We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really cool if you have read the book or watched the movie Out of Africa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Karen Blixen Museum

Karen Blixen Museum
Karen Rd | Langata, Nairobi, Kenya
020- 8002139
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$184*
and up
Nairobi National Park, Karen Blixen Museum and...
Ranked #8 of 38 Attractions in Nairobi
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This is the beautiful farmhouse where Karen Blixen, author of Out of Africa, lived between 1914 and 1931, until she left Kenya after a series of personal tragedies.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Really cool if you have read the book or watched the movie Out of Africa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Took a 111 Matatu from Junction and got off at the Karen Roundabout (Langata Road). I then took a cab for 300 Shillings to the Karen Blixen Museum. It was easy to find the reception, was greeted warmly, paid my 1200 Shillings non-resident fee and I was off.

I got set up with a tour guide and he escorted me around the property and in the house. He knew his stuff and was able to answer the questions I had. I had just watched Out of Africa, so it was cool to learn more about Karen Blixen and visit her house.

Overall, it was peaceful, informative and affordable. You will probably only spend an hour there, but I found it fun and a good use of my time on my day off.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    232
    110
    23
    12
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Intressting and good guides”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

We have been at Karen Blixen museum twice and we got good guides the both times. The muesum is small but very nice to walk through. We took our children there, 3 and 5 years old, and it was no problem for children to visit. A nice park is on the side where you can eat your pic-nic.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calif
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Historically interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Part of the "usual" package of places you visit when in Nairobi. Beautiful grounds and an interesting house/history. A little ways out of town.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“"I had a farm in Africa…"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

What a lovely way to spend an afternoon when in Nairobi, and well worth the battle with the city's traffic! The grounds are immaculate, the house is beautiful and the guide informative and relaxed. Having bought your ticket you are escorted by your guide to seats in the vast gardens where he will tell you the story of Karen Blixen. It is at this point that you really become aware that Karen Blixen is a real person and not just another fantastic Meryl Streep character. Having put the house and grounds into context you are then shown the interiors, which are simply stunning. A real must for enthusiasts of architecture and interiors. Granted, the house has been refurbished and most of the furniture is from the movie set, but that does not lessen the experience. The gift shop is well stocked with quality merchandise at very good prices, and the washrooms are clean. If you have the time, go.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Fascinating to see the real thing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

If you have read the book or seen the movie it is time to see the real thing. The well informed and kind guides will take you on a tour of the house and explain the history of this remarkable woman. To understand the setting of this not too imposing house (the grounds are magnificent as is the scenery with the Ngong Hills as a back drop knowledge of the story is important.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Karen Blixen Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karen Blixen Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.