We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expectef” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Karen Blixen Museum

Karen Blixen Museum
Karen Rd | Langata, Nairobi, Kenya
020- 8002139
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$80*
and up
Day Tour from Nairobi: David Sheldrick Elephant...
Ranked #5 of 94 things to do in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This is the beautiful farmhouse where Karen Blixen, author of Out of Africa, lived between 1914 and 1931, until she left Kenya after a series of personal tragedies.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Better than expectef”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Having prejudiced feelings about this place, I quickly changed my mind after hearing the story of Karens exciting but rather sad life. The interior is well kept and beautifullt redtored. Sumptuous garden makes you wonder what could possibly go wrong owning a place like this in the esrly 20 th century. As our friendly and informative guide took us around, it turned out to be a lot, if not everything going south for the famous writer. Well worth visiting but perhaps not for the youngest children.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Xyzzy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Red Bank, New Jersey
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“More meaningful than beautiful, except the grounds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

If you love Karen Blixen / Izak Dinesen, as I do, then this is a lovely visit. If not, I guess the attraction would be to see how the British colonialists lived and exploited Kenya in the first part of the 20th century. Well, at least to see how they lived.

Following a visit to and tour of the house, don't miss the Kazuri bead factory nearby. I don't even like beads, but was seduced by the tour of the "factory", the story of the women who earn their livelihood there, and the gorgeous, lush, fabulous necklaces they make. We ended up buying 4 necklaces and 2 ceramic plates. Totally worth it!

Then we had lunch at the Karen Blixen cafe. Expensive, but again an immersion into depraved, exploitive British colonialism.

How can I still love Karen Blixen? (a) she was Danish, and not as bad as most of the ex-pats at the time; and (b) her prose is exquisite. Now that's a real seduction.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank gilatoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
201 reviews
108 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

We had a great tour of the house, it was beautiful, the mountains and trees around it was just breath taking. Th staff were very happy to show you around. Great place to visit.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 282Juliette282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Enjoyable but don't travel a long way”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

It was interesting and has great grounds. The tour guides are very professional and really seem to know and be proud of there topic. It's hard to give a great review as it is such a quick experience and I think if you travelled much more than our 15 min drive you would be disappointed. The exception to this May be a mad Karen Blixen fan

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank SydneyFamilyofFour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“I loved it because of the film”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

It was amazing to see this place, because I loved the film. It might not be of interest to you if you haven't seen "Out of Africa".

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pix4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Karen Blixen Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing