We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and a good value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eka Hotel Nairobi

Save Saved
You added Eka Hotel Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Eka Hotel Nairobi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mombasa Road, Nairobi 27695 - 00506, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 102 Hotels in Nairobi
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Convenient and a good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I found the Eka Hotel to offer convenience with its location just a few kilometres from both of Nairobi's airports. Rooms were quiet and comfortable. The down side is that there is not a separate bathroom but shower and toilet cubicles with frosted glass doors. Fine for single travellers or close couples but friends travelling might feel a bit uncomfortable.

Food was very good with a nice selection of items on the buffet as well as an a la carte menu that offers good varieties. TIP: The a la carte can often be cheaper than the buffet unless you expect to really eat a lot. I had prawns from the a la carte and they were delicious.

The breakfast buffet included an active station with bacon fried on the spot (and not stewing in a warming tray for hours). Eggs cooked to order.

The hotel will be opening a Spurs Restaurant by the 11th of November. This is a South African Chain and should be a great addition.

Room Tip: My room - 201 offered a view of the highway but was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    100
    31
    11
    6
See reviews for
27
46
19
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Eka Hotel is an excellent hotel conveniently located a few minutes from the airport.Their style of service is unique and very modern.The room are very clean and a view of the national park is so clear.Very delicious food indeed and of good value.The terrace is what i like most,the accomodation and their services.Very polite and hospitable staff.

Room Tip: "The executive suites are more spacious and luxurious"
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed for two nights and found this new hotel inviting, clean and comfortable. The rooms are nicely decorated and relatively quiet. We ate all of our meals here and really enjoyed them. A great place out of the rat race of Nairobi. The pool area was lovely and we had a wonderful relaxing massage at the spa. The staff went above and beyond to make our first visit to Nairobi a pleasantly memorable one.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This a brand new hotel with a modern interior. It is only 10 minutes drive for the airport and means you do not have to go in to central Nairobi. Can't comment on the food because we arrived late and left early. Service was good but if you pay in advance take documentation of your payment, as there appeared to be some confusion until we provided our barclaycard invoice.
The beds are very hard and there is no hairdryer in the room but I still think this is the place for a stop over.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingstone, Zambia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The hotel is situated close to the airport, and is stylish and very comfortable. The rooms are well equipped and it is really quiet & peaceful. The staff are helpful and polite, and the level of service is outstanding. The food is well priced and of excellent standard & quality.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights and it was just amazing. A great place for meetings in case you do not want to get caught up in Nairobi traffic. It is very convenient and close to the airport! Credit goes to the Chef because every meal served was so delicious. I love this hotel!

Room Tip: The rooms are beautifully designed and very clean. The security is excellent, so nothing to worry a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaydn215
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I spent just a night here as i needed to catch a flight the next morning. Close to the airport and a nice, comfortable, new hotel. I think the best quality hotel near the airport. Simple buffet meals are served with a pleasant area out near the pool. Good security and relatively quiet in the rooms given the nearness to Mombasa Road.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eka Hotel Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eka Hotel Nairobi

Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 27695 - 00506, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 102 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eka Hotel Nairobi 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eka Hotel a Nairobi hotel is ideally located along Mombasa Road in Nairobi the capital city of Kenya. It is situated minutes away from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, 5km from Wilson Airport and 5km from the bustling central business district. If you are looking for safari hotels, Eka Hotel is within easy access to the city’s many attractions and entertainment venues which make Eka Hotel an ideal safari accommodation hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo and Agoda so you can book your Eka Hotel Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eka Hotel Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.