We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WONDERFUL property, 10 minutes from Airport” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eka Hotel Nairobi

Save Saved
You added Eka Hotel Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Eka Hotel Nairobi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mombasa Road, Nairobi 27695 - 00506, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Farmington, USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL property, 10 minutes from Airport”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

As many of the readers do realize Nairobi is not a cheap city. It was really surprising to our family that hotels were asking for a price that you see in "big cities" in the US, Germany and France. Then I asked around and came across EKA hotel. This property is just next to 2 other airport hotels that asked for over $250 a night. Since we were returning back from Mombasa and needed the rooms for only 8 to 10 hours $250 a night was VERY expensive for us. We asked EKA and they were able to offer a day use room rate- which we are really greatful for.

Upon checking in staff was extremely courteous and obliging. They went out of the way to help our family. The hotel also has a wonderful restaurant and a swimming pool. The excercise room was a great surprise and helped us a lot. My wife and I ran for some time and that helped with overseas flights (meaning we got tired). f

One thing I would point out is NOT to get the hotel taxi. They try to charge $20 per person as transfer fees but you can easily get a taxi for less than $15 each way directly outside the airport.

Overall, we were very impressed with this property.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear World_Trvlr1021,
Its great to see your review on Eka hotel in spite of the brief stay. We look forward to another opportunity of service to you and friends in the near future.

Please feel free to recommend our services to any of your colleagues and friends.

With best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    90
    25
    9
    5
See reviews for
24
44
14
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
oakton virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Our family of 7 needed a hotel near the airport. This was an excellent choice. Very nice rooms, lots of security which is needed in and around Nairobi and the food was excellent, not your usual hotel fare. Highly recommend this hotel. Ann and family from Washington D.C. June 2013

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Theatrelady,
Thank you for staying at Eka Hotel Nairobi. We are glad that you valued us, as excellent and for appreciating our amenities and service.

We hope that you will visit us again and please do signup from our website for rate discounts if you are a regular frequent visitor.

We too loved your visit and stay. Do visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I was disappointed with the EKA. Very modern hotel, but a hotel you could find in any large city. Food and rooms were average. Beds were very hard. Biggest issue I had was that we left our room locked and came back to find the door wide open--fortunately nothing was taken. The workout room and pool were very nice. We did feel very secure in Nairobi!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Sir
We appreciate your stay with us and are happy that you enjoyed our Gymnasium and pool.

In your future stay with us, should you have any issues or problems, kindly request that you speak with the supervisor who will assist in the best way possible.

Thank you for visiting and we welcome your stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

At the beginning of a two week trip to Kenya, we found the Eka Hotel to be just what we were looking for upon our evening arrival at Kenyatta airport -- close to airport, modern facilities, easy to book, comfortable beds after a long journey, excellent breakfast. A great place to stop over coming or going from the airport.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Maureen,
Thank you for staying with us and for valuing the comfort and convenience that you experienced while visiting Eka Hotel Nairobi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night after 5 days on safari while waiting for the plane to Zanzibar.

On the positive side:
- the reception was kind enough to let us keep the room until the airport pick-up.This was something we did not expect and I loved that flexibility.

- the porter was by himself an A+++++. He wrapped up my newly bought wooden giraffe and gave me tips on how to polish it later on. He made sure to go above and beyond for our whole stay.

Unfortunately there are a few more negative points to mention.

- the waiters were not very service minded at all. One of them were smiling and service minded at lunch. However, we forgot to tip him at lunch and that smile was gone by dinner, perhaps because of the lack of tips. Needless to say, we didn't feel like tipping him anymore. We just ate our meals quickly and tried to be out of the restaurant as soon as possible.

- the rooms: don't be shy about toilet habits in this hotel. There is no bathroom door and only thing that separates you from the rest of the room is a glas shower door. This hotel was not designed for actual guests, but just designed to be I don't know, a weird sort of modern.

- the bed is a bit too firm for my liking, but this is not a huge problem.

-food: the buffet provides less choices than the lodges we stayed at earlier. The food was not impressive and a lot of it felt dry. They served some meatballs that i really liked, but that was it. In addition this was a really expensive dinner and not worth the sky hight price they charged us for it.

- breakfast was ok enough, but we had more options at the lodges and it was just a bit boring really.

We will make sure to stay at another hotel if we come back to Nairobi again.

the room was booked through a travel agent so I don't know how much they paid for the room.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying at Eka Hotel.

We are pleased to know that we made your stay comfortable while waiting for your
airport pickup. In addition to that, thank you for appreciating the hospitality received from our concierge team(porter).

We are sorry for the negative points mentioned and we will strive to improve the quality of food and accommodation to satisfy your standards during your future stay.

We appreciate you reviews and thank you for visiting us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Service was excellent and staff was very friendly, rooms are spacious and beds were very good. We had 5 rooms and had both types of rooms, double beds and king size. Breakfast was excellent. Only partial downside is that Wifi doesn't work properly in the rooms sometimes.
Also, if you are traveling with young children, the bathroom can show you a bit more than required, so be warned.
Eka hotel is also quite a far away from downtown Nairobi which is both good and bad. Good in a way that it is more peaceful. However, traveling to downtown can be a pain. It can take anything between 30 and 90 minutes for this 7 kilometer trip because of the traffic.
It was also very close to the airport and that is a big help as you do not have to worry about getting stuck in traffic and missing your flight.
I'm glad to recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Nairobi. Very nice experience!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. Designed to exact specs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Ashith Patel,
We thank you and value the feedback on Eka Hotel rooms and how you found the amenities specious.

About travelling with children we encourage guest to book Interconnecting rooms where children can enjoy their own separated rain showers away from the parents. While their parents will have their own room. Both rooms have interconnecting doors to each room.

While staying with us, it can help when you liases with our concierge team to advise you what hours are good to get ahead-start from the traffic as at times the highway can be busy making it slow to get to a destination.

Last, Eka hotel is close to the airport making it convenient enough not to miss any flight.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This hotel is nice if you want a modern hotel thats near the airport - which is exactly what we were looking for. The breakfast buffet was good too, in addition to the normal fruit and breads and stuff, they had a guy making fresh omelets. Its like a 10 min ride from the airport, which was perfect for us. They also give a lot of free water, and there is a mini fridge so you can keep your water cold. Rooms were pretty modern with 32" flat panel TVs, and free wi-fi reception in the rooms. It cost a little more than what I planned on spending (it was $190 a night) but I think thats because my travel agent had to get a cut as well, but realistically speaking after the free breakast and the money saved on taxi fares (since it was so close to the hotel) it really was not that expensive. But you can probably get a better rate if you book directly yourself.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Rakesh
Thank you very much for staying with us.

We really appreciate you taking time to write a feedback and for complimenting the staff who work hard to make all the guests have a comfortable stay at Eka Hotel.

Our amenities have been made so that guests can be entertained and feel at home while staying with us.

Feel free to contact us whenever you want to make a booking and share with your friends the experience you got at Eka Hotel. Next time you want to come Just skype us at (ekahotel) and we will make arragements for your stay at Eka Hotel.

Looking forward to seeing you again at Eka Hotel Nairobi!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Eka Hotel Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eka Hotel Nairobi

Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 27695 - 00506, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eka Hotel Nairobi 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eka Hotel a Nairobi hotel is ideally located along Mombasa Road in Nairobi the capital city of Kenya. It is situated minutes away from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, 5km from Wilson Airport and 5km from the bustling central business district. If you are looking for safari hotels, Eka Hotel is within easy access to the city’s many attractions and entertainment venues which make Eka Hotel an ideal safari accommodation hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Eka Hotel Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eka Hotel Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.