We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable but some improvement nescessary” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Reata Serviced Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Reata Serviced Apartments to your Saves list
Reata Serviced Apartments
Ralph Bunche Road | P.O.Box 540-00621, Nairobi 00621, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Comfortable but some improvement nescessary”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Reata is probably worth somewhere between good & very good as there are small, annoying problems.
Our 2 bedroom apartment on the 3rd floor had a wow factor when we first walked through & was well furnished, very clean & comfortable.
Our problems, though small, did detract from our overall enjoyment ---
Without air conditioning it is necessary to leave the windows open for the breeze, but there are no screens on the windows. We asked the staff to spray our rooms when we went out at night so we could return to a mozzie free apartment.
With leaving the inside windows open all voices travel up the shaft from down below as if they were just outside.
We turned up for breakfast at the opening time to find the place deserted. It took quite some time for things to get organised & we were late for our scheduled departure.
On a few occasions we had trouble with the hot water switching. Maintenance fixed the problem very quickly but it is inconvenient when you have to call them after stepping out of a cold shower. I also had a problem with the phone operation & again maintenance did not appear to.
If you want fruit for breakfast you have to request it -- & you will be rewarded with the best fresh fruit salad you can imagine. The breakfasts generally were very good quality.
So please read this as intended-- the place is very clean & comfortable. It just needs a little bit of thought to make it excellent.
The staff were pleasant & efficient.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, General Manager at Reata Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Noel D

Thank you very much for your review of our establishment. We appreciate the very valuable feedback in such detail.
We have taken note of all the points raised and we are now in the process of making some significant changes so that we can keep improving our customers' experiences.

Some of this include adhering to opening times of the restaurant.

We are in the process of installing mosquito nets in the bedrooms.

We are sourcing for different instant heating showers, that will be efficient yet eco friendly in line with our conservation efforts.

Based on feed back from other guests, we are in the process of changing our bed bases in order to improve sleep quality.

We are also exploring ways of reducing noise traveling through the voids from the lower floors.

Your comments have been extremely useful and again we thank you for taking the time to review our establishment.

We hope to welcome you back to Reata and to prove to you that we mean what we say!

Michael K
General Manager- Reata Serviced Apartments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    16
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
9
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Marbella, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I have stayed here a few times now on business, and will continue to use the venue as the staff are extremely helpful even if i do check-in in the early hours of the morning. The food in the restaurant is good, and they always have chaueffeur driven cars available.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I had stayed here for the first two nights in Nairobi. Must be newly renovated as the bed, blankets and interior design was quite modern and showed little sign of wear and tear! Besides the bed being a tad small (I think it was a single?) It was a very comfortable stay and Josphat at the front desk is very accommodating!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lagos nigeria
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Spent 7 days here with family, prior to the trip had made several correspondences of my requests to ensure a 'hitch' free stay and these were all well received and responded to in a friendly and yet professional manner. All staff we encountered were very warm welcoming and friendly. The apartment was contemporary, clean and well furnished......we felt at home the minute we walked in! Their driver (Bernard) was of great help and ever pleasant.

The only area I recommend an improvement is the installation of elevators.

All in all this certainly becomes my 'home' when next I'm in Nairobi.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Great new services apartment, reasonable price for Nairobi, very friendly and well trained staff, stylish and spacious apartments. All great!h

But: the mattress of our queen size bed was extremely bad and we woke up with back pain and a stiff neck after a bad night with lots of turning back and forth.

So much invested into such a great place but then saved on the beds????!!!!! Please, management, take action. Size is also very small.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, Manager at Reata Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Barnskybeat,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review dated July 27,2013,and for your positive comments about our services.
We are really sorry to hear that the quality of our mattress was not to your expectation.
We promise to provide a mattress of your choice next time you visit,since we have different densities to choose from.

We hope you will give us the earliest opportunity to serve you better in your future visit.

Kind Regards
Michael K.
Manager- Reata apartments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed there for a few nights and it was one of the best accommodations we had during our entire safari. The staff was really attentive and friendly. The food was superb. We needed breakfast to be served at 5 in the morning and the staff was nice enough to prepare our food the night before our trip.
The rooms were big and clean enough. There were no insects crawling all over the place in the room. One of the best things about the place was the courtyard on the second floor.

Room Tip: No lifts, so try to get a room either on the first or second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My second home away home! , this is Reata Apartments .For sure if all guests that come to Reata Apartments have been subjected to same cordial, friendly, warm services, then like me, they have to keep on coming to Reata Apartments for the at admirable services accorded to Reata Apartments. Since i ever first stepped in Reata Apartments, the urge to come back for the services i enjoyed, have strongly kept on appealing to my come back. This is why i call it my second home away Home.Just to be particular brief , starting from the receptionist to the entire staff including the management one only experiences a friendly moods. On the issue of sanitation, the Apartments is quite above board .The entire Apartments precinct is immaculate clean just as the inside of every room one enters.Food is also quite commendable.My appreciations and compliments, go to the entire staff members as below : Evelyne, Nelson, Trizah, Naomi, Douglas Chef Tony, Chef Ben, Elizabeth, Josephat, and the entire Housekeeping staff. Congratulations to you all and keep it up in the same spirit.
LONG LIVE REATA APARTEMENTS!! MUSANA WILSON

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, Manager at Reata Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Musana W,

Thank you very much for your feedback.

We are glad that you were happy with our warm services,meticulously clean rooms and our delicious meals.

We look forward to welcoming you at Reata on you next visit.

Kind Regards
Michael K
Manager-Reata Apartment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Reata Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reata Serviced Apartments

Address: Ralph Bunche Road | P.O.Box 540-00621, Nairobi 00621, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The apartment complex comprises 28 one-bedroom units and 1 three-bedroom apartment over four floors. Each room is luxuriously furnished, with a fully equipped kitchen area, an ultra-modern living room and big-screen satellite TV, and relaxing bedroom. We also have a fully operational restaurant- The Bamboo- with an outdoor pavilion and a-la carte menu, as well as a sun terrace on the first floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Reata Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reata Serviced Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.