We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for a One Day Safari” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi National Park

Nairobi National Park
Langata Road, Nairobi, Kenya
254 020 602121
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #5 of 43 attractions in Nairobi
Type: National Parks, Nature/ Wildlife Areas
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Noble black rhinos are the highlight of this amazing park, Kenya’s first national park and a local treasure.
Gilbert, Arizona
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice for a One Day Safari”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

The Nairobi game park is not the first choice for Safari's but if you have a limited amount of time in Kenya you will not be disappointed. It is on the outskirts of Nairobi which is unique in itself. We were able to take photos of giraffes with the skyline of Nairobi in the background. There are not many if any elephants in the park, but there are many giraffes, zebras, hippos and allegators. The wildlife is a little spread out in the park and so for younger children they may get bored as there may be a little time between spotting any animals. It was not as amazing as some of the bigger parks but we definitely enjoyed our time there and were not disappointed.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    267
    71
    18
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Whitby, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I was lucky enough to be the only person in the camp (not a usual occurrence I might add) so I got spoiled, but I am sure everyone gets the same treatment. Hubert and his team were wonderful and how often do you look out of your tent and see a giraffe staring back at you. It is hard to believe you are in the middle of Nairobi, Go to the David Sheldrick Elephant Orphanage while you are there - it is a very special place where you can foster an orphaned elephant or rhino. Definite must do while in Kenya.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent wildlife so close to city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is just 10 kms or 45 mins from the city centre but I've seen so many animals up close to me. I was lucky enough to see 10 Lions including 2 cubs apart from many other animals like Zebras, Buffaloes, Giraffes, Rhinos, Monkeys, Ostrich and others. The animals are used to seeing human beings & are normally visible from roads.

I had to travel in a Corolla (taxi used in city) since their safari vans were already booked.

TIP: Please reserve their vehicle in advance by calling them a couple of days in advance or go through a travel agent. The best thing would be their safari vehicles.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“For a short trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Convenient and easy. We actually saw lions, so if you cannot go to a park that is further away, it is a nice outing

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A great way to start a safari holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Although it is surrounded by the city, it is not a busy park and the wildlife is quite fantastic. In our two days staying at the edge of the park and during several safari drives we saw no more than a few other vehicles. Well worth the visit.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nairobi National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Nairobi National Park to your Saves list