We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“End of safari stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eka Hotel Nairobi

Save Saved
You added Eka Hotel Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Eka Hotel Nairobi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mombasa Road, Nairobi 27695 - 00506, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 102 hotels in Nairobi
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“End of safari stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We had a day room here at the end of our safari before a late night flight. We had a pre-paid lunch which was delicious, and a very relaxing drink at the bar. This is a very modern hotel fairly close to the airport, excellent staff and free Wifi. We only spent 6 hours here but it was a pleasant stay.
Booked through Real Africa in UK

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Chris,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and appreciating the hospitality
and cuisine experienced. Although you had a short stay, we invite you to
visit us again soon. I hope your next stay will be a long memorable stay.
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    99
    31
    11
    6
See reviews for
27
46
19
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Nice and safe property. Rooms are clean and Beds are comfortable. Good breakfast and pool area, but the gym is poor. Expect to pay A LOT of money to eat at this place. Since you are away from anything, you have to eat at this hotel and they got you! Another draw back is the internet which is unreliable. It seems to work better in the middle of the night. But in the day time, good luck.

My room also overlooked a construction area next to the hotel which was noisy.

Although it is a nice hotel, I gave it only 3 stars because of the lack of internet, noise and expensive food options.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Worldburn,
Many thanks for your positive feedback which we sincerely appreciate.
In respect to your experience, please note our internet services are also being affected by the on-going road expansion construction, which is temporary. In addition, we are upgrading to ensure excellent coverage and speed.

Your feedback is of great value to enhancing our services and we look forward to hosting you and your friends next time in Nairobi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We spent two nights there with 10 days in between. Very friendly staff both at the door and at reception area. Waiters are knowledgeable and efficient. Good quality food at the restaurant. There is a nice pool area outside with what seemed to be sufficient space and deck-chairs. Hotel security checks every vehicle entering through main gate. Hotel is located 10 minutes away from airport which is convenient. Can be recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms towards pool area are more shielded from traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear NorwayPer,
Greetings from Eka Hotel Nairobi. Thank you for choosing to stay with us over your Nairobi visit. We appreciate your comments on our staff, cuisine, ambiance and security.

We assure you on our commitment to enhance our guest's experience and look forward to hosting you and your friends next time you are in Nairobi.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NAIROBI
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

EKA HOTEL has been my preference for all my clients on their last night in Kenya. i love the convenience since am totaly sure they cant miss their flight not to forget their hospitality to my clients.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Joseph,
Thanks for your great support which we greatly appreciate. We look forward to an opportunity of meeting you next time at Eka Hotel.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

I spent six nights in Eka hotel on business trip in Nairobi. Service was excellent and staff very friendly, rooms are spacious and beds very good king size. Breakfast and dinner were great. Only downsides are that Wifi doesn't work properly in rooms, but luckily there was a wired option as well that I could use with my laptop. Eka-hotel is also quite a far away from downtown Nairobi which is both good and bad. Good in a way that air is much cleaner here and the area is more peaceful. However, commuting to downtown in mornings and back in the afternoon might be a pain. It can take anything between 30 and 90 minutes for this 7 kilometer trip because of the traffic.
I'm glad to recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Nairobi. Very nice experience!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Lari,
Thank you for sharing your Eka Hotel experience and great recommendation which we sincerely appreciate.

Kindly note we are working on plans to upgrade the wireless internet connection so that our guests can enjoy both options of internet wireless and LAN connectivity seamlessly.

We all look forward to hosting you and friends at Eka Hotel next time in Nairobi.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutherville, Maryland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I booked on line because I need to be close to the airport and I never received a response to the inquiry I sent through the hotel's website (they still have not replied... and it is over one week ago that I wrote). There is no airport shuttle / dedicated taxi service from Jomo Kenyatta Int'l Airport, which is unfortunate. The taxi ride to the hotel was only about 12-15 mins (starting at 2130 hrs) but was Ks 1,800 (booked inside the airport, not curbside). The hotel had my reservation in the system and the room was clean, the mattress nice and firm and the wi-fi connection in the room was good (but spotty in the restaurant). There are two restaurants - one is open until 2200 hrs and is "asian fusion" and the other is open until 2300 hrs and is burgers, pizza, etc. I chose the latter, given the hour. Food was, meh, but the beer was cold and the service was very friendly. Check out the next day at 0600 was a breeze (payment in advance).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Matt,
We apologize for that delay that happened while you tried to book with us. Kindly accept our invitation to contact us for a discounted airport shuttle the next time you are in town.

Other than that I see that you had a nice stay at Eka Hotel and we do hope that you will visit again soon

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Was amazing. The room was huge and clean with great features. The room service was prompt and paid attention to detail. The food was great and the wine selection was pretty good.
I genuinely loved it!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Elenor,
From the entire team of Eka Hotel we appreciate your comment
and invite you to visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eka Hotel Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eka Hotel Nairobi

Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 27695 - 00506, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 102 hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eka Hotel Nairobi 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eka Hotel a Nairobi hotel is ideally located along Mombasa Road in Nairobi the capital city of Kenya. It is situated minutes away from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, 5km from Wilson Airport and 5km from the bustling central business district. If you are looking for safari hotels, Eka Hotel is within easy access to the city’s many attractions and entertainment venues which make Eka Hotel an ideal safari accommodation hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Eka Hotel Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eka Hotel Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.