We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“National museums are always worth a visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi National Museum

Nairobi National Museum
Museum Hill, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
254-20-3741641
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$75*
and up
Nairobi City Tour
Ranked #7 of 94 things to do in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Nairobi National Museum is the flagship brand for the National Museums of Kenya. Located on Museum Hill, the museum showcases Kenya's rich Heritage with four distinct themes representing Kenya's Culture, Nature, History and Contemporary Art.Other attractions within the compound include the Snake Park and Botanical Gardens as well as a State of the Art Auditorium that occasionally hosts concerts, film shows and other events.Dining and shopping facilities await you after your tour with us in our commercial wing. Enjoy your visit with us at the National Museum.
australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“National museums are always worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

A mix of political, social history plus some natural history - birds of Kenya

The cafe - good food, great friendly service. Books in shop overpriced

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank AustraliaFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Interesting.. just like every other museum!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

the museum has a lot of history about Kenya.. it has a section where fossils are displayed... in another section there are details of the country during British rule.. other sections show their local culture and so on.. a section has stuffed animals found in Africa.. that's all there is to the museum just like any other museum.. the big five animals of Africa are displayed in the center of the museum and personally i found elephants with huge tusks quite fascinating..
The Gift shops have good collection but quite expensive as compared to every where else in Nairobi..
Since i like going to museums everywhere i enjoyed this one too :)

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Roohi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level Contributor
121 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Expected more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We were excited to attend the Museum, as we had visited the Cairo museum and were impressed with the detail of history. We expected this level of detailed history from the Nairobi Museum, but were left feeling disappointed. There is great detail on birds which helps you identify those you see on safari. I felt that there could have been more on the history and origins of Kenya. Still worth the visit if you have time.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bostocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“go only if you have nothing else to do”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We went to the museum with a private guide. It was generally boring. If you like seeing stuffed animals, you might like it. I found it depressing. There are some interesting historical articfacts and info about the culture, esp. the Maasi. The gift shops are nice.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank CocoBeans1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hall of the early hominids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

The museum is a great place to learn about Kenya. I loved the Hall of the early hominids, filled with the oldest fossil remains of our species.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank gmulliga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nairobi National Museum also viewed

 

Been to Nairobi National Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing