We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Museum” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi National Museum

Nairobi National Museum
Museum Hill, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
254-20-3741641
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 38 Attractions in Nairobi
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Nairobi National Museum is the flagship brand for the National Museums of Kenya. Located on Museum Hill, the museum showcases Kenya's rich Heritage with four distinct themes representing Kenya's Culture, Nature, History and Contemporary Art.Other attractions within the compound include the Snake Park and Botanical Gardens as well as a State of the Art Auditorium that occasionally hosts concerts, film shows and other events.Dining and shopping facilities await you after your tour with us in our commercial wing. Enjoy your visit with us at the National Museum.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have been there many times since my childhood till I have lost count. It never ceases to fascinate me, thehistory behind everything

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    169
    76
    11
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice half day sight seeing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Must go to get a flavor of the land. I enjoyed the railway related old photos and the snake park. It should cost you around 1200 KES (15 USD). Open all day.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Top Contributor
576 reviews 576 reviews
262 attraction reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
239 helpful votes 239 helpful votes
“Very nice and well organized museum - can spend 2hrs easily here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

An extensive collection of finds that spans the natural world (lots of African animals and especially a gigantic collection of birds), many historic finds from homo erectus and our earlier ancestors (including many of the priceless finds by Louis Leakey), and a large section that details Kenya's history and tribes. Educational, impressive, and entertaining. Definitely worth a visit. 800ksh for foreigners or 400ksh for residents.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huye, Rwanda
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“MUST SEE IN NAIROBI!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This is by far the best museum I've seen across sub-Saharan Africa. The early human fossil exhibits are absolutely fantastic, and the bird collection is great too. Extremely informative and well curated. Bravo, National Museums of Kenya!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Museum ever in the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Great historic stuff! Full of pleasant surprises awaiting you to sample! Great Fossils and works of art and unique culture.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nairobi National Museum also viewed

 

Been to Nairobi National Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi National Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.