We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient transit hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eka Hotel Nairobi

Save Saved
You added Eka Hotel Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Eka Hotel Nairobi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mombasa Road, Nairobi 27695 - 00506, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 101 hotels in Nairobi
Barcelona
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very convenient transit hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

It was a good relaxing place in the chaos of Nairobi. Although the staff was a little bit inconsistent when providing information (sent to the bathroom when asking for the front desk, sent to the wrong room elevator, advised breakfast started at 7:00 when in fact it was available at 5:30), the few hours that we spent at Eka were nice. Even the hamburger place was terrific for a nice meal with my son. The only down point is that even though it is very close to the airport, traffic in Nairobi is crazy and the airport, now working from provisional tents after the fire, is very unorganized!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    65
    93
    31
    10
    5
See reviews for
26
45
18
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I was on a business trip and stayed at this beautiful hotel. Service was just great (especially room service). The staff - very polite and ready to help.
Conference facilities were also at a very high level. Thanks a lot for everything!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel overnight as we were leaving for a safari the next day. This hotel is located around a 15 minute drive from Jomo Kenyatta airport (assuming no traffic).

The room was sufficient with hard wood floors and was clean. The beds were a bit hard but acceptable. The internet connetion was very intermittent which was frustrating. The doors to the hallway are very thin and we were awakened at 7am by the cleaning staff who knocked on our door to see if we wanted our room cleaned. Granted, we could have put our 'do not disturb' sign on the door, but 7 am is too early for cleaning staff to be knocking on doors, especially at a transit hotel. We tried to fall back asleep but could hear the cleaning staff making up the room across the way, including rustling of garbage bags, sweeping, moving things around, etc. We didn't get a good sleep at this hotel.

Room service (fajitas) from the steakhouse was adequate and the breakfast buffet was good. Lattes were available at breakfast upon request.

We requested a taxi at the front desk to Wilson airport and were quoted a price was twice as high as it should have been (US$20 per person). Upon a bit of questioning of the staff (we paid 1600 schillings the night before from Jomo Kenyatta and knew that Wilson was closer), the rate quickly dropped by 50%. A member of the staff drove us to the airport. Overall, our stay here was sufficient but was not without problems. I would stay here again if necessary, but only for a brief overnight transit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

On a one day trip to Nairobi and was booked into this hotel by a friend - coming into the reception area one immediately sees its classy. A modern amenity with friendly staff. Wi-fi was a much welcomed bonus as was the amount of coffee sachets in the room.

What was good is the proximity to the airport.

Room Tip: the rooms overlooking the pool area is a definite must
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Our tour operator booked us a day room at Eka hotel on our return from our safari. Our vehicle was subjected to a security check on the way in which was very quick. The staff at reception and the porters were friendly and helpful. The room itself was clean and bright. The toilet and shower were modern and spacious. The bed was comfortable and the furnishing was all very tasteful. There was a bit of noise, at one point hoovering directly outside our room did wake me up when I was taking a nap but I accepted it was the middle of the day. We went to the Spur restaurant early evening and found it to have good food. When we had returned to our room someone had obviously been in to tidy the bed and the towels, I'm not sure of the point since we were due to leave about an hour later. The view over the car park and building site were not the best but we weren't sure there were any better alternatives given the area. It was very convenient for the airport which was not far away at all. Good facilities too and was we were able to use the free wi-fi.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Safe, clean business-style rooms (not a resort) with free internet. Great food in the restaurant. Staff are very well trained and helpful. I can not comment on value as Kenya Airways (1.5 hours late so missed connection) paid for my stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Lynda,
Thank you for staying at Eka Hotel and for appreciating the hospitality received.

We hope that you will choose to stay with us again on your next visit to Nairobi.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I found the location of this hotel really convenient for the airport and with business meetings in the area. Traffic is an issue and you are only 30 minutes from the airport (that 4kms Nairobi time) and about an hour (6 kms rush hour time ) from the city center.
The rooms are really just average and while the lack for nothing they are really aimed at the business visitor. Bar fridge, coffee maker and bottled water supplied.
The beds are REALLY hard and could be considered uncomfortable .There is nothing to do in the area and you are not able to go for a walk or capture some local flavor.
The on-site restaurant is a tad expensive but once again it is well presented and convenient. A Spur steakhouse is also on site for a lesser price less fancy meal or just a drink.
Pool area is small but great and there is a basic gym onsite.
I will probably stay here again on my next trips

Room Tip: Tip - the beer is cheaper at the spur restaurant and they have hidden a nice pub upstairs..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Seahorse,
We appreciate your visit to Eka Hotel.

On your next visit to Nairobi, I would advise you to start out early on your journey so that you are not caught up with the Traffic Jam. In addition, kindly do request for our concierge team to advise you on what activities you can do around Eka Hotel, for example the National park is just minutes away, and also you can enjoy buying some african souvenirs at the Maasai market that is hosted less that 5 minutes from the hotel and much more that you can be advised.

All in all, thank you for Choosing Eka Hotel for your next Visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eka Hotel Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eka Hotel Nairobi

Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 27695 - 00506, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 101 hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eka Hotel Nairobi 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eka Hotel a Nairobi hotel is ideally located along Mombasa Road in Nairobi the capital city of Kenya. It is situated minutes away from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, 5km from Wilson Airport and 5km from the bustling central business district. If you are looking for safari hotels, Eka Hotel is within easy access to the city’s many attractions and entertainment venues which make Eka Hotel an ideal safari accommodation hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Eka Hotel Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eka Hotel Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.