We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where did all the animals go” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi National Park

Nairobi National Park
Langata Road, Nairobi, Kenya
254 020 602121
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #4 of 42 Attractions in Nairobi
Type: National Parks, Nature/ Wildlife Areas
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Noble black rhinos are the highlight of this amazing park, Kenya’s first national park and a local treasure.
st Petersburg, United States
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Where did all the animals go”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

The Nairobi National Park is located in the heart of Nairobi and was presented as having great viewings og Lion, Rhino, Giraffe and many more local animals. The park is a poor substitute for the Masai Mara based on the day we visited. There were no L:ion sightings, only 1 Giraffe and a few distant Rhino. A big disappointment but that happens with wild animals, I guess it was just not a good day but the only one I can comment on.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    301
    76
    20
    9
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
SOUTH COAST
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Getting on with your neigbours.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

There are many a city who would boast to have the most environmentally friendly zoo in the world. Well, they would all be wrong. Nairobi has the most perfect answer to them all, a national park which literally borders the edge of town. If you lived on that side of town your back garden would be full of Giraffe, Zebra, Buffalo, Lion etc.
If you are in Nairobi waiting to go on Safari the next morning, Nairobi national park is the perfect introduction to what Kenya has to offer, don't miss it. The very fact the park has wild cats, cheetah, Lion & leopard, is mind boggling when you realise how close to town they are. On top of that. The park has one of the highest populations of Black Rhino. So test the waters and get out of town into the bush, and tomorrows safari will not be able to come quick enough.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Game in a city! But just about average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Maybe its the time of the year, that we did not see all that game, but having such a huge park in a city is still something!

We saw deer family, lots of types, Zebra's, Giraffe's, ONE lone LOST Wildebeest!!!, Birds, some hippos far away in a watering hole bobbing up and down, and probably thats about it.

We did not go to the orphanage (should have) but the high entrance fees and lack of good game was a dampener to go to the orphanage.

They took so much time to check our tickets!!! WIth signs all over as to how THIS park was corruption free!!!

One bit of advice, you need a 4 wheel drive to go all over. We had one, so no problems. I drive easily. We saw some people with regular cars, God help them in many parts. It is real bush driving so enjoy with the right vehicle.

We had flown over the park when we reached Kenya, and that huge a place is great in a busy city.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Simply beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Its a pleasant surprise to be in the middle of rush hour and escape to the wild. Its right in the city! I love that! The animals are in quite a natural habitat and so it can be tricky when you want to get to see them and all but when you do, its quite the treat!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Must Try for all !!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

if you are short of time, but want to have a safari experience it is a must try for all.
The parkk is open from 0600 - 1800 hours and whole lot of safari providers organize tours in batches from 0600 - 1200 and 1400 - 1800
best time is early in the morning !!
we got to see Giraffes, Rhinos, sambhals, wild buffaloes, 1 crocodile and very few Hippos
Lions were hiding so only got to see the head
but overall a wonderful experience

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nairobi National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.