ate at both restaurants, both were excellent in terms of food and service. Enjoyed drinks in the bar and convenient shopping in the gift shop as we were just too tired to go elsewhere. Appreciated the spaciousness of the rooms and the rainfall showers. Had to leave quite early for our return flight and were happy that breakfast was available at 5 am. Rooms were very clean and had universal plugs. Every staff member was extremely nice. Wish we had brought swimsuits, the pool is gorgeous.

Room Tip: We had adjoining rooms making it convenient for our family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Shannonadcock,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Eka Hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. I will share your kind comments with our team. We look forward to having you back with us on your next visit!

Warmest Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
The Panari Hotel
#39 of 129 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 223 reviews
The Boma Nairobi
#3 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
67 Airport Hotel
#22 of 129 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 54 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
#24 of 129 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 365 reviews
House of Waine
#1 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eka Hotel Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eka Hotel Nairobi

Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 27695 - 00506, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 129 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eka Hotel Nairobi 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eka Hotel a Nairobi hotel is ideally located along Mombasa Road in Nairobi the capital city of Kenya. It is situated minutes away from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, 5km from Wilson Airport and 5km from the bustling central business district. If you are looking for safari hotels, Eka Hotel is within easy access to the city’s many attractions and entertainment venues which make Eka Hotel an ideal safari accommodation hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Eka Hotel Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eka Hotel Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.