We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A GREAT HOTEL NEAR THE AIRPORT” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eka Hotel Nairobi

Save Saved
You added Eka Hotel Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Eka Hotel Nairobi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mombasa Road, Nairobi 27695 - 00506, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 100 hotels in Nairobi
Craigavon
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“A GREAT HOTEL NEAR THE AIRPORT”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Although the hotel's website says 5KM from the airport it is closer to 8KM! Anyhow it is on the Mombasa Road which is the main road from the city centre to the airport. This is a new modern hotel with very well furnished and comfortable bedrooms. The welcome was friendly and the staff very helpful.

Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel is a bonus with tea and coffee facilities in the bedrooms. Breakfast was disappointing in both the selection and the quality!

Like most Nairobi hotels it is overpriced and unless quick access to the airport is essential then there is better value closer to the city centre but be prepared for the traffic jams coming from the city centre. The hotel does have an airport shuttle service for which they charge. Since this was my third visit to Nairobi and on the first established a good relationship with Geoffrey a taxi driver that is highly dependable and does not overcharge I used his services again. His number is +254703114172.

The hotel is in a very safe area and protected behind a substantial security wall and I felt safe and relaxed during my stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Front Office Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Irvine,

Happy New Year!

Greetings from Eka Hotel and Thank you for the positive feedback on our products and services.

However, we do regret that you were not happy with the transport charges to the Airport and used an independent driver. Our charges are within the market rate which is fair to all our customers and considering the company overheads and your security, the Hotel charges will always be slightly higher as opposed to an individual.

Thank you once again for staying with us and look forward to your return visit.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    66
    95
    31
    10
    6
See reviews for
26
45
19
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

We spent about 8 hours here between a late arriving flight from Europe and an early flight to Zanzibar.

The restaurant was good and accommodating for our late meal. The rooms were very clean and modern.

Serious Advice on the Airport - listen to the front desk when they tell you how much time you need at the airport! We left at 6AM for a flight at 8:15AM. One - this hotel is close to the airport but traffic is a NIGHTMARE even at 6AM; Two - the airport is a zoo - they require you to check in one hour before your flight and when you finally get to the airport there is a long line to get through security (unlike the States you go through security first then to the ticket counter; three - once you get to the ticket counter (we had about 3 minutes to spare...) you aren't home-free - you need to pass through emigration / passport control and you are supposed to check in at your gate 30 minutes prior to your flight. We got there about 25 minutes before - they were freaking out a bit and rushed us through (then we waited a long time before they actually boarded the plane) Long story short - allow A LOT of time for the airport and bring a book or something or prepare to be stressed out or miss your flight!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Front Office Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Happy New Year Wayfarer,

Thank you for the positive compliments on the Hotel product and services and choosing Eka as your Hotel of Choice in Nairobi.

We regret the long airport process you underwent before boarding the flight. This is a great lesson to us as we will now be able to advise all our customers and the best times to leave for the airport.

Thank you for staying with us and look forward to a long term business relationship.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

I landed on an overnight flight and the front desk couldn't find my reservation. Was kept at the front desk while they looked. Eventually asked if we could have breakfast while they checked.

On getting to the room, was shocked at the size. Really really small room and had to call room service to show me the closet.

Buffet was not served everyday as the waiter said they didn't have enough guests to cook for. Had to settle for A-la-carte for remainder of my stay.

On checkout, front desk didn't inform me i had a free airport transfer paid for by my company. They tried to make make me pay for the service.

Overall, this is a nice hotel with close proximity to airport

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Bohan,

Thank you for choosing Eka hotel. We regret the inconvenience during your stay. We look forward to making your stay better on your next visit.

With regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

True, if you want to stay near the airport because you have an early flight the next morning, the EKA Hotel is probably your best bet. That is, if you don't mind paying more than you get. The room was actually pretty good; it was spacious and comfortable, although the mattress was rock hard. Not the end of the world. However, shockingly poor is the quality of the food at the hotel restaurant, and especially what they charge for it. Even breakfast is terribly overpriced (USD 15 pp) given the quality, and dinner was just as bad. In short: expensive yet functional hotel, friendly staff and terribly overpriced, very poor food.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Claire,

Thank you for choosing Eka Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We have noted your concern about the food service and we promise to improve on this before your next stay.

With Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

After a long trip from the states we were happy to get here--staff great, rooms very comfortable and clean and the food was delicious--certainly would stay here again. we felt safe and breakfast was great and service was excellent--very attractive and free wi fi and pool looked inviting

Room Tip: they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear M and C,
It is nice to know that you had a great time and we appreciate your outline of Eka Hotel. We look forward to being of service to you and your friends/family again.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

Eka hotel is the best place to stay more especially when you have Avery morning flight, it's near jomo Kenyatta airport which makes it easier for you to the airport! Eka restaurant is nice the bar is ok the food is fabulous the waitresses are careering Esther was so good to us with her beautiful smile but one thing i dint liked was one of us ask for a starter but they keep coming with an excuses and it ends a starter comes together with the main course which i dint like at all

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Regina,

Thank you for choosing Eka Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We have noted your concern about the food service and we promise to improve on this before your next stay.

With Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

When arriving in Nairobi, most of the tourist had a long flight coming from another continent. Then you are happy not obliged to drive first to a crouded and loud city like Nairobi. This hotel is located half way between the Kenyatta International Airport and the city center of Nairobi. That's why I recommend this place.

You will find everthing you like after a long flight and maybe waiting in long lines at the immigration: Spacious and clean rooms to relax. Not an overloaded lunch or dinner buffet and a nice and attentive service at the table. And if you have the time, you will find an outdoor swimming pool.

All together not a luxury place. Just a good place to rest for the first night. You will start your next day with a good first experience after arriving in Kenya.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Waldmeier,

We highly appreciate your choice to stay at Eka Hotel and wish for another opportunity to be of service to you and family.

With best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eka Hotel Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eka Hotel Nairobi

Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 27695 - 00506, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 100 hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eka Hotel Nairobi 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eka Hotel a Nairobi hotel is ideally located along Mombasa Road in Nairobi the capital city of Kenya. It is situated minutes away from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, 5km from Wilson Airport and 5km from the bustling central business district. If you are looking for safari hotels, Eka Hotel is within easy access to the city’s many attractions and entertainment venues which make Eka Hotel an ideal safari accommodation hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Eka Hotel Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eka Hotel Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.