We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi National Park

Nairobi National Park
Langata Road, Nairobi, Kenya
254 020 602121
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #5 of 43 attractions in Nairobi
Type: National Parks, Nature/ Wildlife Areas
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Noble black rhinos are the highlight of this amazing park, Kenya’s first national park and a local treasure.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Had a great time at the park. Although I had seen many animals in Maasai Mara, it was still a wonderful experience to see more animals in the park. Couldn't get enough of the Zebras!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    244
    68
    15
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Quick ride from the city center, to bad rain season”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

In Nairobi we negotiated with a taxi driver about the price he would take us for a half day, and agreed for 4000 ksh (~40 EURO) to pick up from hotel in the morning, do a safari in the park and drop us back in the afternoon. The park fee is about 3200 ksh per person (adult). As it was the rain season (March-May), many roads in the park were blocked by pools of rain water, so the taxi driver and even some bigger vehicles didn't take the risk to cross it. In the end we only spotted antelopes, couple giraffes, monkeys on the road, and an ostrich in the distance. Do bring binoculars with you, as the animals are usually far away, and tend to run away when they hear the car. I recommend to visit this park outside this season.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“A must see ...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

If you're in Nairobi you must see this wildlife park. Roaming across the park are lions, zebra, giraffes, white rhino, black rhino, hippos, buffalo and lots of native birds. You need a 4x4 and a map or hire a local guide. Entry fee is a little high - but remember tourism is a key source of revenue for Kenya. If you missed anything while you were driving around in the 'wild', then there's an orphanage just next to the entrance/exit.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A Safari Amidst a Bustling City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Safari in the middle of a bustling city, only in Nairobi. One minute you are in a traffic jam the next a oasis of calm, green and animals roaming around. You have to leave home early like at dawn, to actually have a whole day driving around passing zebras, giraffes, Lions if you are lucky. It's a great day out and the orphanage is amazing, you can pet the baby leopards and dance with the Masai!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“If you're in Nairobi go”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I was in Nairobi on business and had a free Saturday. I was slightly skeptical as I'd been on Safari a few times before and wasn't sure if the city/ safari experience would be enjoyable.

However, the contrast of the sky scrappers and realising just how close to its surroundings Nairobi is was really interesting. What a juxtaposition. Almost immediately we came across a lion, giraffe, buffalo.

If you are in Kenya for a holiday then I'm sure there are nicer parks to visit but if you are here for business and have a day I would say why not go.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nairobi National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.