We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in Nairobi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi National Park

Nairobi National Park
Langata Road, Nairobi, Kenya
254 020 602121
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #5 of 43 attractions in Nairobi
Type: National Parks, Nature/ Wildlife Areas
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Noble black rhinos are the highlight of this amazing park, Kenya’s first national park and a local treasure.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
“Best place in Nairobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Best place in Nairobi. Go down to hippo dam, spend a five hours, bring a picknick and enjoy!! Get close to the buffalos and the giraffe. See a few lions and you will be able to handle one more week in Nairobi.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    270
    72
    18
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lilongwe, Malawi
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic day safari experience - value for money!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We just got back from a day safari (a morning and an afternoon game drive) to Nairobi National Park and are absolutely thrilled about our experience. It blew all our expectations out of the water. We went hoping to see a lion and came away having seen almost an entire pride (8 cubs and 3 adult females but no males) at a single site – park officials later told us that pride has a total of 11 cubs. We also saw a wide array of other wildlife: serval cat, giraffes, rhinos (black & white), ostrich, impala, guinea fowl and other birds, turtle, a dead black mamba, hippopotamus, cape buffalo, water buffalo, warthog, and hart beast. We were particularly pleased about the rhinos and the serval cat. We even saw a dung beetle at work - pretty cool!

Total cost for the day for both of us was US$200, which got us park entry, our own 4x4 safari van with an open top roof (basically a converted matatu-style van) and a driver/guide and two game drives. We capped off our day with a visit to the Nairobi Animal Orphanage - a zoo located right after the park entrance (note: there is a separate fee for this attraction). If you have kids, a visit to the orphanage before or after your safari would give them a chance to get up close to the animals they are seeing.

Park officials were professional and well-organised, and there are three restaurant facilities available, including a gift shop. The park land itself was very clean, good signage/directions throughout, and a well-maintained network of roads.

Having been on two amazing weekend safaris before (Masai Mara, Kenya and Liwonde National Park, Malawi), I had kept my expectations low for this day safari but I can say this is a definite must if you have time in Nairobi. This was a fantastic experience and well worth the money and much more affordable than doing a weekend trip to a more far-flung safari destination that requires plane, hotel, etc.

Quick tips:

- If you hire a taxi driver to take you on the safari, it will be cheaper but you will probably lose out on the conversations and valuable insight shared between guides about where all the animals are.

- In the wet season, the grasses are long and can obscure the view from a small car, such as a sedan. Roads can be wet and there were a few paths where a 4x4 was necessary. So we suggest you hire a 4x4 with an open roof top. This will allow you to stick your head out and scan the landscape for animals instead of craning your neck out a window. Remember that half the fun of a safari is just looking for the animals!

-We are told the best times to see lions are in the early morning and the late afternoon when the temperature is much cooler and they are likely to be walking around, hunting. But on our trip, we saw the lions at about 10:30am/11:00am.

- Park entry fees (currently US$40 each for adult tourists) are valid for only one entry to the park. But if you park your car just inside the entrance, you can go for lunch for an hour and then continue your game drive in the afternoon. Your guide may tell you parking is not allowed. But the park warden said we were welcome to go ahead and do that. Definitely try to do two game drives if you have time – this is great if you missed things in the morning and want to try again in the afternoon. You’re also sure to get more great photos ops the second time around!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nairobi National Park...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Started with excitemet... and enthusiasm, as I was visiting the 1st National Park in the African Sub-continent. We hired a taxi at 8am from our service-apartment near Fairmont The Norfolk Hotel and negotiated for 2,500 KES(To & Fro + taking the ride on the same vehi inside the park).
First thing that strikes you, as a foreigner, is the entry fees. One they charge higher curr conv rate, and second, they dont even given a single pamplet or map for the fees they take. It doesn't seem like they were too interested in welcoming us to the park. They have maintained well especially the drive way... we went to the historic Ivory Burning site, and saw the Nairobi city landscape at the backdrop. We also carried few bottles of water, and soda (Coke/Fanta), as we knew it might be costly if you buy at the shop inside the park. Carry some fruits, chocolates and snacks, if possible.
We saw few Giraffes at a distance... did not have Binocs... best to carry one to spot animals at a distance. We were told that there are lot of snakes, Pythons & Cobras. We saw some Wildebeests and Ostrich at a distance. Our search for the other animals, went for almost 3hrs, but in vain. We lost our way in between and exhausted fuel as well... our driver did not have money, and hence did not fill his tank. Learning: Fill the tank at your own cost and settle the taxi, after adjusting that amount. We were struck for almost an hour, as our driver had to go on a passing tipper truck to get few litres of petrol. He was helped by the Park Ranger service, who were really kind and helped him by dropping back at our location.
Try and speak to the Park office to make a reservation on a guided tour in an open jeep. That will work out to be better, unless you take someone who is more experienced and been there before.
While it was a failure from the point of view that we could not encounter the Big 5 animals, the best part of the trip was to be lost in the wilderness, which was so wide open and close to the nature.

Entry Fee - USD 40 @ 87 KES per USD per Adult person (No separate charges for any video equipment)

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medfield, MA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Unbelievable opportunity to see wildlife so close to urban center”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

While on a work trip I spent a Sunday morning with a hired driver exiting the park. It was rainy season and a bit more difficult to see some species, however the giraffes alone were worth the trip. I loved being so close to them in their natural environment. I highly recommend the trip if you are unable to go on safari. If you have binoculars with you, bring them along.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A nice Sunday afternoon passtime”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Anytime is good enough to visit the park. The thrilling thing about is the fact that it is very near and one does not need to plan as it is just a drive away. The animals one sees.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nairobi National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Nairobi National Park to your Saves list