We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pre safari oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eka Hotel Nairobi

Save Saved
You added Eka Hotel Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Eka Hotel Nairobi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mombasa Road, Nairobi 27695 - 00506, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Easter Offer! 6% Discount
Ranked #19 of 92 hotels in Nairobi
Pensacola, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Pre safari oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

After a long trip from the states we were happy to get here--staff great, rooms very comfortable and clean and the food was delicious--certainly would stay here again. we felt safe and breakfast was great and service was excellent--very attractive and free wi fi and pool looked inviting

Room Tip: they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear M and C,
It is nice to know that you had a great time and we appreciate your outline of Eka Hotel. We look forward to being of service to you and your friends/family again.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    73
    19
    8
    4
See reviews for
18
34
12
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

Eka hotel is the best place to stay more especially when you have Avery morning flight, it's near jomo Kenyatta airport which makes it easier for you to the airport! Eka restaurant is nice the bar is ok the food is fabulous the waitresses are careering Esther was so good to us with her beautiful smile but one thing i dint liked was one of us ask for a starter but they keep coming with an excuses and it ends a starter comes together with the main course which i dint like at all

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Regina,

Thank you for choosing Eka Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We have noted your concern about the food service and we promise to improve on this before your next stay.

With Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

When arriving in Nairobi, most of the tourist had a long flight coming from another continent. Then you are happy not obliged to drive first to a crouded and loud city like Nairobi. This hotel is located half way between the Kenyatta International Airport and the city center of Nairobi. That's why I recommend this place.

You will find everthing you like after a long flight and maybe waiting in long lines at the immigration: Spacious and clean rooms to relax. Not an overloaded lunch or dinner buffet and a nice and attentive service at the table. And if you have the time, you will find an outdoor swimming pool.

All together not a luxury place. Just a good place to rest for the first night. You will start your next day with a good first experience after arriving in Kenya.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Waldmeier,

We highly appreciate your choice to stay at Eka Hotel and wish for another opportunity to be of service to you and family.

With best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banjul
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Situated close to Jomo Kenyatta International Airport the Eka is an extremely modern and attractive medium sized hotel. The rooms are extremely well appointed and there is a pleasant bar and restaurant. There is also a very nice fast food steak house attached to the hotel where I had a truly excellent fillet steak. This is ideal for transit particularly for relatively tight turn rounds as it is easily accessible to the airport and central Nairobi traffic is truly horrendous.

Room Tip: Avoid the lower ground floor rooms as mobile telephone signals are hard to obtain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Robert,
Thank you for choosing Eka hotel and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We have since boosted the mobile phone network within the hotel and we will look forward to hosting you next time you are in Nairobi.

With Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Along Mombasa road which is a direct shot to the airport. The beds are extremely comfortable and rooms tastefully decorated. There is a restaurant upstairs, even though I never ate there. The breakfast was amazing with lots to choose from. The downside is the price....its a little on the higher end. I highly recommend if you can afford it

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Mumias,

It was our pleasure hosting you and we appreciate your review of Eka Hotel. We look forward to another opportunity of service to you and friends in the near future.

With best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I was transiting to Tanzania via Nairobi and the second leg flight did not arrive, so I had to spend he night in Nairobi. After so inquires, I was directed to Eka Hotel which turned out to be a clean and nice hotel in a quiet part of Nairobi. It is also very close to the airport so I had no problems arriving the airport the next day.

The staff were very friendly and willing to help, the food was also good

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Kayode,

Thank you for your review of Eka Hotel. Its nice to know you enjoyed your stay in during your trip and it will be our pleasure to host you once again and your friends at Eka hotel.

With best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I travel through Africa a lot - this month alone I will be transiting through Nairobi three times. On previous trips, I'd always stay at the Ole Sereni, an excellent hotel right next door to the Eka. But this month, it was fully booked - in fact all of the hotels I had stayed with in the past were fully booked on the dates I required. So, I tried Eka - a hotel that I had never even heard of before.

The hotel itself is about 1 ½ years old, so everything feels "newish". The security entering the facility was good, the doorman was friendly, and check in was easy and painless.

The rooms are nice - rainfall showers with good pressure and plenty of hot water, big bed, large windows that open, a desk that you can actually work at, and a nice flat screen television. There is no clock, which seems weird, but I guess that's why you have a phone and/or a watch. There is a safe in the closet and a nice assortment of bathroom toiletries.

The bed is probably the firmest that I have ever slept on without being uncomfortable. I have had back issues, so I'd much rather be firm than soft, so I didn't mind at all. Some people might not like it, but it is not lumpy - it is just really firm.

Breakfast is a good buffet, with made to order eggs and omelets and bacon. There is fresh fruit, pastries, yoghurt, cereals, juices, and coffee and tea. The dining area is sufficient for the need, never needing to search out an empty table.

The hotel can get you to and from the airport, which is probably the way to go - especially when you are first coming into the country. You won't have to change money, simply look for the uniformed driver holding the Eka Hotel sign with your name, and go to the hotel. I think the cost is $20 for the ride. Not as cheap as you can get if you know what you're doing with negotiating the cost (try for 1500 kes) but it is much less energy expended!

There is a small gift shop, and another restaurant that is kind of like a Chili's (if you know US brands). The bar isn't much, but you can get a cold Tusker and whatever else you are thirsty for, just don't expect a lounge environment.

The staff is tremendous and very helpful. I have my next trip already booked to return here. So, how does it compare to its neighbors? It is not as posh as the Ole Sereni, but definitely no where near as expensive, and it's also not as expensive as the Panari, but in my opinion far, far nicer.

So what's it like? Think of a Hampton Inn, with a really great breakfast, and a full kitchen, and you probably have it! It's all I need for a transit hotel.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the door near the elevators. That can be a bit loud. Also, the rooms on most l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Joesindorf,

Many thanks for your email and we are happy to know that you had a great stay at Eka hotel. We appreciate your outline of Eka and hope to be of service to you in your next trip.

With best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Eka Hotel Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eka Hotel Nairobi

Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 27695 - 00506, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 92 hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eka Hotel Nairobi 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eka Hotel a Nairobi hotel is ideally located along Mombasa Road in Nairobi the capital city of Kenya. It is situated minutes away from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, 5km from Wilson Airport and 5km from the bustling central business district. If you are looking for safari hotels, Eka Hotel is within easy access to the city’s many attractions and entertainment venues which make Eka Hotel an ideal safari accommodation hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Venere, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Eka Hotel Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eka Hotel Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.