We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Location Location !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eka Hotel Nairobi

Save Saved
You added Eka Hotel Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Eka Hotel Nairobi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mombasa Road, Nairobi 27695 - 00506, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Location Location Location !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Just before you get entangled in the madness that is Nairobi traffic – you get to Eka. Location is perfect especially for a layover. You will avoid the traffic to and from the airport.

Mishap at the airport and full flights and we ended up there. Check in was pretty fast and the lady was quite pleasant and helpful. The room was good. The lighting on the corridor – jury is still out. It’s right next to the road but surprisingly quiet.

Dinner was good- both quality and portions and our waiter – I forget his name – was very attentive and always at hand to assist.

Wireless was good, there is a safe in the room as well as a tea / coffee tray.

The bathroom is way too small in my opinion but overall a decent hotel

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Thetravel_buff,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and your outline of Eka Hotel as it helps us to improve our services.

We are happy that your stay was very comfortable as we met your expectations.

We look forward to being of service to you again in the near future.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    88
    25
    9
    5
See reviews for
24
44
14
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

I have to say that my stay at Eka hotel in Nairobi was very much enjoyable. The staffs were smiley and help full and, the room was clean and tidy and the food was good. In general I was very happy to stay with them and look forward to stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Richfed45,

Thank you for your feedback about Eka Hotel. We highly appreciate your choice to stay with us and wish for another opportunity to be of service to you.

With best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Really high quality hotel with reasonable rates. Has two restaurants and a bar. Perfect if you have an early flight out of Nairobi. The rooms are quite large and the bed is very comfortable. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. I will stay here again the next time I'm in Kenya!

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Imarriedafoodie,

We appreciate your feedback as it helps us monitor and improve our services. It is nice to know that you had a great time while staying at Eka Hotel.

We look forward to being of service to you when you visit Nairobi again.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luanda, Angola
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

I stayed here when my Kenya Airways flight was delayed for 14hours. The hotel was clean and plesant, and the staff were very nice. however the set menu given to people whos stay in sponsored by the airlines was pretty poor. instead i went to Spur and paid for myself.
the rooms are very nicely decorated and the facilites in the rooms are adequate for a short stay. Complimentary wifi was appreciated.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Kelly,

Greetings from Eka hotel.

We appreciate your feedback as this helps us monitor and improve our services. We have shared your feedback with our team.

Thank you for staying with us and look forward to hosting you again.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

The ribs at soaring eagle spur are to die for.Never tasted such good ribs and its my ideal eat-out place when i don't feel like having dinner at home.Excellent service too.Except for the breeze upstairs that makes your food get cold in a split second,everything else is okay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Blacktraveller,

We highly appreciate your choice to stay at Eka hotel and wish for another opportunity to be of service to you and friends.

With best regards,
Eka Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stayed at Eka hotel on the 17th April before going to Amboseli and Tsavo National Parks. It is on the main Mombasa road close to the airport which was very handy.
The hotel is very new and modern. The staff were professional and very friendly.
Our room was on the first floor, very nicely decorated, however we found the bed very hard. The room was spacious and clean. There are power ports at the desk to include US, European, and UK plugs, very handy for travellers. There is not a separate bathroom rather a shower and a toilet cubicle with frosted glass, and a sink unit divided by a wall from the bedroom area, with a glass window. However the shower has an out of this world rain shower head.
As we arrived very late in the evening we did not had any dinner, however the buffet breakfast was lovely, with plenty of choice.
There was free WI-FI in the hotel with good connection, which was handy to keep in touch with family at home.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Dorset,
It was our pleasure hosting you prior to your Safari. We look forward to another opportunity of service to you and friends in the near future.
With best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, West Virginia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

A five star facility along the Airport road. Location is excellent, breakfast excellent, rooms very comfortable and clean but service/Staff was not as friendly as we expected to find them. We decided to try another hotel for our last night in Nairobi to experience the hospitality. Generally, 4 out of 10. A bit pricey both on menu and rooms.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Limoh,
It’s nice to know you enjoyed your stay in Eka hotel Nairobi.

We have shared your feedback with our team to ensure your next stay is more comfortable.
It will be our pleasure to host you once again.

With best regards,
Eka Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Eka Hotel Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eka Hotel Nairobi

Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 27695 - 00506, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eka Hotel Nairobi 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eka Hotel a Nairobi hotel is ideally located along Mombasa Road in Nairobi the capital city of Kenya. It is situated minutes away from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, 5km from Wilson Airport and 5km from the bustling central business district. If you are looking for safari hotels, Eka Hotel is within easy access to the city’s many attractions and entertainment venues which make Eka Hotel an ideal safari accommodation hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Eka Hotel Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eka Hotel Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.