We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice half day sight seeing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi National Museum

Nairobi National Museum
Museum Hill, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
254-20-3741641
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #9 of 43 attractions in Nairobi
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The Nairobi National Museum is the flagship brand for the National Museums of Kenya. Located on Museum Hill, the museum showcases Kenya's rich Heritage with four distinct themes representing Kenya's Culture, Nature, History and Contemporary Art.Other attractions within the compound include the Snake Park and Botanical Gardens as well as a State of the Art Auditorium that occasionally hosts concerts, film shows and other events.Dining and shopping facilities await you after your tour with us in our commercial wing. Enjoy your visit with us at the National Museum.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice half day sight seeing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Must go to get a flavor of the land. I enjoyed the railway related old photos and the snake park. It should cost you around 1200 KES (15 USD). Open all day.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    137
    61
    9
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Top Contributor
420 reviews 420 reviews
180 attraction reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Very nice and well organized museum - can spend 2hrs easily here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

An extensive collection of finds that spans the natural world (lots of African animals and especially a gigantic collection of birds), many historic finds from homo erectus and our earlier ancestors (including many of the priceless finds by Louis Leakey), and a large section that details Kenya's history and tribes. Educational, impressive, and entertaining. Definitely worth a visit. 800ksh for foreigners or 400ksh for residents.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huye, Rwanda
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“MUST SEE IN NAIROBI!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This is by far the best museum I've seen across sub-Saharan Africa. The early human fossil exhibits are absolutely fantastic, and the bird collection is great too. Extremely informative and well curated. Bravo, National Museums of Kenya!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Museum ever in the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Great historic stuff! Full of pleasant surprises awaiting you to sample! Great Fossils and works of art and unique culture.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I have been traveling to Kenya for 6 years, so I love anything and everything to do with Kenya.
The museum is amazing. It is very pretty, and very informative. They have all sorts of different attractions; birds, animals, people, tribes, history. It has everything you would ever want to know and learn about Kenya. I like going around by myself, at my own pace, so that I can spend more time at what I find interesting (which, really is the whole museum). It is a fun and beautiful way to learn more about Kenya. They also have a snake park on the grounds, its pretty cool!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nairobi National Museum also viewed

 

Been to Nairobi National Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi National Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.