We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Urban safari trail” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi National Park

Nairobi National Park
Langata Road, Nairobi, Kenya
254 020 602121
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Nairobi National Park like an insider
Top Rated
$193*
and up
Nairobi National Park, Karen Blixen Museum and...
Ranked #5 of 92 things to do in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Noble black rhinos are the highlight of this amazing park, Kenya’s first national park and a local treasure.
Waynesboro, Virginia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Urban safari trail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

When we visited Kenya, we took a safari to this park as an add on to our 10 days safari. It was a great starter for us instead of staying idle in our hotel. We saw lots of animals including Lions, Rhino amongst many other animal species to be found in this park.

It was nice experience for us being on safari whilst still in the city of Nairobi. I would recommend those that have time in Nairobi to sample this park. For those with short time, it would be a great way to experience the real safari in Kenya.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    353
    360
    86
    23
    12
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“A Good trip thanks to Christine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

I would like to Say much thank to Christine (of Marketing) The firm trip was Awesome, and all the camping site that you took us through was great to add on that the game drive was superb despite the time we were there all the animals had gone for lunch break. The food at your restaurant was tasty and fresh. the presentation was great despite that old style projector you had was a let down.

Thanks again Christine for the good job.....Keep it and make The Nairobi National Park one of the greatest park to visit in Kenya and Africa in general.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nairobi National Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

We went to the park on Monday 23 December 2013. The trip was fantastic! Within the first hour we saw rhino, different antelope, buffalo and a pride of lion! We saw every animal we had hoped to apart from cheetah and leopard. We got there at opening time, 6.30am, and didn't leave until 2.30pm. We asked for a map at the front desk, which was helpful, but if you can get a proper one before hand it would probably be better. We took our own food and drink as there isn't anywhere to buy food, and sat in one of the picnic sites. I would advise getting there early, taking food and drink, a car that can cope with quite rough terrain and a good camera! If you want to go to the Sheldrick Orphanage you have to exit the park and enter through another gate, even though it is situated within the National Park. Once you've left the park you can't get back in! We thought it was worth the fee, £25/$40 for a tourist and only 1000KSH for a resident (£7.50). Definitely worth a visit!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Safari for starters - Inner city wildlife - express safari”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

For anyone who has limited time in Nairobi and is feeling bad that you came all the way to Kenya but still missed the wildlife - Despair no more !

Nairobi National Park is the answer to your greivance!

A half day tour with a knowledgeable driver will ensure you see the Rhinos, Lions, Zebras and plenty of monkeys and deer.

Comparitively, this is much smaller than a real safari but it is a quick fix and a unque experience where you can see a Rhino grazing and the cylindrical Hilton hotel building in the distant background.

It should be skipped if you are going to a 'real' national park in Africa.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Nice but not enough”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

The place is cool to see while in the city but it doesnt replace the safari. So if you come to kenya it is a must to do the safari, Masai Mara is the best ever!!!
In this National Park they have cool monkeys doing funny things, in wild animals, but its priceless to see them free instead of in cages. So yeah, its a nice place, but dont compromise the safari. It was a bit overprized though.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nairobi National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.