We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Karen Blixen Museum

Karen Blixen Museum
Karen Rd | Langata, Nairobi, Kenya
020- 8002139
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Karen Blixen Museum like an insider
Top Rated
$193*
and up
Nairobi National Park, Karen Blixen Museum and...
Ranked #6 of 78 things to do in Nairobi
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This is the beautiful farmhouse where Karen Blixen, author of Out of Africa, lived between 1914 and 1931, until she left Kenya after a series of personal tragedies.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Enjoyed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The house is smaller than I expected, however the setting is lovely and I had a guide to myself, who answered most of my questions. A small gift shop or tearoom might have been a good idea just to allow the visitor to linger after the tour.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    255
    126
    28
    12
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
SOUTH COAST
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A walk back in time.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

If you saw the film Out of Africa, you will be quite surprised when you first arrive at Karen Blixens home. Very little of it was used in the film.
The home is in good condition and the guided tour is informative and well managed. The guides are 1st class & really know their stuff. Sadly you cannot take pictures while inside the house. The stories as well as the history go into making this attraction worthwhile.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Re-opened and worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We visited on 1st June and the house is now open although the gift shop isn't, lovely spot full of atmosphere and definitely worth a trip if you liked Out of Africa.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ethiopia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Under Refurbishment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

...it's closed right now for refurbishment but when it reopens do go see her house. It's not what you'll see in the movie and you don't need a guide.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Another enjoyable excursion to pass the time before heading into or home from the bush”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

&Beyond took me here after stopping at the Giraffe Center (also reviewed) before my flight home from Nairobi. Admittedly, I am a fan of both Karen Blixen's writing and the film "Out of Africa" so I may be a bit biased but I enjoyed my hour or so here. The museum isn't too expensive (the exchange rate between US dollars and Kenyan shillings being what it is) and the estate itself is beautifully maintained. Learning a bit more about the estate (e.g. how it used to be on the outskirts and now seems to be solidly within Nairobi) as well as see a mix of Blixen's own property and set props was enjoyable. Overall, a restful way to pass the time (and much better than sitting in the Nairobi airport which leaves a little to be desired when compared to Jo-burg's).

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Karen Blixen Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karen Blixen Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.