We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting.. just like every other museum!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi National Museum

Nairobi National Museum
Museum Hill, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
254-20-3741641
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 43 Attractions in Nairobi
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The Nairobi National Museum is the flagship brand for the National Museums of Kenya. Located on Museum Hill, the museum showcases Kenya's rich Heritage with four distinct themes representing Kenya's Culture, Nature, History and Contemporary Art.Other attractions within the compound include the Snake Park and Botanical Gardens as well as a State of the Art Auditorium that occasionally hosts concerts, film shows and other events.Dining and shopping facilities await you after your tour with us in our commercial wing. Enjoy your visit with us at the National Museum.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Interesting.. just like every other museum!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

the museum has a lot of history about Kenya.. it has a section where fossils are displayed... in another section there are details of the country during British rule.. other sections show their local culture and so on.. a section has stuffed animals found in Africa.. that's all there is to the museum just like any other museum.. the big five animals of Africa are displayed in the center of the museum and personally i found elephants with huge tusks quite fascinating..
The Gift shops have good collection but quite expensive as compared to every where else in Nairobi..
Since i like going to museums everywhere i enjoyed this one too :)

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    151
    69
    11
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Queensland
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
65 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Expected more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We were excited to attend the Museum, as we had visited the Cairo museum and were impressed with the detail of history. We expected this level of detailed history from the Nairobi Museum, but were left feeling disappointed. There is great detail on birds which helps you identify those you see on safari. I felt that there could have been more on the history and origins of Kenya. Still worth the visit if you have time.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“go only if you have nothing else to do”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We went to the museum with a private guide. It was generally boring. If you like seeing stuffed animals, you might like it. I found it depressing. There are some interesting historical articfacts and info about the culture, esp. the Maasi. The gift shops are nice.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hall of the early hominids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

The museum is a great place to learn about Kenya. I loved the Hall of the early hominids, filled with the oldest fossil remains of our species.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Small but informative”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I was kind of dissapointed about the size of it. Don't expect to spend hours. Once I got there and started the Tour I remembered that I had actually been there before but forgot. It is a Nice museum with a beautiful collection of animals and a great display of Kenyan history. It is a Nice Way to spend an hour or two. I regretted not going to the snakes as well. They should be awsome.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nairobi National Museum also viewed

 

Been to Nairobi National Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi National Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.