We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful guest house in a quiet Nairobi suburb.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lavington Hill House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lavington Hill House
Save
You added Lavington Hill House to your Saves list
Lavington Estate, Ole Nguruone Avenue | Off James Gichuru, Lavington, Nairobi 13625-00800, Kenya   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 183 Nairobi B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful guest house in a quiet Nairobi suburb.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Lavington Hill House is a stately mansion with beautiful rooms and personal and friendly service. The lawns are beautifully landscaped, filled with flora, flowers and birds. Most impressive is the personal service of the staff and the excellent food. It is quiet and about 10 kilometers from the center of town.If you want to be in the center of the action it's not for you. On the other hand, it is near shopping centers and stores. I've had a relaxing and pleasant visit and the price is much better than comparable hotels.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lavington H, Manager at Lavington Hill House, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Patricia

Thank you for your kind review. It was a pleasure hosting you and we are glad you enjoyed our gardens which are ideal for an evening stroll.

While we are away from the hustle and bustle of the city centre we are accessible through several connecting roads and have a reliable taxi service to help you get around.

We look forwarding to hosting you again, the next time you are in Nairobi.

Warm regards

M Magare
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    4
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
4
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

A great stay with impeccable service.The staff consistently went the extra mile, and made us feel more like family. Our family occupied 3 rooms, for two weeks, in Nov, 2012

Regardless of what ' random' times we returned to the House, there was always someone to give us a warm, genuine welcome. The Chef even came in ( on his day off) to accomodate our dinner inquiry. ( We were willing to settle for Pizza) Their belief in the motto of ' Yes is the answer..so what is the question' was excecuted flawlessly.

Each of the staff addressed us by our names.

It truely was our home away from home.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I stayed at Lavington Hill House for one week in October 2012. I received excellent service right from the time I arrived (0430 am) to the time I left at this guest house. My room was clean and comfortable and no problems with connectivity. The food was above average for a guest house (I enjoyed both breakfast and dinner). The Hotel arranged daily transport that was reliable and safe. The thing that stands out the most though is the lovely staff! They were very kind and helpful always! If you are spending time in Lavington or Karen, this is a great option to one of the downtown big hotels!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This is a very nice B+B/Boutique Hotel in Nairobi. It has a very nice lobby with a great front window overlooking the gardens. It would be great for a group of couples or families--there is plenty of common spaces for meeting and chatting.

It is a good mid-range option in terms of price. The rooms are new, fresh, and comfortable. The bathrooms are modern. Very nice flat screen TVs and comfortable linens. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful.

The breakfast is extremely generous and very good.

We had a very nice stay at Lavington Hill House and would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.0 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#4 of 130 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 426 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Ndemi Place
The Ndemi Place
#27 of 130 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 86 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Bedelle
The Bedelle
#9 of 130 in Nairobi
5.0 of 5 stars 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Meridian Hotel
Meridian Hotel
#17 of 130 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 64 reviews
0.0 mi away
Eden Gardens
Eden Gardens
#53 of 183 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 47 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Maison Royale Nairobi
La Maison Royale Nairobi
#12 of 183 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lavington Hill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavington Hill House

Address: Lavington Estate, Ole Nguruone Avenue | Off James Gichuru, Lavington, Nairobi 13625-00800, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lavington Hill House features premier suites with private terraces offering breathtaking views of the landscape. Furnished with superior hardwoods, the suites combine antique pieces with modern facilities in a relaxing home setting. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lavington Hill House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.