We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“must visit for out of africa fans” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Karen Blixen Museum

Karen Blixen Museum
Karen Rd | Langata, Nairobi, Kenya
020- 8002139
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #10 of 43 attractions in Nairobi
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This is the beautiful farmhouse where Karen Blixen, author of Out of Africa, lived between 1914 and 1931, until she left Kenya after a series of personal tragedies.
abu dhabi
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“must visit for out of africa fans”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Growing up seeing out of africa a million times...fans like me would love this place...It's so awesome to live and walk in a movie feeling ;-) well actually nothing much to see..just a few rooms and some original belongings and some movie props left behind by robert redford and meryl streep. The garden is huge and lovely...and well maintained..i think it is $10 for tourist but for me it was part of thepackage i took so didn't bother to find out...but yes a must visit it just takes 15mts for the full tour...if your thinking of doing a rest stop while passing thru nairobi this is a nice place to do a stop and see a famous house. ...

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    177
    87
    18
    9
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luanda, Angola
Top Contributor
561 reviews 561 reviews
155 attraction reviews
Reviews in 282 cities Reviews in 282 cities
877 helpful votes 877 helpful votes
“Enthusiastic Guides in Lovely Garden”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The museum is small and the $10 fee international tourists pay is steep for the few rooms you see. The guides are excellent though and the gardens lovely. Out of Africa fans will love it.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“The Museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This is part of the property and is a well preserved home with most of its original furnishings, fittings, and lots of stories surrounding its history. The well informed guide will give you the details.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co. Donegal
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Peace away from Nairobi traffic!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

On my second visit to Nairobi (I was first there in 2009), I found the traffic even more horrific, and so it was nice to escape for a few hours to the relative peace and quiet of the suburb of Karen. We hired a driver for the afternoon and went first to visit the Swedo House (now a hotel and museum and quite delightful), then to the Karen Blixen House and Museum. Our guide, Josephine, was most informative, although at KS800 entrance fee, it was quite expensive! However, we had a good tour and learned a lot about the life of this fascinating woman. The house and its contents have been well preserved and I was inspired to read the book, having seen the film "Out of Africa" a couple of times. Nearby is the Karen Country Club, where we might have stopped for drinks on our way back, had time permitted! But the museum is well worth a visit.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“An interesting place with a look back at the Colonial era”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Usually combined with a visit to Giraffe Centre, the Karen Blixen Museum should be on the must see list of places to visit when in Nairobi. You are provided with not just a look at the items that surrounded Karen Blixen during her time as a coffee farmer at the foot of the Ngong Hills, but the guides offer great stories on her life and romances.

Sadly, photography is not allowed inside the museum and remember that there is a lot of road congestion in Nairobi so you need to allow for time to get there and back.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Karen Blixen Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karen Blixen Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Karen Blixen Museum to your Saves list