We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short but interesting” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Karen Blixen Museum

Karen Blixen Museum
Karen Rd | Langata, Nairobi, Kenya
020- 8002139
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Karen Blixen Museum like an insider
Top Rated
$193*
and up
Nairobi National Park, Karen Blixen Museum and...
Ranked #13 of 92 things to do in Nairobi
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This is the beautiful farmhouse where Karen Blixen, author of Out of Africa, lived between 1914 and 1931, until she left Kenya after a series of personal tragedies.
Lagos, Nigeria
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Short but interesting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

A guide took me on a tour of the inside and outside of Karen Blixen's house while sharing her story. It was a short but interesting tour.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    253
    125
    27
    12
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Must see for Out of Africa devotees”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

If you read the book or loved the movie, this is a very gratifying visit. The house is charming, the Ngong Hills as imagined. You will see the actual gramophone Denys and Karen took into the bush with them, along with other domestic furnishings and personal items that evoke the colonial experience. There is a replication of the coffee processing facility that burned down, ending her hopes for prosperity in colonial Kenya.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A wonderful insight to her life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

As part of our package when we booked to go to Kenya was trips to the David Sheldrick elephant orphanage, the Giraffe Manor and Karen Blixen Museum (in fact its her house that doubles up as a museum). I wasn’t really keen on the thought of going to a museum as I was there for the animals BUT I was very pleasantly surprised.

We were guided around the house and into the rooms where a knowledgeable guide talked you through the life of Karen Blixen who famously wrote Out of Africa which was made into a film with Meryl Streep and Robert Redford. Many of the artifacts used in the film are still there in the house and rather than stand at the door and peer into each room you were encouraged to walk around and you really got a feel of the place the more you saw.

It takes around an hour and the grounds are to die for. Very pretty and even some of the old coffee machinery and carts are still there adding to the feel of the place.

Don’t do what I did and dismiss it as any old museum, this was well worth a visit.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Worth a visit even if you're not in love with Robert Redford”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I hadn't seen "Out of Africa" when I visited but still very interesting and worth a visit. Not to mention the Kazuri bead factory is just round the corner. The film has a huge influence on the place with a lot of the furnishings being from the film rather than original.

The grounds are gorgeous. I didn't spend a huge amount of time there as I was visiting with a friend from work, but I imagine for couples a gorgeous day can be made of it.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Holland, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Even If You Didn't See the Movie”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

There is no denying the interest the film has on this property. You'll see the clothes worn by Meryl Streep and Robert Redford, but beyond that, you'll learn much more about Karen Blixen. The Danish writer's life will have you renting the film again.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Karen Blixen Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karen Blixen Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.