We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The movie :" Out of Africa"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Karen Blixen Museum

Karen Blixen Museum
Karen Rd | Langata, Nairobi, Kenya
020- 8002139
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$193*
and up
Nairobi National Park, Karen Blixen Museum and...
Ranked #9 of 89 things to do in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This is the beautiful farmhouse where Karen Blixen, author of Out of Africa, lived between 1914 and 1931, until she left Kenya after a series of personal tragedies.
Nairobi
1 review
“The movie :" Out of Africa"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

At first i thought the movie was a tale after visiting the place i got the real picture of it, the magnificent building at the venue actually gave an impression that the movie was actually a master piece. the venue is cool and all the guards can give you a detailed information about the place.Kenya is actually a country where one would never miss to visit its truly a beautiful country.
A walk through the former coffee plantations increased our quest to have more, the machines used fro grinding the coffee where still in place after centuries of being in use. By the end of the trip still wanted to have more. Kenya is truly a beautiful country

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    280
    143
    31
    13
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
59 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Authentic - A must do while in Nairobi.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We have not seen the movie 'Out of Africa' but have decided to get the CD after visiting this museum. A sprawling bungalow with many of the original furniture well preserved. The guide was helpful in explaining the events that took place a century ago in this building. Manicured and well kept lawn is a coveted place for wedding receptions.
Highly recommended.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Out of Africa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Having watched 'Out of Africa' right before my trip and then to actually be at the museum was amazing! I think his name was Martin, our guide through the house was very nice and knowledgeable. Kenya is beautiful.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
175 reviews
86 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“"Out of Africa" Home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

First off, if you are coming to the Karen Blixen museum, watch the academy award best picture "Out of Africa" before arriving in Kenya. It did a great job of telling her story and will greating enhance your visit. The home is lovely and the guides are knowledgeble. They explain to you the lasting impact Karen had on her workers. The tour takes about an hour. Have lunch near by at another historical home on her estate that has been turned in to a lovely restaurant, Tamambo Karen Blixen restaurant.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
96 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good story”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

A group of traveler went to the museum, a farm owned by Danish Author Karen and her Swedish husband, Baron Bror von Blixen Fincke. Nice and well preserved farm house not too far from Nairobi. In my opinion is not a must see but noy to many attractions in the city are avilable.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Karen Blixen Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karen Blixen Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.