We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great memorial to times past” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Karen Blixen Museum

Karen Blixen Museum
Karen Rd | Langata, Nairobi, Kenya
020- 8002139
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$184*
and up
Nairobi National Park, Karen Blixen Museum and...
Ranked #9 of 38 Attractions in Nairobi
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This is the beautiful farmhouse where Karen Blixen, author of Out of Africa, lived between 1914 and 1931, until she left Kenya after a series of personal tragedies.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“A great memorial to times past”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

After reading the books and seeing the movie, it was fun to see Karen Blixen's house and hear more of her story. It was worth the visit.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    233
    110
    23
    12
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oak Harbor, Washington
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Out of Africa Fans Only”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

If you are a fan of the movie, as I am, you will enjoy seeing this beautiful home and the surrounding property, the price won't matter. The guide was very knowledgable and very friendly. I was sad that I could not take photos of the interior - it forces you to buy postcards or the book at the gift shop. If you are not a fan of the movie or Karen's writings then I think you will be board and think it a waste of money. The gift shop had a great collection of books along with the normal kitch type trinkets.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

The visit to the Karen Blixen Museum was a wonderful experience. Having seen the film it was great to actually visit the house that she lived in. The history that goes with this museum is great. This was followed by a visit to the Giraffe Centre which was once again a wonderful experience.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochin
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“WELL PRESERVED”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

While I consider Karen Blixen an over rated writer, the way the museum is preserved and maintained is to be appreciated. The guides are of very high quality and are willing to explain the minutest of the details without any difficulty. The paintings by Karen Blixen are very well maintained. So are the farm equipment used decades back. The kitchen and the menu for the visit of a dignitary are interesting. Of her life history is a tragedy but you do not feel upset by her story because of the excellent surroundings.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Hardly a Museum!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We were filling time in Nairobi so decided to visit having seen and loved the film Out of Africa. The house and gardens are beautifully kept and our guide was very knowledgable but there was not much to see inside the house and to be honest we were a bit bored as we knew as much about Karen Blixen as the guide did! Rather expensive for 45 minutes which is how long the tour lasts.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Karen Blixen Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karen Blixen Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.