We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Karen Blixen Museum

Karen Blixen Museum
Karen Rd | Langata, Nairobi, Kenya
020- 8002139
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Karen Blixen Museum like an insider
Top Rated
$193*
and up
Nairobi National Park, Karen Blixen Museum and...
Ranked #10 of 78 things to do in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This is the beautiful farmhouse where Karen Blixen, author of Out of Africa, lived between 1914 and 1931, until she left Kenya after a series of personal tragedies.
Dartmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Visited on a day excursion on a stop-over in Nairobi - well worth the visit! The tour guide was great and the story she spun was fascinating.... although, had I not recently watched 'Out of Africa', some of the romantic draw of the place would have been lost. Watch the movie, read the books, visit the museum. Amazing lady, that Karen Blixen.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    256
    132
    28
    12
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Back to Out of Africa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This was our second visit to Karen Blixen's Museam, the first being twenty years ago. The guided tour of the house was excellent. In addition the opportunity to wander around and sit in the grounds allows you to slip back in time and to feel that you are experiencing something of that era. The views of the Ngong hills gives atmosphere as you remember the contribution made by this extraordinary women.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
1 review
“The movie :" Out of Africa"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

At first i thought the movie was a tale after visiting the place i got the real picture of it, the magnificent building at the venue actually gave an impression that the movie was actually a master piece. the venue is cool and all the guards can give you a detailed information about the place.Kenya is actually a country where one would never miss to visit its truly a beautiful country.
A walk through the former coffee plantations increased our quest to have more, the machines used fro grinding the coffee where still in place after centuries of being in use. By the end of the trip still wanted to have more. Kenya is truly a beautiful country

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Authentic - A must do while in Nairobi.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We have not seen the movie 'Out of Africa' but have decided to get the CD after visiting this museum. A sprawling bungalow with many of the original furniture well preserved. The guide was helpful in explaining the events that took place a century ago in this building. Manicured and well kept lawn is a coveted place for wedding receptions.
Highly recommended.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Out of Africa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Having watched 'Out of Africa' right before my trip and then to actually be at the museum was amazing! I think his name was Martin, our guide through the house was very nice and knowledgeable. Kenya is beautiful.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Karen Blixen Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karen Blixen Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.