We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good modern Hotel near Airport.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eka Hotel Nairobi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Eka Hotel Nairobi to your Saves list
Eka Hotel Nairobi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mombasa Road, Nairobi 27695 - 00506, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
Suffolk
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good modern Hotel near Airport.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I booked a room at this very modern Hotel because it appeared the closest to the Airport and we would only use it for some nine hours between our flight from Malindi and then on to London.I was not dissapointed. Very good security, excellent luggage handling and quiet peacful rooms for a decent sleep made this hotel a good choice. The relaxed friendly and excellent food served at the bar area was an added bonus.Very clean and well equipped rooms.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    126
    36
    13
    6
See reviews for
31
54
23
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

If you want to stay near the airport your first or last day in Nairobi, Eka is a very good choice. It's not cheap, but it's good standard. Our visit was short, so the review can't be very detailed, but we have no complaints.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa, Coast, Kenya
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Was not a resident of this hotel,but merely stopped by for breakfast on my way from Nairobi's Jomo Kenyatta International airport after landing with the early morning flight.It was recommened by my taxi driver after my enquiry of a suitable restaurant for breakfast.The hotel served an excellent buffet breakfast with very good variety.service was first class.The only negative was that the bar did not have my brand of cigerrates(dunhill) which is a common brand in Nairobi.The barman just shrugged off that "it was there but stock finished".It was sad that an excellent hotel with excellent hotel with clean and excellent ambiance could have a sloppy inventory top up policy.Otherwise the meal and service was excellent and I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Was here and its just beautiful. the food is wow...the staff are wonderful and its near the road. This is a superior 4 star even if they just rate themselves 4*. Its near the airport trust me...its the best for your 1st night or last night in nairobi. You will not drive long to the airport.

Room Tip: Get a suite at once!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Nebraska
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The Eka is more than half way between the airport and down town Nairobi. The location is good as a jumping off point to visit parks. The Nairobi traffic is terrible so if you can avoid going through the city during the week do so. We arrived on a Saturday night and then toured the Nairobi sites on Sunday which was perfect. The hotel is new so the rooms are very nice. The staff, especially the food cooks and the cleaning staff, were extremely friendly and helpful. There is free WiFi, just get the password at the front desk. There's a nice pool and very small landscaped area surrounded by a wall. The surrounding area has a lot of construction but there wasn't any noise. There is also a small workout room with three machines overlooking the pool. Excellent security. Not only are all vehicles inspected and signed in, there was a security officer patroling the faciltiy. The food was good, buffet style. We also ate in there restaurant with an American Indian Theme. The food was excellent. Hambergers, chicken and mexican was all very good. The only issue we had was with our room key, which seemed to deprogram easily and our request to get a hair dryer sent to the room. It took three requests for it to finally arrive. Since we were starting and ending our two week Kenya trip at he Eka, we were able to leave a bag at the hotel with our winter clothes. I'd reccomend staying here for it's location and newness. As a side note, if you're a birder and want to get an early start on your species list, you can bird right over the back wall which looks out over an empty lot and a small pond. We identified 25 different species of birds before breakfast!!!

Room Tip: All rooms seemed to be quiet and convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We had a good dinner time at the hotel. When i called to make a reservation, the phones were promptly picked and we appreciate the assistance in getting the reservation. Eva thanks for the assistance. I think, as admitted by one of your staff, you received too many guests than expected and this brought about confusion. The sitting arrangement could be better esp. during a valentines dinner. Sitting facing each other with a table in between creates a distance and it doesn't feel like a conducive environment for bonding not to mention the uncomfortable seats. Food ran out at some time. Your parking lot leaves a lot to be desired. Please make plans to build extra parking as oppposed to parking cars by the roadside. Other than this, it's a good place and will visit your pub.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Very convenient hotel near de airport, ideal for late arrivals like mine or mid night departures. This is a fairly new hotel, excellent customer service, eager to please you. Wifi is free but slow and disconnets frequently. My room a two twin beds was toward the small size and if you share the room as I did, space is limited and so is privacy since shower and toilet rooms have glass dividers and are incorporated in the room.

Food at the restaurant is very good, in my case a buffet dinner cost US$ 35 without drink or tip.

As in all Kenya, the best is their people.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eka Hotel Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eka Hotel Nairobi

Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 27695 - 00506, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eka Hotel Nairobi 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eka Hotel a Nairobi hotel is ideally located along Mombasa Road in Nairobi the capital city of Kenya. It is situated minutes away from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, 5km from Wilson Airport and 5km from the bustling central business district. If you are looking for safari hotels, Eka Hotel is within easy access to the city’s many attractions and entertainment venues which make Eka Hotel an ideal safari accommodation hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Eka Hotel Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eka Hotel Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.