We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eka Hotel Nairobi

Save Saved
You added Eka Hotel Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Eka Hotel Nairobi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mombasa Road, Nairobi 27695 - 00506, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 102 Hotels in Nairobi
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Very convenient hotel near de airport, ideal for late arrivals like mine or mid night departures. This is a fairly new hotel, excellent customer service, eager to please you. Wifi is free but slow and disconnets frequently. My room a two twin beds was toward the small size and if you share the room as I did, space is limited and so is privacy since shower and toilet rooms have glass dividers and are incorporated in the room.

Food at the restaurant is very good, in my case a buffet dinner cost US$ 35 without drink or tip.

As in all Kenya, the best is their people.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    101
    31
    11
    6
See reviews for
27
46
20
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

First time staying here. On arrival, security seemed very adequate. Lobby is very well appointed and clean as are the rooms.Staff was very friendly. Hotel seems to be fairly new as the rooms are fairly modern looking and the air conditioning worked so well that I had to turn it off. Didn't have the opportunity to try out the restaurant but heard good things from other guests. For an airport hotel, this one is definitely worth staying at again. I would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This is hotel is less than ten minutes drive from the international airport, very modern, nicely furnished and clean though pricey but probably reasonable for Nairobi it seems! Free wifi with good connection, decent TV and channels, comfortable bed and shower and good room service (good beef served by Spur). They put me on the ground floor so views weren't that great. Very secure hotel which provides peace of mind to those concerned.

Room Tip: Airport shuttle is 20 USD, but book well in advance. Cheaper than getting taxi. Get a room above the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Close to air port and relaxing hotel. Staff were very friendly and management were obviously pushing the customer service. However room service was extremely slow even just getting someone to fix our air con. There is a spurs steak house connected to hotel which was fine to eat at. No real complaints. Rooms were nice, bed was comfy, I stayed at the Hilton in the city when arriving and eka goral is an absolute palace compared to the Hilton.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostend, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

What a refreshing change here in Nairobi to stay at a hotel as good as this one.
Just up the road two minutes from the Panari Hotel where I normally stay, this one is fantastic !
And only 15 minutes from the airport.
Clean tidy and fresh . (Well it is fairly new)
Bedrooms are excellent, very comfortable with all the extras tea, coffee ect. All rooms are on smoking, but you have a little balcony that you can step out on to. Which I prefer anyway.
The staff are great that I dealt with tonight, they are very polite and will have a laugh with you.
The food is excellent, alongside the hotel restaurant there is also a steak house for burgers and ribs ect. Which was cheap and very nice. Service was a little slow there but they were busy.
I will be requesting that the company books this hotel again, as I said far better than the Panari.
Well done Eka Hotel !

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

For a new hotel i was curious to see what they would bring to the market and i was not impressed. Beautiful interior and that's where it ends.Main restaurant at hotel entrance is lively in terms of decor and opens to a terrace with a good view.

Food served is buffet-no creativity. The chicken my sister had was bland.Definately not worth the price.Decided to give it a second try when they opened a spurs restaurant

At the spurs restaurant too many managers walking around,very slow service from waiters...painfully slow.Too slow and i repeat too many managers walking around. It wasnt a busy night, my food order took forever; the waitress disappeared on me.

Almost an hour later she shows up and explains the chef had issued a different order for me...seriously?The bill though came so fast!

Wouldn't eat there maybe just hang around for drinks.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennington, South Africa
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Brand new hotel, clean lines, pleasant cheerful staff, close to Jomo Kenyatta International Airport and equal distance to Wilson Airport so ideal location- wise for travelers in transit or needing to connect to a flight into one of Kenya's reserves.
Pleasant pool area and comfortable room with very modern bathroom, flat screen TV, but the beds were incredibly hard and not at all comfortable.
Adjacent to the reception was the hotel bar and restaurant with buffet and a' la carté selections. It appeared popular and the menu was quite extensive but we opted for supper at the Spur which was situated in the building and had only been open for 2 days. We had a delightful supper both tasty and good value for money.
Typical impartial airport type hotel but the staff were charming and it was new, clean and convenient and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eka Hotel Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eka Hotel Nairobi

Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 27695 - 00506, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 102 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eka Hotel Nairobi 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eka Hotel a Nairobi hotel is ideally located along Mombasa Road in Nairobi the capital city of Kenya. It is situated minutes away from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, 5km from Wilson Airport and 5km from the bustling central business district. If you are looking for safari hotels, Eka Hotel is within easy access to the city’s many attractions and entertainment venues which make Eka Hotel an ideal safari accommodation hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Eka Hotel Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eka Hotel Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.