We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi National Park

Nairobi National Park
Langata Road, Nairobi, Kenya
254 020 602121
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$193*
and up
Nairobi National Park, Karen Blixen Museum and...
Ranked #4 of 42 Attractions in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Type: National Parks, Nature & wildlife areas, Nature & Parks
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Noble black rhinos are the highlight of this amazing park, Kenya’s first national park and a local treasure.
Villars-sur-Ollon, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Hired a private four wheel drive and driver and entered at gate opening time... saw lions, elephant, rhino, giraffe, absolutely stunning...and unbelievable considering you could see the lights of Nairobi in the background... a definite must for anybody in Nairobi for more than a couple of hours!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    344
    349
    85
    23
    12
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“best of urban safari”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Everything is extra ordinary!!! The only thing maybe should be done is add the phone numbers of the main gate on the receipt. so that in case of an emergency a person knows where to call.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fletcher, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“See the big five in a matter of hours!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

For $40 US you can see tons of wildlife up close and personal. After three hours in the park I saw half a dozen lions, a troop of baboons, three ostriches, four giraffes, a rhino, and several herds of zebra all within ten feet of the car. Just make sure to get there when the park opens at 6am or you'll miss the lions. While a taxi works just fine, a taller vehicle might make for better viewing.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wildlife up close”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

The best way to get optimum views of animals is to hire a guide; they know the best spots in which to get up close to the animals. We were able to get so close to both zebras and giraffes that you could touch them. We also saw two rhinos, one with a baby, heaps of orangutans, antelope, a civet and and a variety of magnificent birds.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laufelfingen, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Overlooked Safari Park in Nairobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I have been on many safaris but never did I think to go to Nairobi's park that is actually part of the city. You can even see the city in the background while on safari. I think it is the only one like this in the world. I had time to kill so I had a diver guide take me there. I was completely surprised. They even have a tented camp that I had lunch at.Other parks / reserves do not have many rhinos. I was shocked to see on this 2 hour trip 6 rhinos. I also saw a cat I have never seen which was a Serval. This is a good place to go if you are waiting for your international flight which may be late in the night.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nairobi National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.