We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick, Easy Stay Near Airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eka Hotel Nairobi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Eka Hotel Nairobi to your Saves list
Eka Hotel Nairobi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mombasa Road, Nairobi 27695 - 00506, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Quick, Easy Stay Near Airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We spent one night at Eka Hotel before departing on Safari. The staff was wonderful and the hotel is clean (and very new!) with several amenities-gym, pool, restaurants, buffet breakfast, etc. We really enjoyed the close proximity to the airport.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Marthapp,

We appreciate your feedback as it helps us monitor and improve our services. It is nice to know that you had a great time and we appreciate your outline of Eka Hotel.

We look forward to being of service to you and your family again.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    131
    38
    14
    6
See reviews for
33
55
23
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monrovia, Liberia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Got to stay here on a 12-hour stopover on my way home compliments of Kenya Airways. The best part about this hotel is that it is near the Airport and you avoid the traffic of the city, so its ideal if you're in Nairobi on a stopover between flights. The hotel is well-furnished and comfortable. However, the rooms are a tad small and shower / WC is too spartan. Cannot comment on value for money as this stay was gratis. Try to visit the Nairobi National Park if you're there for a day to see giraffes, wildebeests, gazelles etc. I even got to see a lion!

Room Tip: All rooms are the same. No preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Avinash,

We highly appreciate your choice to stay at Eka Hotel and wish for another opportunity to be of service to you and family.

With best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

The Hotel is located close to the Airport . The staff are extremely helpful. The rooms are small but very comfortable.
The food at the Hotel is great though there is not too much of a choice
It has free internet which is great

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear MurtuzaRai,

We appreciate your feedback as it helps us monitor and improve our services. It is nice to know that you had a great time and we appreciate your outline of Eka Hotel.

We look forward to being of service to you and your friends/family again.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

After a long safari visit to Kenya, we stayed at EKA Hotel before returning to the United States. The room was superb with all the amenities well laied out. The rain shower was just the extra touch we needed to unwind. The hotel manager called our room just to ask how comfortable we were and if anything was lacking in their hospitality. You just do not see this kind of service in the US. The staff throughout the Hotel were incredibly helpful and courteous. Our flight was late at night and the Manager opened up a room for us just to freshen up before our long journey back to the US. These are the small things that people do not forget. We will always remember the quality of service and hospitality that we received at EKA Hotel. I highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Excellent Hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear Khataw,

We appreciate your feedback as it helps us monitor and improve our services.

It is nice to know that you had a great time and we appreciate your outline of Eka Hotel. We look forward to being of service to you and your friends/family again.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surat, India
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stayed there with best imaginable comfort and courtesy. They go great length to make guests feel comfortable. Though I stayed only a night, I preserve memory of it. That tells their quality of hospitality.

Room Tip: I didn't stay enough to guide anyone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear Swamji,

It is nice to know that you had a great time and we appreciate your outline of Eka Hotel. We look forward to being of service to you and your friends/family again.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

I am staying at the Eka hotel from Dec 26th through Jan 1st. The hotel is modern, well serviced and very clean (and I am very picky with cleanliness). The location is on Mombasa Road close to the airport so it isn't scenic but a good place to setup base while exploring Nairobi and its surroundings without paying exorbitant prices. Staff are extremely cordial, the room is always spotless when I return and I have been able to use the free WIFI to get work done. The bed was firm, just the way I like it and my room faced the pool, so it was very quiet and I slept wonderfully throughout. Full breakfast buffet was included in the rate and was very good (fresh fruit, pastries, omelet station and various hot breakfast dishes). There is a nice pool and a outdoor lounge area where I sat and did work occasionally. I'm female and staying here alone but have felt completely safe as staff are very visible and everyone entering the hotel goes through security check. For a special rate of about $135 per night, this hotel was well worth it and I will likely use it again on my next trip. Would also highly recommend for anyone needing a good hotel for an airport layover (it would help you avoid the crazy Nairobi traffic).

Room Tip: Book your room away from the Spurs restaurant side if you want a quiet stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear Nyamse,

We highly appreciate your choice to stay at Eka Hotel and wish for another opportunity to be of service to you and family.

With best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

This was a poor choice of hotel. The EKA is much smaller than it appears on its website and feels like a motel, which makes the price irritatingly high. The room was clean enough but the views in every direction were of buildings and roadworks; indeed, the entire hotel seems to be surrounded by construction associated with the new airport road.

But what was unforgivably out of order was the flat refusal by the reception clerk at checkout to call a city taxi in a cynical attempt to force me to pay for the hotel’s own wildly overpriced ‘airport shuttle’. Even the gate guard was embarrassed as I was left to wait on the side of the highway outside for a local bus and motorcycle taxi to the airport. This kind of sharp practice surely has no place in a modern Nairobi: the EKA is definitely one to avoid.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Front Office Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear Dp Fam

Greetings from Eka and trust you got back home safely.

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your positive comments on our room cleanliness.

However, we regret that your room view did not meet your expectations as this was facing constructions. We have taken note of this and trust that we shall give you a room with a better view in your future visit before the constructions on the surrounding is complete.

On the taxi issue, we always recommend Hotel cars as opposed to other taxis from outside for security reasons. By using our vehicles, we are assured of your safety to and from the Hotel which is very important to all our guests. We do apologize for going through the process of getting other means and trust we will share the same with the front Office team to be able to handle such issues in a better way to all our customers.

Thank you once again and look forward to your return visit.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eka Hotel Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eka Hotel Nairobi

Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 27695 - 00506, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eka Hotel Nairobi 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eka Hotel a Nairobi hotel is ideally located along Mombasa Road in Nairobi the capital city of Kenya. It is situated minutes away from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, 5km from Wilson Airport and 5km from the bustling central business district. If you are looking for safari hotels, Eka Hotel is within easy access to the city’s many attractions and entertainment venues which make Eka Hotel an ideal safari accommodation hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Eka Hotel Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eka Hotel Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.