We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Danish, colonial place.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Karen Blixen Museum

Karen Blixen Museum
Karen Rd | Langata, Nairobi, Kenya
020- 8002139
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #9 of 43 Attractions in Nairobi
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This is the beautiful farmhouse where Karen Blixen, author of Out of Africa, lived between 1914 and 1931, until she left Kenya after a series of personal tragedies.
Stabekk
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Danish, colonial place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Nice guide And beautiful place. Most of the things where from real time.a sort of must see place. Been there, seen it, dine it.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    184
    89
    20
    9
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
knoxville
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice museum”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Karen Blixen is a much beloved historical figure in Nairobi. This museum tour gives you a perspective of how she influenced the community in her day though commerce, jobs and offering medical care to those who worked for her.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Interesting look at history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I've been through the museum twice and learned something each time. The house is very well maintained and the gardens are beautiful. It is easy to imagine 'Out of Africa' taking place. My grandson, who was 13 when we visited, was concerned about the animal skin rugs...hard to explain the culture back then.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely outing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Beautiful grounds, and fun museum to visit. It is easy to make it part of the trip to Animal Orphanage, Giraffe Manor and even Nairobi Park

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Just okay”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We visited Karen Blixen Museum on a fairly quiet day. The guide was pretty good taking us around the museum and involving us in the story of Karen Blixen. We didn't particularly enjoy the museum itself as we found it a little boring but glad to say that we went.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Karen Blixen Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karen Blixen Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.