We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic - A must do while in Nairobi.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Karen Blixen Museum

Karen Blixen Museum
Karen Rd | Langata, Nairobi, Kenya
020- 8002139
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$184*
and up
Nairobi National Park, Karen Blixen Museum and...
Ranked #9 of 38 Attractions in Nairobi
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This is the beautiful farmhouse where Karen Blixen, author of Out of Africa, lived between 1914 and 1931, until she left Kenya after a series of personal tragedies.
Lagos, Nigeria
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Authentic - A must do while in Nairobi.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We have not seen the movie 'Out of Africa' but have decided to get the CD after visiting this museum. A sprawling bungalow with many of the original furniture well preserved. The guide was helpful in explaining the events that took place a century ago in this building. Manicured and well kept lawn is a coveted place for wedding receptions.
Highly recommended.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    234
    110
    23
    12
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Out of Africa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Having watched 'Out of Africa' right before my trip and then to actually be at the museum was amazing! I think his name was Martin, our guide through the house was very nice and knowledgeable. Kenya is beautiful.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Nebraska
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“"Out of Africa" Home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

First off, if you are coming to the Karen Blixen museum, watch the academy award best picture "Out of Africa" before arriving in Kenya. It did a great job of telling her story and will greating enhance your visit. The home is lovely and the guides are knowledgeble. They explain to you the lasting impact Karen had on her workers. The tour takes about an hour. Have lunch near by at another historical home on her estate that has been turned in to a lovely restaurant, Tamambo Karen Blixen restaurant.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Good story”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

A group of traveler went to the museum, a farm owned by Danish Author Karen and her Swedish husband, Baron Bror von Blixen Fincke. Nice and well preserved farm house not too far from Nairobi. In my opinion is not a must see but noy to many attractions in the city are avilable.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Tour of Karen Blixen House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We had our own personal guide take us through the Karen Blixen Museum who was extremely informative. We had seen the movie Out of Africa and it was very interesting to go through the house where Karen Blixen lived.
Lunch at the Karen Blixen Coffee Garden was lovely also.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Karen Blixen Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karen Blixen Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.