We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EKA Experience in Nairobi” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Eka Hotel Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Eka Hotel Nairobi to your Saves list
Eka Hotel Nairobi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mombasa Road, Nairobi 27695 - 00506, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 129 Hotels in Nairobi
Lahore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“EKA Experience in Nairobi”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I stayed this time in Eka Hotel in Nairobi is good to stay out of town near airport - away from traffic jam, I found this an average hotel. reasonably good for short stay, It is a new compact hotel. can be second good option on the Mombasa road. Breakfast variety is good

Room Tip: rooms in the mod of Corridor are more quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    171
    45
    17
    9
See reviews for
42
70
26
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Khartoum, Sudan
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed at Eka hotel in April 2013 after Kenya Airways messed up our flight booking, which meant we had 14 hours to kill. If you are looking for a pillow and a bed, this is fine, but it certainly doesn't rate as one of the best hotels I've ever stayed in. Although we booked through booking.com, the staff were unaware of our arrival. Apparently the emails go to the office, which is closed on weekends?? We did finally get a room, however.

Our room was reasonably spacious, with only a shower, no bath. There were coffee/ tea-making facilities, but only one cup. The duvet cover had some strange faded red marks on it, but as the sheets were clean and we were tired we decided to ignore it. There was one bathrobe in the cupboard, again it seems as if the room was set up for one person.

The next morning we found out only after breakfast that there is a surcharge for breakfast, Kenyan shillings 2500 per person. We were not informed of this before. There are other hotels near the airport that do provide breakfast and a free airport transfer. This hotel wanted $20 per person for an airport transfer, but if you can arrange with a taxi prior to staying at the hotel, you will pay less than $10 for 2 people. 10min drive to airport when weekend traffic.

This hotel is a bit of a rip off.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

New Hotel close to the Airport. In case your business is around Industrial area and not in Nairobi city you would save time in traveling. It is sometime a nightmare to Travel to city centre. Most part of the day traffic jam is quite common. Hotel is quite new - hence the facilities are in good shape be at furniture in rooms , sofa sets in lobby etc. Buffet breakfast is excellent with wide choice. You may enjoy evening sitting on balcony on the first floor of the restaurant with your drink and grilled food including steaks. However choice of vegetarian dishes is limited.
Internet speed in rooms is not satisfactory but you can access in lobby area where a business room i room rates are on the higher side. In summary a good hotel to stay on business trip not requiring travel to city business centre..

Room Tip: Look for rooms opening towards national park and not towards Mombasa road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I had an amazing time with my boyfriend during the Easter holiday and the reception was very welcoming. The cooks are amazing and i especially loved their buffet for the four days. The environment is serene and calm and also spot on. It is a nice environment to take the children and also a loved one. I thought the pool was small but its centrally located to suite all the guests. It had an amazing time and i would go back anytime.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Hotels in Kenya are expensive and Eka Hotel is not different. But this new hotel can offer you the confort, cleaness and amenities you want.
Close to the airport, which is important if you want to be away from the heavy traffic of Nairobi.
The bad thing that there is nothing to do around the hotel. Just the Spurr Tex-Mex style restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level Contributor
72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I booked a room at this very modern Hotel because it appeared the closest to the Airport and we would only use it for some nine hours between our flight from Malindi and then on to London.I was not dissapointed. Very good security, excellent luggage handling and quiet peacful rooms for a decent sleep made this hotel a good choice. The relaxed friendly and excellent food served at the bar area was an added bonus.Very clean and well equipped rooms.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

If you want to stay near the airport your first or last day in Nairobi, Eka is a very good choice. It's not cheap, but it's good standard. Our visit was short, so the review can't be very detailed, but we have no complaints.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
The Panari Hotel
#39 of 129 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 224 reviews
The Boma Nairobi
#4 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
67 Airport Hotel
#24 of 129 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 56 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
#23 of 129 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 366 reviews
House of Waine
#1 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eka Hotel Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eka Hotel Nairobi

Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 27695 - 00506, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 129 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eka Hotel Nairobi 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eka Hotel a Nairobi hotel is ideally located along Mombasa Road in Nairobi the capital city of Kenya. It is situated minutes away from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, 5km from Wilson Airport and 5km from the bustling central business district. If you are looking for safari hotels, Eka Hotel is within easy access to the city’s many attractions and entertainment venues which make Eka Hotel an ideal safari accommodation hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Eka Hotel Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eka Hotel Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.