We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idea hotel for Nairobi transit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eka Hotel Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Eka Hotel Nairobi to your Saves list
Eka Hotel Nairobi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mombasa Road, Nairobi 27695 - 00506, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
Banjul
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Idea hotel for Nairobi transit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Situated close to Jomo Kenyatta International Airport the Eka is an extremely modern and attractive medium sized hotel. The rooms are extremely well appointed and there is a pleasant bar and restaurant. There is also a very nice fast food steak house attached to the hotel where I had a truly excellent fillet steak. This is ideal for transit particularly for relatively tight turn rounds as it is easily accessible to the airport and central Nairobi traffic is truly horrendous.

Room Tip: Avoid the lower ground floor rooms as mobile telephone signals are hard to obtain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Robert,
Thank you for choosing Eka hotel and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We have since boosted the mobile phone network within the hotel and we will look forward to hosting you next time you are in Nairobi.

With Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    130
    38
    14
    6
See reviews for
32
55
23
95
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Overland Park, Kansas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Along Mombasa road which is a direct shot to the airport. The beds are extremely comfortable and rooms tastefully decorated. There is a restaurant upstairs, even though I never ate there. The breakfast was amazing with lots to choose from. The downside is the price....its a little on the higher end. I highly recommend if you can afford it

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Mumias,

It was our pleasure hosting you and we appreciate your review of Eka Hotel. We look forward to another opportunity of service to you and friends in the near future.

With best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I was transiting to Tanzania via Nairobi and the second leg flight did not arrive, so I had to spend he night in Nairobi. After so inquires, I was directed to Eka Hotel which turned out to be a clean and nice hotel in a quiet part of Nairobi. It is also very close to the airport so I had no problems arriving the airport the next day.

The staff were very friendly and willing to help, the food was also good

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Kayode,

Thank you for your review of Eka Hotel. Its nice to know you enjoyed your stay in during your trip and it will be our pleasure to host you once again and your friends at Eka hotel.

With best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I travel through Africa a lot - this month alone I will be transiting through Nairobi three times. On previous trips, I'd always stay at the Ole Sereni, an excellent hotel right next door to the Eka. But this month, it was fully booked - in fact all of the hotels I had stayed with in the past were fully booked on the dates I required. So, I tried Eka - a hotel that I had never even heard of before.

The hotel itself is about 1 ½ years old, so everything feels "newish". The security entering the facility was good, the doorman was friendly, and check in was easy and painless.

The rooms are nice - rainfall showers with good pressure and plenty of hot water, big bed, large windows that open, a desk that you can actually work at, and a nice flat screen television. There is no clock, which seems weird, but I guess that's why you have a phone and/or a watch. There is a safe in the closet and a nice assortment of bathroom toiletries.

The bed is probably the firmest that I have ever slept on without being uncomfortable. I have had back issues, so I'd much rather be firm than soft, so I didn't mind at all. Some people might not like it, but it is not lumpy - it is just really firm.

Breakfast is a good buffet, with made to order eggs and omelets and bacon. There is fresh fruit, pastries, yoghurt, cereals, juices, and coffee and tea. The dining area is sufficient for the need, never needing to search out an empty table.

The hotel can get you to and from the airport, which is probably the way to go - especially when you are first coming into the country. You won't have to change money, simply look for the uniformed driver holding the Eka Hotel sign with your name, and go to the hotel. I think the cost is $20 for the ride. Not as cheap as you can get if you know what you're doing with negotiating the cost (try for 1500 kes) but it is much less energy expended!

There is a small gift shop, and another restaurant that is kind of like a Chili's (if you know US brands). The bar isn't much, but you can get a cold Tusker and whatever else you are thirsty for, just don't expect a lounge environment.

The staff is tremendous and very helpful. I have my next trip already booked to return here. So, how does it compare to its neighbors? It is not as posh as the Ole Sereni, but definitely no where near as expensive, and it's also not as expensive as the Panari, but in my opinion far, far nicer.

So what's it like? Think of a Hampton Inn, with a really great breakfast, and a full kitchen, and you probably have it! It's all I need for a transit hotel.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the door near the elevators. That can be a bit loud. Also, the rooms on most l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Joesindorf,

Many thanks for your email and we are happy to know that you had a great stay at Eka hotel. We appreciate your outline of Eka and hope to be of service to you in your next trip.

With best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Stayed in the Eka hotel as a stopover for 18hrs or so as I was part of a flight crew.

I don't know how long this hotel has been here but it looks fairly new! It's clean, tidy, good size shower/bathroom area. Comfortable large bed. As people have said its close to the Main airport also close to Wilson Airport where most of the flights go from it flying onto a safari.

I didn't eat at the hotel but all looked very good, and also a 'Spurrs' restaurant on site.

Sadly the pool area was out of action as they were at the time doing a bit of re-ferb to slabs around the pool area. Defiantly could stay here as a base for a few night IF the pool wasn't out of action!
I would chose this over the Panari Hotel down the road!(I've also reviewed!)

Room Tip: Try and face away from main road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Neil,

Thank you for your review of Eka Hotel. Its nice to know you enjoyed your stay in during your business trip and it will be our pleasure to host you once again and your friends at Eka hotel.

With best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Stayed here on a stopover to Uganda. Very easy to get to from Jomo Kenyatta airport. About 15 mins on the road. Stayed for one night - rooms were clean, food good and check in and check out a breeze. As it's not in the city it's an easy commute as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Gareth E,

Many thanks for your email and we are happy to know you had a fruitful stay at Eka hotel. We appreciate your outline of Eka and hope will give us another opportunity of service to you and friends In the near future.

With best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stayed for one night before beginning of safari holiday. Hotel is located about a 15-20min drive from the airport on the main route from airport to city.. Its not in the city at all, which i think is a bonus as it would any central city traffic snarls. Room was spacious, clean and appointed with all the things you basically need. No real view to speak of but we did arrive at 9pm and were gone by 7am so it wasn't important anyway. As others have noted in other reviews the place can be noisy.. as in you hear other room doors opening and closing, and given its used frequently for travellers like ourselves, its quite possible you will hear other persons enter / exit their rooms throughout night/early morning.. Its what it is, deal with it. Worth noting is that there is also a tex mex type restaurant attached to the hotel so if you arrived at night like we did it served perfectly acceptable food for a quick meal before going to bed.. Would recommend, and stay there again, if i had to do a similar trip..

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Xmy,

We highly appreciate your choice to stay at Eka hotel and wish for another opportunity of service to you and friends.

With best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Eka Hotel Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eka Hotel Nairobi

Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 27695 - 00506, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eka Hotel Nairobi 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eka Hotel a Nairobi hotel is ideally located along Mombasa Road in Nairobi the capital city of Kenya. It is situated minutes away from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, 5km from Wilson Airport and 5km from the bustling central business district. If you are looking for safari hotels, Eka Hotel is within easy access to the city’s many attractions and entertainment venues which make Eka Hotel an ideal safari accommodation hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Eka Hotel Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eka Hotel Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.