We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Danish, colonial place.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Karen Blixen Museum

Karen Blixen Museum
Karen Rd | Langata, Nairobi, Kenya
020- 8002139
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Karen Blixen Museum like an insider
Top Rated
$193*
and up
Nairobi National Park, Karen Blixen Museum and...
Ranked #6 of 78 things to do in Nairobi
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This is the beautiful farmhouse where Karen Blixen, author of Out of Africa, lived between 1914 and 1931, until she left Kenya after a series of personal tragedies.
Stabekk
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Danish, colonial place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Nice guide And beautiful place. Most of the things where from real time.a sort of must see place. Been there, seen it, dine it.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    255
    127
    28
    12
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
knoxville
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Nice museum”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Karen Blixen is a much beloved historical figure in Nairobi. This museum tour gives you a perspective of how she influenced the community in her day though commerce, jobs and offering medical care to those who worked for her.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Interesting look at history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I've been through the museum twice and learned something each time. The house is very well maintained and the gardens are beautiful. It is easy to imagine 'Out of Africa' taking place. My grandson, who was 13 when we visited, was concerned about the animal skin rugs...hard to explain the culture back then.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely outing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Beautiful grounds, and fun museum to visit. It is easy to make it part of the trip to Animal Orphanage, Giraffe Manor and even Nairobi Park

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Just okay”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We visited Karen Blixen Museum on a fairly quiet day. The guide was pretty good taking us around the museum and involving us in the story of Karen Blixen. We didn't particularly enjoy the museum itself as we found it a little boring but glad to say that we went.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Karen Blixen Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karen Blixen Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.