We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eka Hotel Nairobi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Eka Hotel Nairobi to your Saves list
Eka Hotel Nairobi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mombasa Road, Nairobi 27695 - 00506, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Close to the airport and quite new, this modern hotel is great if you're getting into Nairobi late or leaving early in the morning. Only downside is that the bathroom doesn't have a separate door. The shower and toilet each have smoked glass doors so you have limited privacy.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Reisenfreudige,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and your outline of Eka Hotel as it helps us to improve our services.
We look forward to being of service to you again in the near future.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    131
    38
    14
    6
See reviews for
33
55
23
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

First time to Africa, had no expectation. It turned out to be pretty decent , like a typical 4 star hotel in a developed country. What was great is that the hotel is New , and usually new rooms work wonders for me as I have a thing against old rooms, even if 5 stars. It will be a comfortable stay. Food is so - so ( buts its Africa right) and a nice looking pool. However Nothing nearby , then again were you thinking of walking around the streets? Its also near the National Park and that is where most people are headed.

Room Tip: Don't face the road, it is apparently quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and your outline of Eka Hotel as it helps us to improve our services.

We look forward to being of service to you again in the near future.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Just arrived from this hotel from attending the GRI. Africa summit . I didn't explore the whole hotel but my views are on the areas I utilised .

Room

Rooms are cosy and very well laid out , the bed is however the hardest I have slept on in my travels , didn't enjoy the sleep quality.

Conference areas

I believe the hotel have some of the best conferencing facilities in town . Location was good , and food and staff were excellent .

Restaurant

Breakfast is very good with a lot of variety . Staff are excellent and always ready to help

Overall a good hotel , good value and will stay again if on transit

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear London 61,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience at Eka Hotel as this helps us improve our services.

I will share your kind comments with our team. We look forward to having you back with us on your next visit!

Warmest Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Perfect as a transit hotel. Close to the airport, no traffic issues. It's on the industrial stretch of the airport road so don't expect any East African charm here. The rooms are small but well laid out and clean. The pool and outside areas work, the breakfast is good and the buffets are decent. Make sure you book your taxi with the concierge 15-20 minutes before you want to leave - they tend to not have any on site. Service in general is ok - friendly but not that efficient. The Wifi is dreadful unfortunately - very slow. (Really good water pressure in the shower which is unusual in Africa.)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear T-Africa2000,

Thank you very much for your review of your stay at Eka Hotel. We are happy you had a good stay despite the internet mishaps.

We have shared your comments with our team and measures have been taken to correct it.

Thank you and we look forward to your next stay.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I spent a total of three weeks at the hotel and feel I got to know the real pros and cons of this hotel

Basically I was very impressed – the staff are all very friendly, accommodating and gave me not reason to be concerned about the troubles at the time of my stay (May 2014)

The food is excellent with a good range of different meals, accommodation great, but the real stars are the staff who took personal care of every detail !!
The only slightly bug bear was the

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear TimR_10,

Thank you very much for your review of your stay at Eka Hotel. We are happy you had a good stay and have shared your compliments with our team.

Thank you and we look forward to being of service to you in your next business trip.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Tennessee
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Stayed at the EKA twice heading to/from safari. It was an easy trip to both Jomo Kenyatta and Wilson Airports and avoids the congestion of downtown. Ate at both restaurants, both were excellent in terms of food and service. Enjoyed drinks in the bar and convenient shopping in the gift shop as we were just too tired to go elsewhere. Appreciated the spaciousness of the rooms and the rainfall showers. Had to leave quite early for our return flight and were happy that breakfast was available at 5 am. Rooms were very clean and had universal plugs. Every staff member was extremely nice. Wish we had brought swimsuits, the pool is gorgeous.

Room Tip: We had adjoining rooms making it convenient for our family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Shannonadcock,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Eka Hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. I will share your kind comments with our team. We look forward to having you back with us on your next visit!

Warmest Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Before flying out to Masai Mara, my husband and I booked at EKA Hotel as we needed to stay a night in Nairobi; this hotel is located perfectly between the two airports. The hotel is modern, clean and the staff are really friendly. The breakfast was really good and the hotel has a SPUR; which was great. Rooms are clean and bed was comfortable.

The only thing is that there is nothing around the hotel; so I wouldn't recommend someone to stay here for your whole duration in Nairobi, but if you are only staying a night in Nairobi this is the hotel for you :).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Chelsea P,

We are delighted that you gave us an opportunity to host you.

Thank you for sharing your experience online. We appreciate the compliments. We look forward to being of service again.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eka Hotel Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eka Hotel Nairobi

Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 27695 - 00506, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eka Hotel Nairobi 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eka Hotel a Nairobi hotel is ideally located along Mombasa Road in Nairobi the capital city of Kenya. It is situated minutes away from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, 5km from Wilson Airport and 5km from the bustling central business district. If you are looking for safari hotels, Eka Hotel is within easy access to the city’s many attractions and entertainment venues which make Eka Hotel an ideal safari accommodation hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Eka Hotel Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eka Hotel Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.