We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eka Hotel Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Eka Hotel Nairobi to your Saves list
Eka Hotel Nairobi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mombasa Road, Nairobi 27695 - 00506, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 145 Hotels in Nairobi
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Pleasant Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

We used this venue for a 2 day conference.
The staff are quite polite and friendly and made our stay very nice. The food is of excellent standard.
Driving up to Eka though, especially in the morning, can be a nightmare due to the heavy traffic on Mombasa Road. Otherwise it is very much worth a visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdhiamboC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear Adhiambo,

It’s nice to know you had a successful conference at Eka hotel Nairobi. It will be our pleasure to host you and your colleagues once again.

With best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Was recently in Nairobi on a business trip and also transited through with overnight stays on two other subsequent occasions. The EKA hotel is between the airport and downtown.

it is a relatively new hotel and has a great restaurant bar as part of it, as well as another restaurant as part of the same complex which has awesome steaks!!!

The rooms were all of a good size with an interesting bathroom set-up. The bathroom was not a separate fully enclosed room but rather a shower cubicle and a toilet cubicle adjacent to a tiled area with the bathroom sink which was partially partitioned off from the sleeping area. Absolutely fine if traveling by yourself.

Service by the staff was excellent and we also used their bookable airport shuttle service for pick-ups and drop-offs for our transit stops.

Food in the hotel restaurant was great, breakfast was plentiful with a wide choice of hot, cold, baked, etc.

The next door steakhouse was also a great place to eat. Had an excellent steak dinner in there one night.

All in all, very happy we chose the EKA for our stay. It was recommended by our hosts and it did not disappoint. For a transit location, only 10 minutes from the airport so well located for those type of stays.

My only tip, make sure your room is down the passage, i.e a room number higher than 6 or else you might have some door banging as people enter and leave the corridor.

Room Tip: Ask for a room half way down the corridor to get away from the corridor entry door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Al C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear AI C

We appreciate your feedback as it helps us monitor and improve our services.

Thank you once again for staying with us and look forward to your return visit.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at eka during or last trip to Africa.
Wonderful concierge and reception staff made this hotel a stand-out in Nairobi.
Close to the airport which was very handy.
A lovely buffet with a great selection (we didn't try the al la carte menu) for breakfast and dinner. And a dinner service period which goes quite late, which makes it ideal for those who come in late into the airport or get stuck in the infamous Nairobi traffic.
Overall a very nice hotel, with wonderful staff.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeBignell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear Joe,

Many thanks for your email and nice to know you had a fruitful stay at Eka Hotel.

We appreciate your outline of Eka and hope will give us another opportunity of service to you in the near future.

With best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

I stayed at eka hotel on my visit to kenya. The hotel is clean and up to standards. The food pork spare ribs was yummy. The local beer,"white cap and guiness" was what I needed. Service by waiter 'ian' makes me wanna go back. Kind, respectful and smiling while addressing you.
I deffinately will go back again duringmy trip to kenya..
Try it out you will love it. Moses

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moseeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear Moses,

We highly appreciate your choice to stay at Eka Hotel and wish for another opportunity to be of service to you and family/friends.

With best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

I've stayed at the Eka Hotel in Nairobi on at least a few occasions now for business. The positives include the rooms, staff, and location (if you want to be on Mombasa Road or near the airport). The rooms are very polished. Compared to neighboring Ole Sereni, I give the rooms here a far superior advantage. The space layout is thoughtful and modern. As an example, the power ports at the desk include US, European, and UK plugs. The lighting in the room is also good. Staff is very friendly and welcoming - I've had numerous positive interactions with restaurant staff, front desk, and hotel drivers. Location is good if you need to be near the airport and are only here for a night. Outside of the central congestion in downtown Nairobi.

The pool area is also a very nice place to relax. The exercise room is a little small, there is only one treadmill and one or two other cardio machines (though I've never had to wait). The exercise space is larger at the Ole Sereni if that is important to you. (In fairness, the Ole Sereni shares its exercise space with a local fitness club so there are members there too).

The areas for improvement:
-noisy lobby. The lobby and common spaces are pretty much a shared space. When there are groups at the hotel (for dinner (i.e. local) or an overnight) it is hard to miss them and it feels like they 'take over' the hotel. I understand why the hotel has groups, so this is just a by product of how the public space was built.
-rooms in the basement are bad. The last time I was here (February 2014), I was put in a room in the basement (split level so I had a window). The window looked right out onto the parking lot and I received no reception on my Airtel mobile phone. I was asked to be moved after one night.

It would be good if the gift shop posted hours.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pompeybuckeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Sonya,

Many thanks for your comments and nice to know you had an enjoyable stay at Eka hotel. We have noted your comments on areas of improvement and we promise to make your next stay more comfortable.

We look forward to another opportunity of service to you.

With warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester-by-the-Sea, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
123 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

I spent a quick overnight here on landing in Nairobi and before I headed out on safari. The benefit to this hotel is its location, quite near the airport international flights land at and also the Wilson airstrip, where most flights out to safari locations depart from.

The hotel is really a business-type hotel. Well appointed, comfortable but pretty non-descript in terms of mood and ambiance. The shower is worth the price of admission, a glorious waterfall showerhead, but the bathroom is not its own room, but rather the shower and toilet are separated from the bedroom by only frosted glass. One might want to think twice about this arrangement if sharing a room with someone you're not terribly intimate with!

The room was good sized and linens and everything clean. The beds are pretty hard though, it wasn't the gentlest night's sleep.

Breakfast was excellent, a nice buffet spread and made to order hot food like eggs, omelet. Coffee hit the spot and service was excellent. I'd stay here again for all the reasons I mention here.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amybatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Amybatt,

Greetings from Eka and trust you got back home safely.

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your positive comments on Eka Hotel. We look forward to being of service to you in your next visit.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

I have just returned from a week at the Eka Hotel and had a first class experience all round.

The room was modern, everything worked (including an HDMI link from the desk to the room TV; I was able to run both my laptop and iPad onto the big screen to watch films, even the shower wasn't the usual hotel lottery of freezing/roasting/on/off. It was also good not be be limited to a single device on wifi, I was unning three or four most of the time with no problems.

But it was the staff who shone. One morning there was a problem with my lift to a client, and when no solution could be found the duty manager, George (sorry, George, I didn't get your last name) took responsibility and drove me himself. It was an attitude which seemed to be prevalent elsewhere too.

That's the kind of service which makes a hotel really stand out.

Room Tip: The hotel is separated from the main road by some distance and a high wall and I expect all the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles_Brewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Charles Brewer

We appreciate your feedback as it helps us monitor and improve our services. It is nice to know that you had a great time while staying at Eka Hotel.

We look forward to being of service to you in the near future.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.3 mi away
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi
0.8 mi away
The Panari Hotel
The Panari Hotel
#45 of 145 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 264 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#7 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
67 Airport Hotel
67 Airport Hotel
#35 of 145 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 96 reviews
4.4 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
3.1 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#11 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eka Hotel Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eka Hotel Nairobi

Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 27695 - 00506, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 145 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Eka Hotel Nairobi 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eka Hotel a Nairobi hotel is ideally located along Mombasa Road in Nairobi the capital city of Kenya. It is situated minutes away from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, 5km from Wilson Airport and 5km from the bustling central business district. If you are looking for safari hotels, Eka Hotel is within easy access to the city’s many attractions and entertainment venues which make Eka Hotel an ideal safari accommodation hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TravelClick, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Eka Hotel Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing