We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family welcome in Nairobi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lavington Hill House

Save Saved
You added Lavington Hill House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lavington Hill House
Lavington Estate, Ole Nguruone Avenue | Off James Gichuru, Lavington, Nairobi 13625-00800, Kenya   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 156 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Paris, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Family welcome in Nairobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

The staff at Lavington Hill House really go out of their way to give you a very warm welcome in Nairobi -- it truly feels like you're being taken care of like family. I'm frequently in Nairobi for business and prefer staying in quieter Lavington than the center. A beautiful house, comfortable rooms, carefully prepared meals, and most of all, individual attention to guests and their needs. The staff have been kind enough to recommend great restaurants, print work documents when all copy stores were closed, and find the best deal on a local driver for us. It's the only place I'll stay in Nairobi!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lavington H, Manager at Lavington Hill House, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you so much for your review.

It is always a pleasure to see you work through our front door when you are in Nairobi.

We appreciate your continued stay with us and how you are always open to explore our food menu and chef's specials for interesting dishes.

Looking forward to seeing you again.

LHH Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
3
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

I travel to Nairobi very often for work and I feel so privileged to stay in such a beautiful house where everybody makes me feel at home. This makes my recurrent trips to Kenya much much more enjoyable. Bedrooms are very spacious and tastefully furnished. I also enjoy their balconies where I can relax after a long day of work. Alternatively I like reading in the house's lush garden! Food is great too; From the earthy Ugali with their delicious meat sauce to the chef's succulent pancakes that I recently tried for breakfast! Knowing that I am going to get there gives me a lot of comfort when boarding the plane in Paris!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlebury, Vermont
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Lavington Hill House is a wonderful place to stay in Nairobi. A beautiful home, with lovely large bedrooms and bathrooms in a quiet safe neighborhood. Owners and staff are so friendly and accomodating. A terrific alternative to hotels. More than a bed and breakfast, meals and drinks are available and the food is very good.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalhart, Texas
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Lavingtion Hill House is an awesome place to stay and rest. The lawns and flowers are beautifully landscaped. Everyone there from the staff to the family made us feel like family. We had delicious food and service. Their breakfast meal was always delicious and way more than a person could eat with such good service and always with a smile. Everyone went out of their way to make us feel at home. We feel in love with everyone. We took home new friendships that we will never forget. Thank-you everyone at Lavington Hill House. Wayne and Cynthia Lidster

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lavington H, Manager at Lavington Hill House, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Wayne & Cynthia Lidster

We appreciate your kind words and glad that you enjoyed your stay during your first stay in Africa you were a joy to have around.

Mrs Lidster, the cookies you baked in our kitchen were an American classic that we shall fondly remember.

We hope to see you again next time you visit Kenya.

Warm regards

M Magare
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Lavington Hill House is a stately mansion with beautiful rooms and personal and friendly service. The lawns are beautifully landscaped, filled with flora, flowers and birds. Most impressive is the personal service of the staff and the excellent food. It is quiet and about 10 kilometers from the center of town.If you want to be in the center of the action it's not for you. On the other hand, it is near shopping centers and stores. I've had a relaxing and pleasant visit and the price is much better than comparable hotels.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lavington H, Manager at Lavington Hill House, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Patricia

Thank you for your kind review. It was a pleasure hosting you and we are glad you enjoyed our gardens which are ideal for an evening stroll.

While we are away from the hustle and bustle of the city centre we are accessible through several connecting roads and have a reliable taxi service to help you get around.

We look forwarding to hosting you again, the next time you are in Nairobi.

Warm regards

M Magare
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico, United States
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

A great stay with impeccable service.The staff consistently went the extra mile, and made us feel more like family. Our family occupied 3 rooms, for two weeks, in Nov, 2012

Regardless of what ' random' times we returned to the House, there was always someone to give us a warm, genuine welcome. The Chef even came in ( on his day off) to accomodate our dinner inquiry. ( We were willing to settle for Pizza) Their belief in the motto of ' Yes is the answer..so what is the question' was excecuted flawlessly.

Each of the staff addressed us by our names.

It truely was our home away from home.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I stayed at Lavington Hill House for one week in October 2012. I received excellent service right from the time I arrived (0430 am) to the time I left at this guest house. My room was clean and comfortable and no problems with connectivity. The food was above average for a guest house (I enjoyed both breakfast and dinner). The Hotel arranged daily transport that was reliable and safe. The thing that stands out the most though is the lovely staff! They were very kind and helpful always! If you are spending time in Lavington or Karen, this is a great option to one of the downtown big hotels!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lavington Hill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavington Hill House

Address: Lavington Estate, Ole Nguruone Avenue | Off James Gichuru, Lavington, Nairobi 13625-00800, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lavington Hill House features premier suites with private terraces offering breathtaking views of the landscape. Furnished with superior hardwoods, the suites combine antique pieces with modern facilities in a relaxing home setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Lavington Hill House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lavington Hill House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.