We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expectef” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Karen Blixen Museum

Karen Blixen Museum
Karen Rd | Langata, Nairobi, Kenya
020- 8002139
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Karen Blixen Museum like an insider
Top Rated
$193*
and up
Nairobi National Park, Karen Blixen Museum and...
Ranked #6 of 78 things to do in Nairobi
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This is the beautiful farmhouse where Karen Blixen, author of Out of Africa, lived between 1914 and 1931, until she left Kenya after a series of personal tragedies.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Better than expectef”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Having prejudiced feelings about this place, I quickly changed my mind after hearing the story of Karens exciting but rather sad life. The interior is well kept and beautifullt redtored. Sumptuous garden makes you wonder what could possibly go wrong owning a place like this in the esrly 20 th century. As our friendly and informative guide took us around, it turned out to be a lot, if not everything going south for the famous writer. Well worth visiting but perhaps not for the youngest children.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    255
    127
    28
    12
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Entebbe, Uganda
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“More meaningful than beautiful, except the grounds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

If you love Karen Blixen / Izak Dinesen, as I do, then this is a lovely visit. If not, I guess the attraction would be to see how the British colonialists lived and exploited Kenya in the first part of the 20th century. Well, at least to see how they lived.

Following a visit to and tour of the house, don't miss the Kazuri bead factory nearby. I don't even like beads, but was seduced by the tour of the "factory", the story of the women who earn their livelihood there, and the gorgeous, lush, fabulous necklaces they make. We ended up buying 4 necklaces and 2 ceramic plates. Totally worth it!

Then we had lunch at the Karen Blixen cafe. Expensive, but again an immersion into depraved, exploitive British colonialism.

How can I still love Karen Blixen? (a) she was Danish, and not as bad as most of the ex-pats at the time; and (b) her prose is exquisite. Now that's a real seduction.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
70 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

We had a great tour of the house, it was beautiful, the mountains and trees around it was just breath taking. Th staff were very happy to show you around. Great place to visit.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Enjoyable but don't travel a long way”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

It was interesting and has great grounds. The tour guides are very professional and really seem to know and be proud of there topic. It's hard to give a great review as it is such a quick experience and I think if you travelled much more than our 15 min drive you would be disappointed. The exception to this May be a mad Karen Blixen fan

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
56 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“I loved it because of the film”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

It was amazing to see this place, because I loved the film. It might not be of interest to you if you haven't seen "Out of Africa".

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Karen Blixen Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karen Blixen Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.