We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay transit hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Eka Hotel Nairobi

Save Saved
You added Eka Hotel Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Eka Hotel Nairobi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mombasa Road, Nairobi 27695 - 00506, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Easter Offer! 6% Discount
Ranked #19 of 92 hotels in Nairobi
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Okay transit hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel overnight as we were leaving for a safari the next day. This hotel is located around a 15 minute drive from Jomo Kenyatta airport (assuming no traffic).

The room was sufficient with hard wood floors and was clean. The beds were a bit hard but acceptable. The internet connetion was very intermittent which was frustrating. The doors to the hallway are very thin and we were awakened at 7am by the cleaning staff who knocked on our door to see if we wanted our room cleaned. Granted, we could have put our 'do not disturb' sign on the door, but 7 am is too early for cleaning staff to be knocking on doors, especially at a transit hotel. We tried to fall back asleep but could hear the cleaning staff making up the room across the way, including rustling of garbage bags, sweeping, moving things around, etc. We didn't get a good sleep at this hotel.

Room service (fajitas) from the steakhouse was adequate and the breakfast buffet was good. Lattes were available at breakfast upon request.

We requested a taxi at the front desk to Wilson airport and were quoted a price was twice as high as it should have been (US$20 per person). Upon a bit of questioning of the staff (we paid 1600 schillings the night before from Jomo Kenyatta and knew that Wilson was closer), the rate quickly dropped by 50%. A member of the staff drove us to the airport. Overall, our stay here was sufficient but was not without problems. I would stay here again if necessary, but only for a brief overnight transit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    73
    19
    8
    4
See reviews for
18
34
12
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

On a one day trip to Nairobi and was booked into this hotel by a friend - coming into the reception area one immediately sees its classy. A modern amenity with friendly staff. Wi-fi was a much welcomed bonus as was the amount of coffee sachets in the room.

What was good is the proximity to the airport.

Room Tip: the rooms overlooking the pool area is a definite must
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Our tour operator booked us a day room at Eka hotel on our return from our safari. Our vehicle was subjected to a security check on the way in which was very quick. The staff at reception and the porters were friendly and helpful. The room itself was clean and bright. The toilet and shower were modern and spacious. The bed was comfortable and the furnishing was all very tasteful. There was a bit of noise, at one point hoovering directly outside our room did wake me up when I was taking a nap but I accepted it was the middle of the day. We went to the Spur restaurant early evening and found it to have good food. When we had returned to our room someone had obviously been in to tidy the bed and the towels, I'm not sure of the point since we were due to leave about an hour later. The view over the car park and building site were not the best but we weren't sure there were any better alternatives given the area. It was very convenient for the airport which was not far away at all. Good facilities too and was we were able to use the free wi-fi.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Safe, clean business-style rooms (not a resort) with free internet. Great food in the restaurant. Staff are very well trained and helpful. I can not comment on value as Kenya Airways (1.5 hours late so missed connection) paid for my stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Lynda,
Thank you for staying at Eka Hotel and for appreciating the hospitality received.

We hope that you will choose to stay with us again on your next visit to Nairobi.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I found the location of this hotel really convenient for the airport and with business meetings in the area. Traffic is an issue and you are only 30 minutes from the airport (that 4kms Nairobi time) and about an hour (6 kms rush hour time ) from the city center.
The rooms are really just average and while the lack for nothing they are really aimed at the business visitor. Bar fridge, coffee maker and bottled water supplied.
The beds are REALLY hard and could be considered uncomfortable .There is nothing to do in the area and you are not able to go for a walk or capture some local flavor.
The on-site restaurant is a tad expensive but once again it is well presented and convenient. A Spur steakhouse is also on site for a lesser price less fancy meal or just a drink.
Pool area is small but great and there is a basic gym onsite.
I will probably stay here again on my next trips

Room Tip: Tip - the beer is cheaper at the spur restaurant and they have hidden a nice pub upstairs..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Seahorse,
We appreciate your visit to Eka Hotel.

On your next visit to Nairobi, I would advise you to start out early on your journey so that you are not caught up with the Traffic Jam. In addition, kindly do request for our concierge team to advise you on what activities you can do around Eka Hotel, for example the National park is just minutes away, and also you can enjoy buying some african souvenirs at the Maasai market that is hosted less that 5 minutes from the hotel and much more that you can be advised.

All in all, thank you for Choosing Eka Hotel for your next Visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Very nice modern hotel that is located close-by the Nairobi Airport. And, if you know Nairobi, you know how important that is. The rooms are modern and clean and have a fantastic rainfall shower. The bed is hard, but typical of every hotel I have ever stayed at in Kenya. The food is good, but not great. Recommend highly for Nairobi.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Kirk,
Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your stay with us and hope that you will visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

The hotel looks pretty nice from the outside. It's conveniently located for the international traveller being pretty close to the airport - although we only experienced one, we're told that Nairobi's traffic jams can be formidable.

Security check of our vehicle on the way in were thorough but swift. Our check-in was smooth; I wondered why Nairobi hotels all had metal detectors when no one seems to use them.
The decor is sort of minimalist-modern but definitely not unattractive. Rooms were clean and smartly appointed. Gave the hotel top marks for including broadband internet access with the cost of accommodation; I have never been able to figure out why hotels in this price range insist on annoying guests will silly charges for something which has become a very basic expectation.

Beds were comfortable. Toilet and shower design are such that it's best that these rooms are shared by people who are really into each other!

We chose to have dinner at the Spur Restuarant which is a good choice for meat-lovers like us. The huge black mark against the Spur Restuarant was their absolutely absurd attempt at deceit - I had requested a wine which was not too dry, the waiter brought me some vile saccharine concoction which was very obviously some fruit juice with a dramatically high sugar content.
I'm no wine connoisseur and it's clear that this person is accustomed to serving client's who're not wine-tasting experts but this was so fraudulent as to be shocking.
I insisted that they replace the fakery with something that resembled real wine.

Breakfast at the Galaxy Restaurant was very good in selection and preparation.

Checkout was efficient.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Deji,
Thank you for visiting Eka Hotel.

I see that you also shared some photos as you appreciated the ambiance and the services that we provided to you.

We apologize for the experience that you had at the spurs restaurant.

However, I am happy to know that the Galaxy Restaurant complemented your stay at Eka Hotel.

We hope that you will visit us again soon. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Eka Hotel Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eka Hotel Nairobi

Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 27695 - 00506, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 92 hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eka Hotel Nairobi 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eka Hotel a Nairobi hotel is ideally located along Mombasa Road in Nairobi the capital city of Kenya. It is situated minutes away from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, 5km from Wilson Airport and 5km from the bustling central business district. If you are looking for safari hotels, Eka Hotel is within easy access to the city’s many attractions and entertainment venues which make Eka Hotel an ideal safari accommodation hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Venere, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Eka Hotel Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eka Hotel Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.