We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty much 5 star” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eka Hotel Nairobi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Eka Hotel Nairobi to your Saves list
Eka Hotel Nairobi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mombasa Road, Nairobi 27695 - 00506, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
COMPLIMENTARY BREAKFAST
Ranked #21 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
Centennial, Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Pretty much 5 star”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Traveling into Nairobi can be tricky. EKA is located close to the airport, and you can be in and out if you are going to Masaii Mara for safari. I recommend you stay here and then head out the next day. The acommodations are 5 star. Beautiful rooms, great restaurant and good food. Super gift shop. Refreshing pool and beautiful areas to lounge in.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Tish,

We highly appreciate your choice to stay at Eka Hotel and wish for another opportunity to be of service to you and friends.

With best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    116
    35
    11
    6
See reviews for
29
50
23
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton on Tees
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We arrived 4 hours late after a delay to our flight from Dubai. Our car made the short trip from JKIA and we were met by airport style security prior to a) our car being allowed into the grounds and b) us getting into the hotel itself. This is a sign of the times in Kenya alas. Friendly reception showed us to room which was fine for overnight but a view of a car park might not be great for any length of time. Excellent Shower in room (we never saw a bath in Kenya but I suspect that the demand on the infrastructure of the country is such that this is asking too much). Free Wifi- a good connection. Helpful staff though I just wonder if at times they are too helpful in performing services which are totally unnecessary in the hope of seeing a tip.
Dinner was in a reasonable and cheap steakhouse built into the hotel. Adequate breakfast served prior to having to get a pass from reception to allow you to leave.
At USD 275 a night this is way over the top for a hotel of this nature which I would regard as being slightly better than a UK Premier Travel Inn - GBP 85 (London) and 55 elsewhere in the UK- USD 140 and 95 respectively.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear FlyingDoctor,

Thank you for your feedback as it helps us monitor and improve our services. It is nice to know that you had a great time at Eka Hotel.

We look forward to being of service to you and your family in your next trip.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Fondo de les Neus, Spain
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

This well designed and modern property does exactly what it sets out to do -- provide contemporary accommodation near the Aiport and well placed for Businesses in Nairobi.Excellent Breakfast Buffet and all in all a good choice

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Leon,

Many thanks for your comments and nice to know you had an enjoyable stay at Eka hotel.

We look forward to another opportunity of service to you.

With best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diani Beach, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Ive stayed at Eka many times and choose the hotel as its close JKIA and a good base for Wilson too.

Rooms are nice, restaurant is too and the staff and service are great.

The please can a be a little noisy at night depending on which room you're in. Avoid the entrance door to the corridor and you should be fine.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Leandro G,

Greetings from Eka Hotel.

We acknowledge and appreciate your comments about Eka Hotel. It was our pleasure hosting you and we look forward to another opportunity of service to you in the near future.

With best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

I had one day of stay because of a delayed fight, The voucher paid for by the Airline. All though my stay was only for a few hours, and the expenses were covered by the Kenya Airways Voucher, all the staff cared about was money. There were continuous attempt to bill additional charges to me. At the meal table, i was asked for my voucher and the guy then disappeared.

This may be a closer to Airport, but with such bad service, please do not choose this one. It will be a wasted stay. food Options are pathetic, room layout is bad. Even bath robes are missing in the rooms. The bathrooms are created out of sheets of glass and seems like an after thought. Nothing positive to report about this place.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Mark,

We appreciate your feedback as it helps us monitor and improve our services.

We have noted your concerns and will ensure you have a better and comfortable experience next time. We look forward to being of service to you in future.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

If you have business in Nairobi and need a quick and easy hotel near the airport, then this one is for you. The main advantage here is that you avoid the majority of the notorious traffic usually encountered in Nairobi but the downside is that the surrounding area has nothing to offer in terms of attractions or amenities such as shops or tourist attractions.
The hotel is new, clean and convenient. Staff are friendly and the service was good - including the restaurant and bar. I used the onsite Spur for room-service take away's on a number of occasions and the food was consistent and just what was expected.
All the rooms only have showers and mine had a king sized bed with the standard flat screen, coffee and tea, mini bar and work desk. The WiFi was free and reasonably fast, during my week long stay it was only down for a few hours in total.
Quick uncomplicated stay over - this is your place.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Pete,

Thank you for your feedback as it helps us monitor and improve our services. It is nice to know that you had a great time at Eka Hotel.

We look forward to being of service to you in your next trip.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

I chose the Eka hotel because of its proximity to the airport and its high level of security. I was in Nairobi for one night following a safari so did not have an issue that it was far from the city as I did not have time to explore. The room was comfortable although the WIFi was not great in the room so I had to come to reception to get a good connection. I used hotel transport to the airport the next day and even though we were close to the airport there was a major traffic jam and it still took some time. The driver did his best to get around the traffic where possible. While not cheap at over US$200 I was happy I chose the hotel for one night and would recommend if staying in Nairobi for a short spell.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Sonya,

Many thanks for your comments and nice to know you had an enjoyable stay at Eka hotel.

We look forward to another opportunity of service to you.

With warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eka Hotel Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eka Hotel Nairobi

Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 27695 - 00506, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eka Hotel Nairobi 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eka Hotel a Nairobi hotel is ideally located along Mombasa Road in Nairobi the capital city of Kenya. It is situated minutes away from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, 5km from Wilson Airport and 5km from the bustling central business district. If you are looking for safari hotels, Eka Hotel is within easy access to the city’s many attractions and entertainment venues which make Eka Hotel an ideal safari accommodation hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Eka Hotel Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eka Hotel Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.