We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special, evolution section ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi National Museum

Nairobi National Museum
Museum Hill, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
254-20-3741641
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 42 Attractions in Nairobi
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Nairobi National Museum is the flagship brand for the National Museums of Kenya. Located on Museum Hill, the museum showcases Kenya's rich Heritage with four distinct themes representing Kenya's Culture, Nature, History and Contemporary Art.Other attractions within the compound include the Snake Park and Botanical Gardens as well as a State of the Art Auditorium that occasionally hosts concerts, film shows and other events.Dining and shopping facilities await you after your tour with us in our commercial wing. Enjoy your visit with us at the National Museum.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Nothing special, evolution section ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Prices for residents are acceptable, but I think prices for non residents are on the high end for what the museum has to offer (different entrance fees combinations are possible - including snake park or not including it). To be fair, I was only in the main building, did not visit the shop, the cafes, the snake park, the gardens... It took me two hours for it, mainly because I wanted to check thoroughly the section about evolution, which was the most interesting one and would like to see it again. Mammal section was ok, but rather simple, like it was made for school kids. There was also birds section - endless rows of birds, nothing too interesting for a person not fascinated by birds, nothing made me stop and see a detail. Upper floor had some modern art displays, history of Kenya display (mainly photographs and newspaper clips, some interesting colonial time items) The only interesting thing on the upper floor was the show Cycles of life - display of items associated with the different stages of life in Kenya. There are some wifi spots, so if you are lucky, you can be online for a short while, then it is lost till you come across the next spot. Toilets are at the entrance, not really great, no soap, the one at the first floor would not lock so it was not convenient to use it. Someone will offer to guide you for a tip.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    169
    76
    11
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Guide is good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Get a free guide at entrance. They are trained and able to tell you history of Kenya and many other educational material stuff.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“What a renovation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Superb exhibits, makes you proud to be kenyan! Great bohemian atmosphere too! And a lovely cafe. The renovation has made the museum a must see for everyone in nbi! My friends and I actually went there voluntarily!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Worth a visit, but not the hype”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

I admit I am biased because as an NYC native I grew up with some of the best museums in the world. While the displays and physical plant of this museum were beautiful - and a lot better maintained than many museums in the developing world - I came away pretty unimpressed. The museum is very family-friendly which was great, but the information was also geared to a lower level. Big collections of photographs and clothing items from Kenya's history, awesome-looking displays in a mammal exhibit, but still nothing that really made me stop and look. For Kenya's 50th anniversary of independence there were a couple of special exhibits that I liked a lot but that finishes at the end of the month.

As others have said here, the snake park was not exciting if you're over the age of 7. The glare from the sun meant it was really hard to see most of the snakes, though the fact that there were crocodiles was pretty cool. Then again when you're in Kenya I hope that this is not the only place you go to see animals!

Overall I would recommend the visit if you are traveling with young kids, but if you're short on time (or money, $1200ksh to get in to one or $1500ksh to do both the museum and the snake park) then it's missable.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“An enjoyable 2 hours”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

The part really worth visiting is the cradle of humanity section. Really enjoyed the collection if skeletons. The rest of the museum is nice and well laid out. Might get more out of it with a guide. Overall an enjoyable 2 hours.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nairobi National Museum also viewed

 

Been to Nairobi National Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi National Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.