We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot for late night arrivals” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eka Hotel Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Eka Hotel Nairobi to your Saves list
Eka Hotel Nairobi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mombasa Road, Nairobi 27695 - 00506, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 129 Hotels in Nairobi
Berwick upon Tweed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great spot for late night arrivals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Wonderful hotel and a haven when we arrived after a flight from the UK arriving at 4am. The rooms are well designed and pristine, the staff friendly and efficient, and this is generally a great place to transition into Kenyan life as it feels very familiar and comfortable.
The bar and restaurant staff are great, happy to chat and make recommendations.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Kath,

Greetings from Eka hotel.

We appreciate your feedback as this helps us monitor and improve our services.

Thank you for staying with us and look forward to hosting you the next time you are in Nairobi.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    170
    45
    17
    9
See reviews for
42
70
26
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Our last day in Nairobi. We were very tired. We had seen the giraffes. We adopted a baby elephant. Our flight didn't leave until midnight. Thank goodness our trip organizer booked us a dinner at a quiet, classy, upscale restaurant. Exactly what we needed, a chance to relax in comfort, freshen up in a spotless, roomy restroom, and eat a delicious dinner accompanied by a good glass of wine or bottle of beer! Although it was like going through airport security to enter the hotel, once inside we did feel very safe! We were greeted politely, served graciously, & left to enjoy our dinner without any pressure to hurry or make rushed selections. We had three dinners & each meal was perfectly prepared. We enjoyed our "posh evening" very much. Definitely a grand way to end our wonderful visit to Africa. An added bonus was that it wasn't too far from the airport. This is important considering the traffic in Nairobi!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Evelyn,

Greeting from Eka Hotel. We appreciate your feedback as it helps us monitor and improve our services. It is nice to know that you had a great time and we appreciate your outline of Eka Hotel.

We look forward to being of service to you and your friends/family again.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

I have stayed at the Eka twice now, most recently this past December. They are the friendliest staff I've experienced in Kenya, bar none! The porters and the front desk staff all remembered me on my second visit through. Arnold at the hotel lounge/bar is a great person to talk to when you're just sitting and relaxing. In fact, I switched my allegiance from the Ole Sereni to the Eka precisely due to the staff's friendliness and attentiveness.

The hotel itself is not quite so big, but the hotel is brand new so everything is in good condition. Further, it's safe, secure, convenient and affordable. As for the health facility (which is something I always rate on), it's convenient enough for a quick workout when travelling.

The breakfast buffet is also excellent, and the dinner menu is great.

I highly recommend the Eka for an overnight stay when travelling through Nairobi on business.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Traveler,

We appreciate your feedback as it helps us monitor and improve our services. It is nice to know that you had a great time and we appreciate your outline of Eka Hotel.

We look forward to being of service to you in your next visit.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Your quality service started from the gate, the doorman/ Bell boy are courteous, the receptionists are helpful, the waiters are friendly. They all make you feel valuable... I was really impressed.

Your breakfast is out of this world. I will come back for lunch and dinner.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Jemutai,

Thank you for your comments about Eka Hotel. It is through this that we are able to make your next visit more comfortable by offering better service. We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
88 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

I think this is one of the best hotels near the airport. The staff is very friendly and it has a great atmosphere. I will caution that it is expensive by comparison, but most are expensive in Nairobi.

It is very clean and has everything you need.

Room Tip: They all seem good. Just note the 3rd floor is #1 in the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Laurence,

It was our pleasure hosting you during your trip. We look forward to another opportunity of service to you in the near future.

With best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Perfect place to start your travel in Nairobi. Nice rooms, good food, and extremely friendly and helpful staff. Easy to get to and from the airport from this location which is very important in Nairobi.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Ellen,

It was our pleasure hosting you briefly prior to your Safari. We look forward to another opportunity of service to you and friends in the near future.

With best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile


I stayed at Eka Hotel on a recent business trip to Nairobi. I picked the hotel strictly based on its proximity to the airport (Nairobi traffic is atrocious). I usually stay at the Tribe Hotel and have also stayed at the Serena, Holiday Inn, and Panari previously. The hotel has a good security setup and is fairly new construction.

I stayed in room 460. It is a very large room/suite (living room plus a separate bedroom and a large bathroom). The mattress was very firm, which is my preference, but may be a concern for other travelers. The room was very clean.

I had very early mornings both days (4am and 3am respectively) and the hotel staff was extraordinarily accommodating to me and my fellow travelers. They put out the full breakfast spread - including omelet stand - for us both mornings. On the breakfast buffet, the food is very good and there's a wide selection of options. The omelet chef was excellent too.

My only negative comment is that the water pressure in the shower was terrible. The shower head is an overhead rainfall model - which is nice, but the water basically dripped out. Not a biggie for me, but a headsup for other travelers.

I'd recommend Eka Hotel to anyone.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear MJKin,

Thank you for choosing Eka Hotel and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We have noted your concerns and look forward to hosting you next time you are in Nairobi.

With warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
The Panari Hotel
#38 of 129 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 223 reviews
The Boma Nairobi
#3 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
67 Airport Hotel
#22 of 129 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 54 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
#24 of 129 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 365 reviews
House of Waine
#1 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eka Hotel Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eka Hotel Nairobi

Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 27695 - 00506, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 129 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eka Hotel Nairobi 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eka Hotel a Nairobi hotel is ideally located along Mombasa Road in Nairobi the capital city of Kenya. It is situated minutes away from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, 5km from Wilson Airport and 5km from the bustling central business district. If you are looking for safari hotels, Eka Hotel is within easy access to the city’s many attractions and entertainment venues which make Eka Hotel an ideal safari accommodation hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Eka Hotel Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eka Hotel Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.