We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bird collection, Kenya History, Serpentarium, and More” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi National Museum

Nairobi National Museum
Museum Hill, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
254-20-3741641
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 86 things to do in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Nairobi National Museum is the flagship brand for the National Museums of Kenya. Located on Museum Hill, the museum showcases Kenya's rich Heritage with four distinct themes representing Kenya's Culture, Nature, History and Contemporary Art.Other attractions within the compound include the Snake Park and Botanical Gardens as well as a State of the Art Auditorium that occasionally hosts concerts, film shows and other events.Dining and shopping facilities await you after your tour with us in our commercial wing. Enjoy your visit with us at the National Museum.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Bird collection, Kenya History, Serpentarium, and More”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We had an extra day in Nairobi at the end of our safari, and decided to check out the museum. The bird collection was really great to view after spending over two weeks watching birds in 4 national parks and the Masai Mara. The museum has the feel of an old-time natural history museum, which I really liked. The serpentarium has some interesting snakes and lizards that were fun to see up close. The area on Kenyan history is fascinating, and just seemed too small for all there was to display.....I would have loved to see even more! There is a planned exhibit of the paintings of Joy Adamson, which will be a nice addition.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    210
    101
    15
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
South Orange, New Jersey
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Underwhelming museum”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

I have been to a number of national museums in Africa. This museum was fine, but it did not impress me. The museum was recently renovated. However, the exhibitions still feel dated. I think that it would be a nice day trip for children. It's a pleasant way to pass the time if you have a few extra hours and don't have time for other sites in Nairobi.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
114 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Something for all the family”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

From a natural history and anthropological perspective the National Museum houses some interesting collections, more notably in my mind the exhibits relating to the human journey and the ages through which we pass. I'm not one for looking at cases full of stuffed birds and animals, so skipped these rooms.
The exhibits dedicated to the history of Kenya are, on face value, good and informative. However, and as with all National Museums, the aim of the exhibits is to create and portray a national "Kenyan" identity - not easy in a such a young country constructed of 42 officially recognized, and several other unrecognized, communities. Emphasis is placed squarely on the freedom fighters who resisted the British colonialists and the success they achieved by winning independence, with little if any mention given to the loyalists who sided with the colonialists. As is the norm, history has been written by the winners.
Anyway, that said, the National Museum is an interesting place to visit if you have a couple of hours to spare in Nairobi. There's something to appeal to all the family, including a serpentarium, cafés and excellent gift shops.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“For the geeks”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

This one is for the geeks. For those who want to know more about the history and want first hand experience about Nairobi's history. Good place for learining.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowell, Texas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“The Birth of Mankind”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

A very interesting museum of natural history. Highlights include the Hall of Mammals with the skeleton of the famous elephant Ahmed of Marsabit and the Birds of Africa which has stuffed versions of just about every bird found in Kenya. The centerpiece, however, is the hominid skull room which prides itself as "the most important collection of early human fossils in the world" without much hyperbole. See the Turkana Boy skeleton for the most complete example of Homo Erectus ever found. The combined ticket with the nearby snake park is good value and together make for an enjoyable afternoon conveniently close to the city center. We only had one day in Nairobi recovering from jet lag and made this our priority - it was definitely worth it and not too overwhelming for our introduction to Africa.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nairobi National Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi National Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.