We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too much rain meant roads blocked & Lions were keeping their hair dry.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi National Park

Nairobi National Park
Langata Road, Nairobi, Kenya
254 020 602121
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$184*
and up
Nairobi National Park, Karen Blixen Museum and...
Ranked #4 of 38 Attractions in Nairobi
Type: National Parks, Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Noble black rhinos are the highlight of this amazing park, Kenya’s first national park and a local treasure.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Too much rain meant roads blocked & Lions were keeping their hair dry.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Had a spare day on my work trip so came here in the morning. Tip is to come as early as you can before 7am I think and have a 4WD. We came at 7am in a sturdy van but couldn't cope with some of the roads as the rain was pretty heavy and had made some parts unpassable. We spent quite a bit of time reversing and also rescuing another visitor from her stranded van. Having said that it was pleasurable we saw hartbeest, hawks, vervet monkeys, giraffes, warthogs, lots of birds, buffalo and so on. No lions though. Also some were quite a way away so either bring binoculars or really good camera, my iphone was useless!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    314
    325
    77
    22
    10
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Day out.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

If you love nature, you will love it here! we were lucky enough to see most of the animals up close, the most exciting being the pride of lions!
The park covers such a large area, we spent almost the entire day there without realising! The roads are marked at junctions hence very easy to find your way with the help of a map, and its also easy to direct others where to find the animals.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Interesting place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Took the kids here a few weeks and we enjoyed it for a few hours.

If you are only in Nairobi for a day or two, I would recommend it, but if you have longer time in Kenya, go north to Sambura or Sweet Waters.

They have the usual zebras, impalers but no big cats, sadly...

It wasn't expensive to get it, only 1000KSH for residents which is very well priced.

If you have a few hours to spare, I would recommend it, if you have a few days or more, go north.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
91 attraction reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“How close to a city do you want to see animals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I love this place because even on its worse day you can take a picnic here and see great animals. This time we saw three rhinos (always a winner with me)
There are no elephants just in case they leave.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Urban Safari with really wild wildlife!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Considering the city location (the view of the skyline of Nairobi is surreal) it is a pretty good game park. We saw a lioness stalking an antelope ready for the kill after walking out in front of our car! Also saw lots of giraffe, elan, buffalo, dassies, and fantastic birds (eagles, maribou storks, etc). We would have seen more but heavy overnight rain meant that a river ford was impassable so we didn't get to see hippos and crocs or rhino! We were taken there by a driver/guide from Rickshaw travel who was superb and we had one of the park supplied guides too. She was very knowledgeable.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nairobi National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.