We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel for an overnight stay between flights” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eka Hotel Nairobi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Eka Hotel Nairobi to your Saves list
Eka Hotel Nairobi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mombasa Road, Nairobi 27695 - 00506, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 122 Hotels in Nairobi
Luanda, Angola
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel for an overnight stay between flights”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

I stayed here when my Kenya Airways flight was delayed for 14hours. The hotel was clean and plesant, and the staff were very nice. however the set menu given to people whos stay in sponsored by the airlines was pretty poor. instead i went to Spur and paid for myself.
the rooms are very nicely decorated and the facilites in the rooms are adequate for a short stay. Complimentary wifi was appreciated.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Kelly,

Greetings from Eka hotel.

We appreciate your feedback as this helps us monitor and improve our services. We have shared your feedback with our team.

Thank you for staying with us and look forward to hosting you again.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    146
    39
    14
    9
See reviews for
36
63
24
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

The ribs at soaring eagle spur are to die for.Never tasted such good ribs and its my ideal eat-out place when i don't feel like having dinner at home.Excellent service too.Except for the breeze upstairs that makes your food get cold in a split second,everything else is okay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Blacktraveller,

We highly appreciate your choice to stay at Eka hotel and wish for another opportunity to be of service to you and friends.

With best regards,
Eka Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stayed at Eka hotel on the 17th April before going to Amboseli and Tsavo National Parks. It is on the main Mombasa road close to the airport which was very handy.
The hotel is very new and modern. The staff were professional and very friendly.
Our room was on the first floor, very nicely decorated, however we found the bed very hard. The room was spacious and clean. There are power ports at the desk to include US, European, and UK plugs, very handy for travellers. There is not a separate bathroom rather a shower and a toilet cubicle with frosted glass, and a sink unit divided by a wall from the bedroom area, with a glass window. However the shower has an out of this world rain shower head.
As we arrived very late in the evening we did not had any dinner, however the buffet breakfast was lovely, with plenty of choice.
There was free WI-FI in the hotel with good connection, which was handy to keep in touch with family at home.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Dorset,
It was our pleasure hosting you prior to your Safari. We look forward to another opportunity of service to you and friends in the near future.
With best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, West Virginia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

A five star facility along the Airport road. Location is excellent, breakfast excellent, rooms very comfortable and clean but service/Staff was not as friendly as we expected to find them. We decided to try another hotel for our last night in Nairobi to experience the hospitality. Generally, 4 out of 10. A bit pricey both on menu and rooms.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Limoh,
It’s nice to know you enjoyed your stay in Eka hotel Nairobi.

We have shared your feedback with our team to ensure your next stay is more comfortable.
It will be our pleasure to host you once again.

With best regards,
Eka Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

I stayed there for 3 nights where in during the 2nd day , my wallet was stolen ..
they claimed the hotel is very secured and yes there are cameras everywhere, but when it came to investigating who took the wallet , nothing was there .. no results were found.
Anyways, 3rd day they call me at 8 am , informing me that one of the guests found my passport and some credit cards ... great !!! but where exactly in the hotel ??? when ??? did they found anything while review the cameras ??? NOTHING ..
very bad experience , whatch out where u put ur things otherwise you will be stuck in the police station and for NOTHING

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, General Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Rhym,

Thank you for sharing your valued concern with us.

We sincerely agree that losing one’s personal effects is always a highly frustrating event, more so when one is abroad, and where Identification and bank cards are concerned.

As a host in this unfortunate situation we are limited to assist, and accompany the guest towards recovery as far as possible of which in this incident this was achieved and wish to reassure no single effort was spared to recover the lost items.

This particular incident has challenged us to enhance our surveillance to ascertain nothing is left to hazard, in ensuring our guests comfort and safety as a renowned most secure hotel in Nairobi

We sincerely hope this regrettable incident will not withhold you from visiting Nairobi, and Eka Hotel, soon again.

With regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

In an excellent location close to international airport . Great service and good facilities, the pool area was wonderful, however the water was very cold.
The bar had an excellent choice of drinks and the rooms are spacious, modern and extremely clean. The hotel restaurant had a good selection, both for breakfast and dinner, there is an other restaurant within the hotel which we tried and again good quality and good produce.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Lids329,

We appreciate your feedback about Eka Hotel and glad that you had a great time.

We look forward to another opportunity to be of service to you and your friends.

With regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

We used this venue for a 2 day conference.
The staff are quite polite and friendly and made our stay very nice. The food is of excellent standard.
Driving up to Eka though, especially in the morning, can be a nightmare due to the heavy traffic on Mombasa Road. Otherwise it is very much worth a visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Adhiambo,

It’s nice to know you had a successful conference at Eka hotel Nairobi. It will be our pleasure to host you and your colleagues once again.

With best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eka Hotel Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eka Hotel Nairobi

Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 27695 - 00506, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 122 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eka Hotel Nairobi 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eka Hotel a Nairobi hotel is ideally located along Mombasa Road in Nairobi the capital city of Kenya. It is situated minutes away from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, 5km from Wilson Airport and 5km from the bustling central business district. If you are looking for safari hotels, Eka Hotel is within easy access to the city’s many attractions and entertainment venues which make Eka Hotel an ideal safari accommodation hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Eka Hotel Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eka Hotel Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.