We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“National museums are always worth a visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi National Museum

Nairobi National Museum
Museum Hill, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
254-20-3741641
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 42 Attractions in Nairobi
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Nairobi National Museum is the flagship brand for the National Museums of Kenya. Located on Museum Hill, the museum showcases Kenya's rich Heritage with four distinct themes representing Kenya's Culture, Nature, History and Contemporary Art.Other attractions within the compound include the Snake Park and Botanical Gardens as well as a State of the Art Auditorium that occasionally hosts concerts, film shows and other events.Dining and shopping facilities await you after your tour with us in our commercial wing. Enjoy your visit with us at the National Museum.
australia
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“National museums are always worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

A mix of political, social history plus some natural history - birds of Kenya

The cafe - good food, great friendly service. Books in shop overpriced

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    187
    83
    12
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Interesting.. just like every other museum!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

the museum has a lot of history about Kenya.. it has a section where fossils are displayed... in another section there are details of the country during British rule.. other sections show their local culture and so on.. a section has stuffed animals found in Africa.. that's all there is to the museum just like any other museum.. the big five animals of Africa are displayed in the center of the museum and personally i found elephants with huge tusks quite fascinating..
The Gift shops have good collection but quite expensive as compared to every where else in Nairobi..
Since i like going to museums everywhere i enjoyed this one too :)

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
64 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Expected more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We were excited to attend the Museum, as we had visited the Cairo museum and were impressed with the detail of history. We expected this level of detailed history from the Nairobi Museum, but were left feeling disappointed. There is great detail on birds which helps you identify those you see on safari. I felt that there could have been more on the history and origins of Kenya. Still worth the visit if you have time.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“go only if you have nothing else to do”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We went to the museum with a private guide. It was generally boring. If you like seeing stuffed animals, you might like it. I found it depressing. There are some interesting historical articfacts and info about the culture, esp. the Maasi. The gift shops are nice.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hall of the early hominids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

The museum is a great place to learn about Kenya. I loved the Hall of the early hominids, filled with the oldest fossil remains of our species.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nairobi National Museum also viewed

 

Been to Nairobi National Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi National Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.