We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Reata Serviced Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Reata Serviced Apartments to your Saves list
Reata Serviced Apartments
Ralph Bunche Road | P.O.Box 540-00621, Nairobi 00621, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 130 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
tibau de sul
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

I stayed there a couple of nights when arriving for the first time in Kenya and Nairobi. It's nice to have a quiet place home away from the city dirt and hustle and bustle.,I would recommend it. The only thing I could say is it is a little pricey .

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, General Manager at Reata Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Darren,

Thank you for recently staying with us.
We hope you had a pleasant onward journey and that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Thank you for choosing Reata to be your home away from home.

Kind Regards
Michael K- General Manager Reata Serviced Apartments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    19
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
10
11
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

I have stayed in many apartment / hotels in Nairobi and have just found the Reata. At check in the receptionist dealt with the formalities swiftly and within a few minutes i was in the sumptuous comfort of the quiet and peaceful apartment, at the back of the block.This place is spotlessly clean with a satellite TV, in the living area and in the kitchen there's a cooker, microwave, fridge, kettle full cutlery glasses crockery etc. Large double bed room with ample closet space a safe and iron plus board. Very clean modern bathroom with a full pressure shower even on the top floor. The restaurant provides a great selection of food, and its good and fresh tasting there is also tea, coffee as well as a bar. When its closed there is excellent room service. Strong Wireless internet throughout and plenty of power outlets in the restaurant and terrace for keeping the technology charged. Common areas are tiled and stylish. There is a taxi company based on site and reasonably priced, however the Reata is actually within a 30 min walk of town .All the staff are polite and friendly and always attentive. Top marks Reata, I will be back for sure

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, General Manager at Reata Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Martin

Thank you so much for your review on Reata Serviced Apartments.
We are extremely delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are pleased that we met your expectations.
Our Commitment and values is to exceed guest expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Michael K-General Manager Reata Serviced Apartments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Great value for money accommodation with a lovely restaurant or choice of room service at no extra charge.

The food was very good, the staff were extremely helpful and friendly and the room was spacious.

Would definitely stay again when I'm next in Nairobi.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Easy going staff, comfortable room as well as the kitchen;
Short distance to the center of the city;
Nice food in the canteen with reasonable price;
Not to forget, a mini gym is helpful. Generally is excellent.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Been staying in this apartment everytime I come back to Nairobi. I was lucky to find it online and never be able to change again. Reata has all the services plus with a bigger space and home facilities than a regular hotel. I always choose the room on the top floor where I can see the view and away from noise. Their Bamboo restaurant is small and cozy and important is their food is great! May sound funny, but I love their Tuna sandwich and Salad with chicken in curry mayonnaise. Yum.. Staffs are great and polite. The whole atmosphere is so homy beyond words. I have been visiting other hotels in sourrounding neighbourhood, but none of the hotel is exceeding the money and value Reata can provide.

The only downside is in Reata is that there's no elevator. Walking for the whole day with high-heels and products, an elevator would be really helpful to reach the top floor!

Room Tip: Room on the top floor is always good to keep away from noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, General Manager at Reata Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Wanchun,

Thank you so much for your review on Reata Serviced Apartments.

We are extremely delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Our commitment and values is to exceed guest expectation.

Thank you for choosing Reata serviced apartments as your home away from home.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Michael K
General Manager- Reata Serviced Apartments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

My husband and I had to spend about a month in Nairobi recently for business, and had heard good things about Reata, so we booked ahead of time and received a monthly rate. The positives: extremely kind and helpful staff, great restaurant, well-appointed apartment, good Internet speed, convenient, reliable on-site taxi drivers (go with Isaac, he's the best!) who charge reasonable, consistent prices, and excellent daily room cleaning service. Most of all, the place feels very secure; while we've heard nightmare stories of theft from hotel rooms/safes/luggage in Kenya, we had absolutely no issues with Reata.

Although the bed could have been better, our only major negative is that they have a noise problem. With no a/c in the rooms, one has to leave the windows open for a breeze, but at night or early in the morning this can be problematic because many of the apartments are built around the central shaft that leads to the kitchen and/or face the parking area, so kitchen/restaurant noise is a problem and you can hear everything going on downstairs in the parking area. Also, our kitchen didn't have windows, but those jalousie things that consist of overlapping panes of glass, so you can't get a good seal on the window, allowing all the noise to come in as if the window was open. Reata might want to consider replacing the jalousies with proper windowpanes.

Overall though, hotels can be a bit expensive in Nairobi, and given the price we paid, the hotel's central location, and the other positive attributes I mentioned above, I would recommend Reata and would definitely stay there again.

One last note, this is NOT a great place for kids if you're planning on hanging around the hotel much. There is nothing for them to do except roam the hallways.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
241 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Reata is probably worth somewhere between good & very good as there are small, annoying problems.
Our 2 bedroom apartment on the 3rd floor had a wow factor when we first walked through & was well furnished, very clean & comfortable.
Our problems, though small, did detract from our overall enjoyment ---
Without air conditioning it is necessary to leave the windows open for the breeze, but there are no screens on the windows. We asked the staff to spray our rooms when we went out at night so we could return to a mozzie free apartment.
With leaving the inside windows open all voices travel up the shaft from down below as if they were just outside.
We turned up for breakfast at the opening time to find the place deserted. It took quite some time for things to get organised & we were late for our scheduled departure.
On a few occasions we had trouble with the hot water switching. Maintenance fixed the problem very quickly but it is inconvenient when you have to call them after stepping out of a cold shower. I also had a problem with the phone operation & again maintenance did not appear to.
If you want fruit for breakfast you have to request it -- & you will be rewarded with the best fresh fruit salad you can imagine. The breakfasts generally were very good quality.
So please read this as intended-- the place is very clean & comfortable. It just needs a little bit of thought to make it excellent.
The staff were pleasant & efficient.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, General Manager at Reata Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Noel D

Thank you very much for your review of our establishment. We appreciate the very valuable feedback in such detail.
We have taken note of all the points raised and we are now in the process of making some significant changes so that we can keep improving our customers' experiences.

Some of this include adhering to opening times of the restaurant.

We are in the process of installing mosquito nets in the bedrooms.

We are sourcing for different instant heating showers, that will be efficient yet eco friendly in line with our conservation efforts.

Based on feed back from other guests, we are in the process of changing our bed bases in order to improve sleep quality.

We are also exploring ways of reducing noise traveling through the voids from the lower floors.

Your comments have been extremely useful and again we thank you for taking the time to review our establishment.

We hope to welcome you back to Reata and to prove to you that we mean what we say!

Michael K
General Manager- Reata Serviced Apartments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
1.3 mi away
Meridian Hotel
Meridian Hotel
#17 of 130 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 63 reviews
2.5 mi away
Bidwood Suite Hotel
Bidwood Suite Hotel
#6 of 130 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 23 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 130 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#7 of 130 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 613 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Heron Portico
The Heron Portico
#18 of 130 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 208 reviews
7.4 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#1 of 130 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reata Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reata Serviced Apartments

Address: Ralph Bunche Road | P.O.Box 540-00621, Nairobi 00621, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 130 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The apartment complex comprises 28 one-bedroom units and 1 three-bedroom apartment over four floors. Each room is luxuriously furnished, with a fully equipped kitchen area, an ultra-modern living room and big-screen satellite TV, and relaxing bedroom. We also have a fully operational restaurant- The Bamboo- with an outdoor pavilion and a-la carte menu, as well as a sun terrace on the first floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Reata Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reata Serviced Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.